We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient base for exploring LA”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed four nights in July. This is a small boutique hotel on two floors of a normal two story LA building. Not cheap for what it is, but a complimentary breakfast of bagels, cereal, yoghurts and fruit - and good American coffee - and a complimentary wine and cheese supper kind of takes the sting out of it. Great wifi. Not a lot of space. Lobby lounge is made a little better by a narrow outside seating area.

Stayed in one of the few twin bedded rooms at the back of the hotel. You are not going to see anything out of the window anyway. And the rooms are good, clean, well looked after with quiet central aircon. So elegant enough to justify the price. I asked whether they had a twin room and had a helpful response. Not sure they show up on the booking engine.

Parking is roughly $26 overnight with friendly valet. And there is a front desk person - all guys that I saw - on duty to handle enquiries in friendly fashion.

The Elan is well positioned between a large shopping mall and a quiet residential neighborhood. The King's Road Cafe down the street has a great lunch and more limited dinner menu. The CVS store across Beverly Boulevard is large and well-stocked. The blocks to the northeast offer a pretty and quiet jogging route through suburban gardens.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Targetsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Guest,

The Élan Hotel is a convenient central location for exploring Los Angeles. As you mention we are a two story building with 49-Rooms which makes for an easy in and out if one is in a rush. We feel that our accommodations and the amenities that we offer are a good value for the dollar. Especially with complimentary Wi-Fi, expanded continental breakfast, and evening wine and cheese reception. It’s nice to read that you were able to do some jogging while you were here. Thanks for your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Arrived to be greeted by the front desk clerk who immediately made fun of my accent. I grew up in the south but do not live there now. To make matters worse, the room was about as big as my walk-in closet. Wine and cheese reception as well as breakfast were fair. I plan to return to LA this fall for a medical seminar but I will not be staying at the Elan Hotel. Trip Advisor got this one wrong!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelFNP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

We enjoy finding out where are guests are from upon check-in and are very sorry that you felt someone was making fun of your accent. Certainly this was not intended and we are very sorry. In fact, many of the staff at the hotel has accents including myself. We do have several different sizes of rooms to choose from include our Executive King room and our Jr. Suite and do not mind upgrading our guests based on availability. Please contact me as I would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. Thank you for your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very good location. Excellent staff and amenities. Nicely appointed room, welcoming front desk and bellman staff, breakfast in the morning and light appetizers and beverages in the late afternoon/early evening. Forgot my iTouch in my room and Michael at the desk, and Joel Majors the GM, mailed it back to me promptly. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rseale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Guest,

We feel that we are a great place to stay and thanks for mentioning this. Our location is one that cannot be beat as it is central to so much of what Los Angeles has to offer. I appreciate your mention of the room amenities and the customer service that we provided during your visit. Thanks for recommending the Élan Hotel to your friends and family.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in early July and was very impressed with the hotel and the service provided by the staff. The hotel was very clean and well located. The staff were exceptional in providing assistance and arranging transport and tours.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris216699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you were impressed by the service of the Élan Hotel staff and that you found our location to be central to your needs. The Front Desk Concierge staff is very well educated on the area. In addition, they are prepared to offer detailed information on tours in the area. We appreciate your stay with us and thank you for your review.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Elan hotel has the best service in LA, besides its wonderful location! The suites are very comfortable and the breakfast is great!

Thanks Joel for all your attentions and look forward to host you at Los Cabos!

Jesus Gonzalez

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank joy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Dear Mr. Gonzalez,

It was a pleasure meeting you. The Élan team looks forward to welcoming you and your associates back in the near future. Thank you.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a great find. We were only able to stay one night, wish we had more time. We stayed in the junior suite which was perfect for our family. The hotel is incredibly clean and the beds are excellent. The location was excellent. We loved the continental breakfast as well. The staff was excellent, everything about our time there was perfect!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peggy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We too wish that you had more time to spend with us in Los Angeles. We are happy that you chose our Jr. Suite for your family and that you liked our amenities. I appreciate the mention of our excellent location and the excellent staff as well. Thanks for staying with us! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

On a recent business trip we stayed at the Elan Hotel, close to Cedars-Sinai hospital. It's a smallish hotel in an older building which is nicely maintained. I found the hotel comfortable, the staff extremely helpful and my room was just what I needed. Even though my room was more of a European-sized room, it was fine for me -- I do know that some of the rooms were larger. It was very clean and the toiletries in the bathroom and the bathrobe and slippers were a very nice touch. In the evening they have a complimentary wine and cheese offering that has a wine-server to make sure you're comfortable and that the seating area is well-attended. Complimentary breakfast as well (pastries, cereals, yogurt, etc.).

It was a really nice place to sit and relax. Would recommend for business travelers and for those who might need to visit the hospital complex nearby. Much cheaper than the Sofitel down the street.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laminpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joel M, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Guest,

We are pleased to read that you chose the Élan Hotel for your recent business trip. We are in very close proximity to Cedars-Sinai Medical Center. We are a small 49-room boutique hotel whose goal is for each and every guest who enters our doors to “experience exceptional service”. We do have a variety of rooms such to select from such as our Jr. Suite, Executive King, and Executive Double with two beds. I appreciate your mention of our amenities including our complimentary guest breakfast and the evening wine and cheese reception. Thanks for recommending the Élan Hotel. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards & Safe Travels,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
824 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,100 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#13 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,210 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 355 in Los Angeles
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $213 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elan Hotel, a Greystone Hotel property, in Los Angeles, California boasts a cutting-edge address at the crossroads of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood near the most popular spots in LA. Our boutique hotel blends contemporary design with desirable function for a guest experience steeped in convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing