We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tour!”
Review of A Day in LA Tours

A Day in LA Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.00*
and up
Full-Day Iconic Sights of Los Angeles Tour
Ranked #1 of 252 Tours in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A Day in LA Tours offers the best city sightseeing tours of Los Angeles & Hollywood. We want to show all sides of LA! Our city tours offer free pick-up and drop-off. We know many visitors are in town for only a few days, so we want to make the most of your time. Our city sightseeing tours highlight Hollywood, Venice, Santa Monica, Beverly Hills, Mansions, Griffith Park, Sunset Strip, the Hollywood Walk of Fame, Rodeo Drive, The Grove, the Hollywood sign and much more! Give us a day and you'll enjoy everything LA has to offer! We also offer customized private tours charters as well! We can accommodate most any sized groups!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Tour!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have lived in Los Angeles all of my life and have always wanted to take a tour of my home town. Visiting family from Japan created the perfect opportunity. A Day in LA Tours was clearly the best way to give my out-of-town guests a good feel for Los Angeles without my having to stress over traffic and parking. This was definitely the best value for my money! Brian was our tour guide and he was both funny and informative! I highly recommend this tour!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,010 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,684
    259
    46
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great taster for LA”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am sure a lot of these 1 day LA tours cover similar locations however what I can say about A Day in LA Tours was that our guide was just a delight. A great balance between factual information and good humoured stories and anecdotes. The tour was well balanced with locations and stops where we had time to explore.

I particularly liked the fact there was no hard sell on reminding everyone to tip. From my perspective it meant when I did leave a tip is was not because I had been guilted into it.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Comedian Tour”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The 8 hr. tour was ok, but not as informative as we'd hoped. Brian, our guide, was very nice and funny. Our main concern was that we were dropped off at sights with no guide to explain things or point things out. Brian stayed in the bus or drove around while we were on our own.

We had requested the front seating tour bus, per other comments on this site, but they were only running one bus and it was more of a "U - Shaped" style seating which was not easy for viewing. If you get this style of bus, try sitting in the rear.

Later in the week we took the TOURific Escapes tour, which was for 4 1/2 hrs. Their guide & owner, Trish, was very informative & got off w/ us at every stop. They visit 6 restaurants for tastings, which was included in the cost of the tour. The TOURific Escapes tour costs more, but was so worth it & their tour bus is brand new w/ forward seating that held ~12 people which made the tour more personable. They do NOT take you to Malibu, Griffin Observatory (closed on Mondays), Rodeo Drive or some of the stars homes, which you do get on A Day in LA Tour.

I would NOT recommend taking young children on either tours. We did enjoy both tours, but would of liked the guide getting off at the sights & telling us about things. Also, it would of been nice to of known that the Griffin Observatory stop was closed on Mondays or have them pick another stop in its place on that day.

A Day in LA Tour will pick you up at your hotel if it's on their long list of hotels, but I would recommend parking at the garage they tell you about and meet them near the Visitors' Center this way you won't have to start so early & can eat in the area to allow time for the rush hour traffic to die down. There are some great restaurants with a view on or near the Santa Monica Pier, which is where they start and end. Eat & enjoy a beautiful sunset after the tour! Your parking is a set fee for the day, so enjoy the area while you're there!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank 75Pam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adayinlatours, Owner at A Day in LA Tours, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Pam - First off, thank you for booking with A Day in LA Tours. In response to your review: Our guides generally do not get off with you at every stop in order to give you time to peruse the area on your own. We feel that with all the narration going on while the tour is in motion it is nice to get a break and enjoy the sights (we do , however, encourage our guides to help direct people to points of interest). It's also a time for the guides to drink a bottle of water and casually talk amongst the guests in more natural, informal way. I apologize that the Griffith Park observatory was closed (as it was a Monday). However, we still like to go there as it is the best place in LA to really see the entire Los Angeles basin. Also, we have experimented with different seating arrangements for optimal touring and viewing - it's impossible to please everyone but we really do try. Once again, thank you for choosing us and I hope the rest of your stay in LA is enjoyable.

Raman, CEO and Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Succasunna, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This tour is EXCELLENT”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I had the bus pick me up in Hollywood and drop me off in Santa Monica.The guy that picked me up was fantastic, we talked the whole way to Santa Monica, he had the best personality ever. Once on the tour we had Brian as our guide, and there is only one thing I can say, HE WAS BETTER THAN EXCELLENT, absolutely full of knowledge, I just dont know how he could remember everything and talk right throughout the tour. All I can say, if you want a day in LA tour just book this one, its great.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Really good tour of the main attractions and tour guide Brian was really cool too. Perfect amount of time at each stop, and saw everything that was worth while seeing. Overall was a really good day.

Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Day in LA Tours also viewed

 

Been to A Day in LA Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing