We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Location and Excellent Value”
Review of Elan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elan Hotel
Ranked #5 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This was my first visit to the Elan Hotel and I was impressed. I have stayed two blocks west at the Sofitel and paid almost twice as much. I have also stayed up on Sunset at the London West Hollywood and paid well over $340/night. The rooms are comparable to these pricey hotels. I had an Executive King and found it well decorated with crisp sheets and large, fluffy towels, a robe, slippers, coffee pot, mini bar and a great flat screen TV. The room was quiet and very clean. The location is undeniably great - two blocks to the Beverly Center, about six blocks to the Grove and there is an amazing number of good local restaurants within walking distance - try the Kings Road Cafe for a fabulous latte and delicious breakfast or Swinger's Diner for just about anything. All in all, a great value. I only had the complimentary breakfast once as it was typical cereal, bland muffins, bagels, juice, coffee. The wine reception was the only thing I can honestly say was not good. They served only two choices of wine, a Cabernet Sauvignon and a Sauvignon Blanc. Both were brands you'd find in the lowest shelf at your local grocery store - really bad stuff. The crackers and cheese were rather skimpy. But, hey, it was free. The reason you pay big bucks for the Sofitel is two things - the "name" and the swanky bar. You pay even bigger bucks for the London W Hollywood because of location, the architecture (which is pretty cool) and the Gordon Ramsay restaurant. Not to mention, both have pools and fitness centers. But if you just want a clean, well run establishment, no restaurant, bar, etc....the Elan Hotel is for you!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the rear of the hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,372)
There are newer reviews for Elan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 1,372 reviews

Reviewed March 5, 2012

This was our fourth or fifth time at this hotel and it did not disappoint. Renovations are finally complete and there is new bedding in the rooms. The staff is very friendly and they now remember us!
The continental breakfasts are great and they even have Vegemite for the Aussies. The location near the Beverly Center is ideal and the rates are very reasonable compared to nearby hotels.

Room Tip: As for a courtyard room. they are very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smdubowsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The Elan Hotel is a nice hotel with a very friendly and helpful staff. The room was comfortable and had a save, iron + board, minibar (very important and you can lock it), big TV Flat Screen, iPod docking station with alarm and radio, a lot of space where you can store your clothes and luggage, the best hairdryer ever, a balcony door, enough towels (big, middle and small) and it was perfectly clean.

Great bonus is the breakfast: great coffee, tea, orange juice, bagels, muffins, croissants, etc (from Wolfgang Puck) just delicious!

As it's a business hotel you can meet in the lobby with your business partners or use the conference room.

If you need a taxi or any other kind of transportation (limousine, sedan, etc.): The front desk staff is always helpful and organize a driver and if you go to a place like venice you get a special price.

At 5pm-7pm they have a wine & cheese reception to meet people and relax yourself - it's free!

The area around is good and there are a lot stores and restaurants in the Beverly Center, also Subway Sandwich, Starbucks, Coffee & Beans and Taco Bell as CVS are in walking distance.

To get to the Farmes Market & The Grove or Whole Food (supermarket) take the bus line 14 or 16 (14 comes more often and it's the fastest way) there are also shopping possibilities (Zara, Nordstrom, lots of eating, etc)

We were very happy and had a great stay and will definitely stay there again!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnitaBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmajorselan, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for mentioning the service and some of the amenities that we offer here at the Elan Hotel. Its seems that you were able to take advantage of the shopping venues as well as some of the eateries while you were here in Los Angeles. Thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

Well located hotel in a safe locale of LA.

FANTASTIC hotel with great value for a LA stop over as breakfast and evening drinks/cheese included in rate. Wonderful staff who are always willing to help with all queries.

We also needed a hotel close to shops to do some last minute shopping before flying home to Sydney.

The doorman at the hotel is wonderful (I forgot his name) and after talking to him about what we want to achieve out of our stay in LA, he recommended we checked out Marshalls. Located opposite the hotel was a Marshalls (similar to a BigW/Kmart but with all designer labels!), I was able to purchase a Medium-Large Samsonite suitcase for $55USD to buy all my goodies to take home as a second suitcase. We also purchased CK, DKNY, Nine West, Tommy Hilfiger and other branded consumerables from the store.

Also opposite the hotel is The Beverly Centre with ALL shops imaginable;
Tiffanies, Sephora, H&M, Zara?, and many other US brands.

CVS pharmacy also located opposite the hotel, great to stock up on makeup and other items.

We also had a car which we Valet’d with the hotel to drive to the Kodak Theatre/ Santa Monica/Getty Centre/ Hollywood sign/downtown. Prompt turn around with Valet.

2-3 days max in LA would be sufficient for any first time traveller with limited time.

We will return to this hotel if in LA again.

Room Tip: Request a quiet room at back of hotel as it is located on a main road
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovetotravel077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

This hotel brings service to a new level.My husband and I spent two nights in the Executive King room, second floor overlooking Beverly Blvd. Could not hear any noise on the street except a fire truck which past by. We had our choice of a sunny 2nd floor room or a shadowy 1st floor room away from the street toward the back. Breakfast and wine and cheese reception are included in the price. Valet parking is great and quick. This hotel is committed to being green and clean.
The staff was always very pleasant and very informative about what was around the hotel.Cedars-Sinai Medical Center and Beverly Center Mall is down the street (easy walk) and provides a great view of the Hollywood Sign from the Food Court Patio.
Jerry's Deli provides room service for this hotel, but after a six hour drive we opted to walk. We were delighted with the variety and quality of food served at this restaurant. There are a variety of local and chain restaurants very close by. Ralph's grocery store and Bristol Farms Grocery is an easy walk past the Beverly Center.
Our experience at this hotel was the best and will stay here again when the opportunity to visit LA comes again. Thank you Elan Hotel for a great stay in LA!

Room Tip: We had our choice of a sunny 2nd floor room or a shadowy 1st floor room away from the street toward...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ossowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jmajorselan, General Manager at Elan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent visit to the Elan Hotel. I appreciate your mention of the service that we provide as well as our amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Joel Majors
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed several times at this hotel over the last 3 years and it only gets better! The location is great, near The Beverly Center, The Grove, great restaurants. Breakfast and a wine reception are included. The latter is complete with several cheeses, crackers, nuts, sliced meat white and red wine. Breakfast includes bagel, pastry, hot and cold cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice and boiled eggs.

Room Tip: Ask for one that opens to the courtyard
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris9111948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Patients of Cedars-Sinai Medical Center are given a list of hotels near their facilities, one of which was the Elan Hotel. Hotels in Beverly Hills, CA are not known for their inexpensive prices. However, mention you are a patient of the medical center when calling the Elan and you will receive a nice discount. Upon the moment we arrived, the staff enthusiastically greeted us, especially Michael Kim, with a friendly smile and helpful hand. Our room was on the back side of the hotel and was small but very clean and up-to-date. The wine reception was the best we have encountered and the continental breakfasts were above the normal fare. Overall, our experience at this hotel could not have been better and we will definitely stay here again should the occasion arise.

Room Tip: Trust the reviews made by travelers who write reviews in the Trip Advisor. Rooms in the back are aw...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juanclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Central L.A
The Orlando Hotel
The Orlando Hotel
#37 of 353 in Los Angeles
812 reviews
West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
Chamberlain West Hollywood
#5 of 19 in West Hollywood
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 353 in Los Angeles
752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elan Hotel

Address: 8435 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#11 Green Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $237 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elan Hotel in Los Angeles, California boasts a cutting-edge address at the crossroads of Beverly Hills and West Hollywood near the most popular spots in LA. Our boutique hotel blends contemporary design with desirable function for a guest experience steeped in convenience and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Elan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elan Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing