We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Great hotel"”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #6 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We chose Elan hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews and once again we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a good location (between West Hollywood and Beverly Hills), very close to the Beverly Centre (one of the biggest shopping malls in town even if, in my opinion, a bit disappointing) and a stop along the Starline Tour route (which we found ideal to see Los Angeles). It is also walking distance to the Grove and Farmers market (Sunset Boulevard and Hollywood Boulevard aren’t far either)
The staff was very friendly and responsive. We very much appreciated the complimentary breakfast and evening wine and cheese tasting (great Californian wines, cheese and snacks from 5 to 7 pm).
We would definitely go back to and recommend the Elan hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 21, 2012

Dear Guest,

We a very happy that your found us on TripAdvisor and that you decided to stay with us based on our reviews. Our location is central to much of what Los Angeles has to offer and as you mentioned there is plenty of shopping at The Grove at Farmers Market and The Beverly Center. Both of these venues are just walking distance from the hotel. The Starline tours are an excellent way to see Los Angeles and what better way to take in the sight than a guided tour.
Thank you for mentioning our staff as they all enjoys their positions and they take pride in representing the Élan Hotel. I will be certain that they read your comments. In addition, I am very happy that you enjoyed the amenities that we offer at the hotel. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,415)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

723 - 729 of 1,415 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were looking for somewhere reasonable to stay in LA and selected this hotel for their very good rates and location. The hotel is absolutely wonderful - great decor, great staff, great breakfast and it also offers wine and cheese between 5.0 and 7.0 pm. It is in a good location for driving around and the Beverley Center is nearby for shopping. Convenient Valet parking is also available.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janice-g-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

We always stay here because it is close to the Beverly Centre and within walking distance of the Grove, which has a huge movie complex. Pretty much everywhere else requires a car....but that is LA! There are many restaurants in the neighbourhood, a great health store close to Fairfax and a huge pharmacy at Beverly and La Cienaga where you can buy bottled water, snacks, etc. WE love the convenience of the location!!! There is a Lohemans close by too...always worth a visit for females mostly

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side, second floor are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bew48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

I am writing to let you know how pleasant our stay at The Elan was at a most unpleasant time in our lives. My husband and I checked into the hotel May 13 and were greeted by the desk clerk (from New Orleans). The following morning he had open heart surgery to repair an aortic aneurysm. That surgery was a huge success but he had a stroke that wasn't detected until the next day. A friend stayed with me until my mother arrived from Dallas on Wednesday morning. I can't begin to tell you how great it was for us to de-stress once we returned from Cedars-Sinai in the evenings. The side table lamps were lighted, soft music playing, and chocolates. The "Wishing You Sweet Dreams", with the weather forecast for the next day, was not only a nice touch, but very helpful~ especially because it included the temps.

There were so many big and little things that made this an exceptional boutique hotel. Any time we had a question, Michael Kim seemed to be the person we talked with on the phone. At one point I was having difficulty getting online and he suggested that I bring my laptop to the desk. I took it down there and he got me right on line. All of the staff seemed genuinely friendly~ not forced and Michael especially friendly and helpful.

At one point I was having trouble getting a signal on my cell and got the strongest next to the window. I couldn't help but notice that the sill was spotless and the rest of the room was very clean, too.

The bathroom was great with room under the sink for the bags of toiletries and the lemon grass scented toiletries you provide were
good but the soap was so unique and made such good sense!!! The little touches like the shoe cloth and Kleenex fan folded, were things that take time for the housekeepers but add to the over-all feel of the caring to detail that the hotel has done so well. The outstanding things were the robe and towels~ the weight was the best ever! They were thick enough to be very absorbent but not so weighty~ especially the robe! They were "green" also as I'm sure they don't take as long to dry.

The breakfast had a nice selection and we enjoyed the coffee~ both in the room and with breakfast. The casual seating and places to eat were comfortable. We didn't use the mini bar but the list looked like there were lots of choices if you need to use that.

You probably wonder if I stay at many hotels, but I have in the past and my mother, who constantly travels both domestically and internationally, thought your hotel was exceptional. She made out the comment folder and was disappointed there wasn't more comment space to rave about the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjp_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

spacius, well maintened, clean rooms, just a block and a half from beverly center, excellent service. Very good choice in west hollywood.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maria c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Liked the location, room and staff. You can hear noise from other rooms, not great but for the area and price-ok. Street parking is an option if you don't want valet.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terressa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

There's no garden or pool here, but the hotel manages to create an oasis-like feel on busy Beverly Boulevard. While you can walk to the posh Beverly Center or the high end home design stores or Rodeo drive for shopping, the hotel is a quiet oasis to return to. Every staff member is exceedingly helpful. They go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and at home. The rooms are large and comfortably furnished, and their wine and cheese hour and breakfast, included in the price, are generous.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cellocase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 355 in Los Angeles
824 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 355 in Los Angeles
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 355 in Los Angeles
2,100 reviews
Westside
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
Luxe Sunset Boulevard Hotel
#13 of 355 in Los Angeles
1,210 reviews
Venice
Inn at Venice Beach
Inn at Venice Beach
#10 of 355 in Los Angeles
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048-3415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $213 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elan Hotel, a Greystone Hotel property, in Los Angeles, California boasts a cutting-edge address at the crossroads of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood near the most popular spots in LA. Our boutique hotel blends contemporary design with desirable function for a guest experience steeped in convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing