We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Loews Hollywood Hotel(Los Angeles)
$279
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $376/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Best Western Plus Sunset Plaza Hotel(West Hollywood)(Great Value!)
$330
$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The LINE(Los Angeles)
$217
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Westin Los Angeles Airport(Los Angeles)(Great Value!)
$159
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$146
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$128
$107
FourPoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$252
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$400
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $494/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
$348
$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $563/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$195
$186
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $266/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,489)
Filter reviews
1,489 results
Traveler rating
926
444
83
28
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
444
83
28
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeverly centerwine and cheese receptionvalet parkingwest hollywoodcedars sinai medical centercontinental breakfastfarmers marketbeverly hillseach eveningtaco bellyogurtsmall hotelwalking distancegreat boutiquehard boiled eggsjunior suitehop on hop off bus
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 1,489 reviews
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Elan Hotel is well known to loyal TripAdvisors like me who check out L.A. hotels with some regularity, as it always appears quite high in the rankings. But for one reason or another, I had never stayed there until now. My overall impression of it is that it's a happy, unpretentious, super-easy place.

The location, as many, many others have indicated, is just about perfect. I now understand why international travelers -- who probably are less likely to rent a car -- love this hotel: you can walk to the Beverly Center, as well as to restaurants on both La Cienega and W. 3rd... and beyond. I used the valet... it was a piece of cake (cheaper than other nearby hotels, too). Check-in: also a piece of cake. The hotel only has two floors, so it felt calm, pleasant and... easy. It isn't a glamorous Hollywood kind of place; it's actually a welcome antithesis -- even though it's very close -- to all of that. My king bed was comfortable, the bathroom was on the smaller side, but fine. Loved the free WiFi. My rate was much more reasonable than other hotels in this area. In a city like L.A., where I am more likely to be out and about rather than in my room, I found the Elan Hotel to be a great value for what I got; and I appreciated not having to pay for amenities and services that were of no use to me. I'm another happy guest.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank George_PConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are very happy you found the Élan Hotel on TripAdvisor and that you made your booking with us based on our reviews. We feel that your overall impression is spot-on as we try to make very guest feel comfortable and relaxed during their stay with us. Thanks for mentioning our great location as we are central to so much of what Los Angeles has to offer. Many of our international guests like to take public transportation as it can less of a challenge than driving in a foreign city. The Élan Hotel is a small boutique hotel with just 49 rooms so there are no long lines at check-in/out and it is easy to access to your car in a matter of minutes. I’m glad that you liked your room and the amenities that we offer here. As you mention we are a good value for the dollar especially when you consider the complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, and evening wine and cheese reception are all included in the price. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The only place to stay in this City if you want and need staff that treat you like family. A lovely quiet small Hotel in the right location. Breakfast is adequate but the Wine and nibbles at the end of a long day is a fantastic touch. Clean, comfy and the most helpful staff ever from front desk to the cleaning personnel....HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Room Tip: Contact hotel and they will organize a rental for you time and date.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighJamesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate every guest who walks through our doors and we are happy that you feel the Élan Hotel is the only place to stay in Los Angeles that treats one like family. I am glad that you found our location suitable to you needs and that you enjoyed our amenities as well. Thanks for mentioning the helpful staff! We appreciate your review and thank you for highly recommending the Élan Hotel.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose to stay at the Elan based on reviews here on TripAdvisor, but the hotel exceeded our expectations. Top-notch, friendly customer service. Great location. Clean, cozy, well-appointed room. Wonderful breakfast and even better wine/cheese reception -- all for an amazingly good price. We were able to snag a parking spot on the street for each of our three nights, which helped us to save even more. When we next find ourselves in LA, we will definitely stay at the Elan again.

Room Tip: Though it didn't bother us much, others may wish to ask for a room that doesn't face Beverly Boulevard. The street noise could be a bit loud.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chowdapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy that you selected the Élan Hotel based on our Trip Advisor reviews and that we exceeded your expectations. Thanks for mentioning our amenities, our great location, and the friendly customer service that you received during you stay with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

What a great hotel! We love shopping and being so close to the Beverly Center and The Grove was right up my daughter's alley. The staff in all areas of the hotel were very personable and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble. From the cleanliness to the location, this hotel did not disappoint. Would definitely stay there next time in LA.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor and near the front of the hotel, but apart from some minimal street noise, it was very calm.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyllie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy you felt that the hotel is fantastic and that we are a great hotel! Our location is a great one as we are central to shopping, dining, sightseeing, and nightlife. I appreciate your mention of the friendly staff and the cleanliness of the hotel. We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

This boutique motel in Los Angeles was a fantastic place to stay.
They have thought of everything, even down to a charging dock for IPads,phones etc, exceptional detail in the rooms down to chocolates and a hand written note on weather conditions for the day left on the bed.
Close to all types of transport, shopping centres etc and the complimentary wine and cheese every night at 5:00 was really great with helpful friendly service.
Would highly recommend this establishment if travelling to L A.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy you thought that we were a cool place to stay! It’s nice that you could take advantage of the media hub in the room which allowed you to charge you iPhone and iPad. The turn down chocolates and the weather cards are just extra added touches to let our guest know that we appreciate them! Thanks for mention our amenities and the customer service that the staff provided. I appreciate your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews