We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So much to see and choose from!”

The Original Farmers Market
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Los Angeles Farmers Market Small-Group Food Walking Tour
Ranked #2 of 210 Shopping in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Established in 1934, when a dozen local farmers parked their trucks on an open field (once a dairy farm) to sell fresh produce to local residents, the Market has remained true to its roots ever since. With nearly 100 dining, shopping and grocery opportunities, Farmers Market has something for everyone. More than seventy-five years later the Farmers Market remains the one stop shop for every visitor’s needs.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“So much to see and choose from!”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Make sure you take a few laps around the market before you choose what to eat because there are so many choices from BBQ to Southern Food to Thai and everything in between. Also, if you visit EB's beer and wine and see the Farmers Market Orange Wheat on tap- its not a micro brew (like I thought, and got excited about) make sure you ask what they are serving it changes every so often. But awesome little place for a beer with whatever awesome food you find.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank scheinric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,615 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    861
    588
    134
    23
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Place to visit”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend of mine to visit while I was in LA, and he was right. There was so much to see and so much to eat and drink. We were there for Saint Patty’s day and it was so much fun. We went back two days later when we met up with some friends. The problem is parking, and they charge you $20 to park with a validated parking ticket from a vender you made a purchase from. Check it out you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Timeless!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Forget the Grove next door. The real action is at The Farmers Market! I've been going here since the 70s and have watched it change throughout the years, It remains one of my favorite local destinations in Los Angeles. There are all kinds of food to be had: French, Brazilian churrascaria, Korean, Sushi, Tapas, Singaporean, Middle Eastern, and Seafood to be found among the stalls here. The Greek restaurant has seated service and is great for people watching on a sunny afternoon. Bob's Donuts is my favorite donut place and is fun for an occasional indulgence. The place is also good for food shopping. The butchers and poultry vendors are great, as is the produce. Sadly, the market is about half the size it used to be, and its available parking much reduced, which makes for road warrior style parking strategy (I am NOT kidding here). Still the place is a classic. They have great seasonal events here as well.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rachilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
747 reviews
377 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 463 helpful votes
“Choices, choices”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The Farmer's market was a meeting place for our Los Angeles tour but we had no idea what it was. Once the tour was over, our tour guide walked us in and gave us advice on good places to eat. All kinds of shops, every kind of food you can think of, we had a hard time deciding what to have for lunch. The place is busy but lines moved fast and there always seemed to be a table availabe to sit. Highly recommended for spending a few hours for browsing, eating, shopping and people watching. There is a pay parking lot, but I think later in the day it might be challenging to find an open parking spot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting.. good for a bite to et”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A fresh spot to have a bite to eat - great for lunch. It was packed and we enjoyed walking over to The Grove for a spot of shopping.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jinthebox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Original Farmers Market also viewed

 

Been to The Original Farmers Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing