We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the most terrifying motel I have ever stayed in.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Nite Inn at Universal City
Ranked #136 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
San Mateo, California
1 review
“This is the most terrifying motel I have ever stayed in.”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My mother was trying to treat us to a nice family vacation to Universal Studios and found this motel on the Universal Studios Website. She booked the 2 bedroom "suite" for my parents and my brother and his wife and daughter. She also booked an additional room for me and my boyfriend to stay in. When we arrived I just knew it was a horrible place despite all the fancy Mercedes that were parked out front which obviously belonged to the family that owned this place. After a 6 hour drive to get there I really had to use the bathroom and the toilette was covered by a wrap that said "sanitized" but when I opened the toilette someone had recently used it and did not flush. The floor was disgusting, the carpet had not had a good deep cleaning I don't think ever. It had stains everywhere. I told my niece not to walk around without shoes on. The beds were all different sizes and worn out. I did not get under the covers. The t.v. in our room did not work until some one was notified. Instantly after sitting on the bed I developed a small rash on my wrist so I refused to stay in my room and they did not refund for it. I am HIGHLY allergic to cockroaches and although I did not see any there I'm sure there are some. Since my brother was not able to come, me and my boyfriend stayed with my parents and niece in their two bedroom "suite" which was just a back room with a bed and t.v. added to it. The bed and t.v. were literally the only objects in the back room. The place smelled like smoke from the people that obviously lived above the office. There was molding that was poorly faceted to the walls around everything in the rooms including the t.v. and air conditioners. The molding was often missing in spots and the walls were dirty. We refused to stay there longer than one night even though it was booked for 3. They did nothing to remedy our complaints and looked annoyed because they were losing money. Maybe instead of buying all those fancy cars you should invest some money into your family business. Your business is a reflection of yourself and you take no pride in your business what so ever. This place is terrifying, do not stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    19
    17
    58
See reviews for
77
33
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Rude people on desk, cockroaches in cupboard and room, really noisy location overlooking freeway and expensive. Room furnishings very tatty and beds very squeaky - probably years old. Had to sleep with our clothes on for fear of bugs. Only good point was flat screen tv on wall. Do not stay here. Sleeping in your car would be preferable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Topanga Canyon, California USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Enjoy seeing all the Landmarks and Tourist sites, while staying at The Universal City Nite Inn.

You will be treated with Concierge service Par Excellence, and relax and par take of a quiet Cozy setting in one of their Charming, Elegant rooms at some of the best prices.

Do not forget to partake in their Continental Breakfasts and etc. throughout the day.

Kudos to all at the Nite Inn at Universal City!!!!!

Dr.Anastasia A.O-POLINI COOPER,Ph.D.DMA and Dr.GARY F.J.COOPER,Ph.D.

Room Tip: Highly recommend a Suite, or Basic Room: Either choice will be the right one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AnastasiaO691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Unfortunately travelling with a larger family (6) and looking for last minute accommodation on a budget, there weren't many options. We only needed a night to recharge before hitting Universal and much to my wife and mothers delight, one night is all we spent.
The main 'plus' of this place was the close proximity to Universal Studios.
As a 'make do' family, the 3 Queen beds were surprisingly comfortable albeit a little noisy as the mattresses were still wrapped in plastic. The Air con units worked, they were noisy but we were too stuffed to care anyway. Bathroom was simple and clean. The breakfast offered was juice, crap coffee and pastries. Parking was free, if you were lucky enough to get one of the 14 or so spaces from which only 2 could accommodate a family vehicle.
The friendliest face seemed to be the maids who always smiled. My poor service rating is due to the guy at the desk who had the personality of a brick. Think he needs a 'Disney Experience' to liven up.

Room Tip: If you are planning to go out in the morning, skip the 'free' breakfast. Subway is around th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sahava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

well me and a friend went there because of the location to universal studios...... i would rather pay 200 a night at the hilton then stay at this crap hole. when we went in the lady at the front was really rude, then they gave us a room above the office ( which i doubt is supposed to be a room). our covers had sperm stains on them and hair was still on the pillows. the smell of the room was terrible also. do your self a favor and spend the extra money and avoid this crap hole

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank j0hnny__b87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its proximity to Universal Studios. We were 5 persons and had rented a suite. There was no bottle of water offered by the hotel, no room to have breakfast: pick up coffee and pastry at the reception only and leave as it was a small area. Shower cleaning was made by the maid standing in it with her shoes! At 4am of our last night there, a drug dependent big guy tried to break in several rooms forcing doors and windows, including our room the window of which he broke with a brick to reach inside and open the door. He staid for a few minutes, sitting around, talking nonsense while I was calling the reception. Then he took off. Two guys were available that night at the reception. They came out of the office only when the cops got at the hotel, not a second before. The hotel manager refused to give a refund: not his fault what happened! He promised to mail a voucher for a next visit. Never saw it.

Room Tip: chose a hotel with bars on windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pancha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

went with family summer 2012.the place is close <walkable to universal studios and a short drive to hollywood blvd.Rooms are small but cosy,comfortable and clean.The front desk are friendly and helpful.good value for price.will go back again.

Room Tip: upstairs.rooms advised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Universal City Area
BLVD Hotel & Spa
BLVD Hotel & Spa
#90 of 351 in Los Angeles
384 reviews
Central L.A
Tilt Hotel Universal / Hollywood, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Central L.A
Sheraton Universal Hotel
Sheraton Universal Hotel
#113 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Hilton Los Angeles/Universal City
South San Fernando Valley
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#93 of 351 in Los Angeles
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nite Inn at Universal City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nite Inn at Universal City

Property: Nite Inn at Universal City
Address: 10612 Ventura Blvd, Studio City, Los Angeles, CA 91604-3536
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Universal City Area
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nite Inn at Universal City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our Guest rooms were just renovated (April 2015). We are a conveniently located 2 Star Inn with all the comforts of home including on-site parking, all of our guest rooms are equipped with a mini-refrigerator and microwave. We offer Free Wi-Fi, Complimentary Local TV Channels (HD) & 3 HBO channels. We have courteous, helpful staff. We are in the center of all Tourist Attractions and minutes to Hollywood Blvd. And Walk of Fame... Walk to Universal Studios and CityWalk, across from the Universal City Red Line Metro Station. We Are One Of The Recommended Neighboring Hotels of Universal Studios Hollywood. Hotel Serves Complimentary Tea and Coffee and Assorted Pastries. Limit One Parking Space Per Room. This property has exterior corridors. We Offer Tickets To Universal Studios Hollywood And Many Sightseeing Tours... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Nite Inn at Universal City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nite Inn At Universal City Hotel Los Angeles
Nite Hotel Universal City
Nite Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing