We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal before the theatre!”
Review of Wood & Vine

Wood & Vine
Reserve with OpenTable
Wood & Vine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #615 of 9,954 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Vine Street
Transit: We are located 50 meters west of the Hollywood & Vine Metro station on the Red Line.
Description: Serving California wines, classic cocktails and shared plates, Wood & Vine is located in the Taft Building on the corner of Hollywood and Vine.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
147 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Great meal before the theatre!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went here for brunch on a Sunday before a show at Pantages Theatre. We had reservations and were seated immediately in the back outside patio, which feels like you are inside. Small plates were wonderful and the desert was melt in your mouth fantastic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ediebSyracuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    52
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old world Hollywood charm with a modern touch!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Love this place for it's cozy patio and amazing old-fashioned mixed cocktails. The service is great and the small plates are excellent. Whiskey connoisseurs, this is the perfect place for you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank taranaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Caught up in its own hype”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Arrived without a reservation Saturday night and got the "no tables available" treatment from the Aussie hostesses, despite seeing over 15 tables empty. Asked about the empty tables, hostesses told us they were for groups and reservations, which obviously weren't all going to show. They responded "this is LA" like I was some rube from the midwest. Reason finally prevailed and the host figured it out and seated us. Decent bar, food was ok, sometimes good, but the tapas theme is overblown, with some dishes like the dessert, obviously pre-prepared.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TexDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED, 15-20 dollars for a tapa!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The food was fairly good (too much grits around that menu for my taste), but the amount they serve is "symbolic" compared to the price they charge. If you serve tapas, fair enough, but charge them accordingly, not as a full dish. As much as I don't approve of the ridiculously big portions they serve in this country, for once I had to ask for some bread, as well as a second overpriced tapa, to go with it because it was too little food.

The wine list was also outrageously overpriced.

It took them some 15 minutes from the time they served the first in my party to the last (we were 7, not 70…).

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank quieroperderdevistaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I went for an early dinner as it was next to my hotel. It was really busy and they seated us upstairs. Great service, even though they were stretched a little thin. It has a fun atmosphere, it's loud and the food is fantastic. It's a great place to order food you've never had before. Live a little and order the sweetbreads.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drumaville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wood & Vine also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Wood & Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing