We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, Atmosphere & Staff”
Review of The Spice Table - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Spice Table
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 1st St.
Description: The Spice Table is located in the Little Tokyo neighborhood of Los Angeles and serves Southeast Asian cuisine.
Norcross, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Atmosphere & Staff”
Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This was by far my favorite dinner of our trip. There were 5 of us total and we shared a family style meal. The chefs timed all the dishes perfectly and the food was out of this world. I will definitely be back to this place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Out if the bubble!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

This place was out if our bubble if where we live. I'm so glad we went!

The space is very cool with exposed brick and lots of light. Easy parking ($7) next door.

We stated with wine and they have a decent small list. They went for the bone marrow, eggplant and egg dish with coconut toast (fab!). We have never had this kind of cuisine and we were up to try all kinds of new flavors and textures. Like the bone marrow, which was silky and spicy. I might not ever crave it, but so glad it was there to try.

The dish of the night for us was the beef randang... Oh baby what a dish. Beef short ribs over a jasmine curry rice. Just hit all those tastes I love.

It is a little pricy, but about $100 for the two if us with 2 glassess of wine each.

I will go back many times.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peterisacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not as good as all the hype”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We love Asian cuisine so we were really looking forward to southeast Asian cuisine at the Spice Table. Let me be honest...it was 105 degrees in the Valley that day so we were excited to go downtown to escape the heat. Prior to going I had called to make sure they had A/C and was told "yes". What I should have asked is if they had "working A/C"! I have deducted a point because of that as it was really hot and stuffy in the restaurant which does not make for a great dining experience. Let's talk food.The fried cauliflower was crispy but bland even with the side of sauce. The spareribs were great and I wish we had gotten a second order. The Lamb belly satay was fattier than I had expected but flavorful. We ordered the Crab bee hoon which had so much salt you could not taste anything else, and the crab was almost non-existent, a huge disappointment. The Beef Rendang was excellent so we did not walk away hungry. I really enjoyed the beer sampler. This is one of those restaurants I will never need to go to again. "Been there, done that".

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Interesting food. Nice space.”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Enjoyed the decor\service\ambiance but wasn't wowed by any of them. Thought the food was great or at the very least a notch above average.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eddie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Do not miss out on this amazing and different restaurant, we(4) of us ordered 5-6 different dishes, all very unique and unusual, the service was beyond great!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank konalizza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spice Table also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing