We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy great seafood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Boiling Crab

The Boiling Crab
Ranked #117 of 9,575 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crazy great seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

It was an amazing experience minus the two hour wait to be seated. I didn't know it was that busy but we walked down around the neighborhood to pass the time. When we were finally seated and we got our bibs my kids immediately knew this was going to be completely different from anything they had experience before. The food was great we ordered shrimp, crab legs, mussels and chicken strips that come with fries. We ordered everything seasoned "the whole shebang!" Can't wait to go back and try the other flavors. Don't go hungry remember you will have to wait and make sure you never go later than 7 as you are not guaranteed to be seated. My kids specially loved making a mess on the table. Fun and a good value.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tamira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    47
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood Restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My buddy told me about this place in LA and thought it wasn't all that great but, I was wrong. Prior on getting inside, the line up was insane. It was packed! Long line-ups on a restaurant only mean Goodness! So we waited for about 2 hours and a half. They don't accept any reservations! We had some craw fish, dungeness crabs, shrimps, and clams. I recommend to get the whole sha-bang flavor and non-spicy for those who can't take the heat. Mild is spicy enough. The staff were great. The washrooms...well they could get real busy in there so no complaints. I definitely consider this as one of the best seafood joint I've been to. To avoid the long wait I guess you could come before they open. It's just a busy busy place... The prices are reasonable. Not expensive! Please visit this place! You'll love it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

So much hype about Boiling Crab and the long waiting line attests to this, but ... the seafood is really great, even the chicken wings! The secret is in the sauce - choose the Shebang and depending on your taste buds, mild, moderate or spicy! Don't mind going back but to avoid the long wait, come even before they open.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cherri21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

My friend told me about this place all the way from Indianapolis. Me and the wifey came here while on our honeymoon, and it did not disappoint! The service was great and when the place was extremely busy. Food was great tasting and priced affordably. A lb of shrimp with two pieces of corn and potatoes was on point. The best seasoning I've had on seafood!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Always a Great experience and Taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

the Boiling Crab is just a great place to eat, simple !!! you will enjoy your food , cooked the way you want , and the Staff are amazingly friendly ! The price is right considering you're eating Fresh Sea Food - i've tried different places of the same genre, and i have to say that This location was my best overall

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank enduranceRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boiling Crab also viewed

 

Been to The Boiling Crab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing