We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to spy on the pontificators”

Ray's and Stark Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Ray's and Stark Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #520 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Wilshire
Cross street: Fairfax
Description: Ray's and Stark Bar at LACMA is a casual dining restaurant in Miracle Mile, Los Angeles serving seasonal fare and favorites for lunch, dinner & happy hour.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to spy on the pontificators”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Never been in Rays, the sit down restaurant attached to the Stark Bar so I wont comment on that. The stark bar is a really awesome spot. Amazing hand made cocktails. A huge cocktail menu to chose from. The food is really good here too. Really nice pizzas for sharing with a bottle of wine. Great lunch spot. One of the best people watching spots ever. So many art experts in smart outfits buzzing about. Good food and really nice drinks. LACMA is a great setting. A little tricky to get a table as there is no host/hostess. When you see an empty spot or someone leaving you have to just jump right in. Tar pit adjacent.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    47
    15
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Interesting Food, Blah Environment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A friend visiting from New York and I went to the Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) to see the special exhibit, "Expressionism in Germany and France: From Van Gogh to Kandinsky." The exhibit was marvelous (too bad the free admission card my friend's bank gave him didn't apply to special exhibits). I digress. Ray's and Stark Bar is located on concrete among the museum's several buildings. The potted plants help but the environment isn't all that inviting. The inside tables and regular outside tables were all occupied so we accepted a table in the partitioned off bar section. We were hungry. Trouble was the tables were low, like for patio use, and the chairs while of gorgeous white metal design were splayed, low, and uncomfortable. The thin cushions helped little. It was close to impossible to eat without dropping food on yourself. The service was slowish and not all that attentive but the food was unusual and tasty. Harris ordered a lamb sandwich (Lamborghini, ha, ha) with really good fries and I had a chopped salad, which was fresh and crunchy: Salami, provolone, dry cured olives, romaine, radicchio, chiles, cauliflower, and vinaigrette. It had a nice kick, but wasn't very large, and for me, didn't have enough protein.

I think it's worth going back again to try their other interesting dishes, sit at a regular table, and use that bank card for free admission to the museum.

BTW: Underground parking is right there.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
171 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Aprés art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Both the restaurant and bar are excellent for reflecting and talking about the LACMA art. We recently had lunch after the Van Gogh to Kandinsky exhibit. There is a nice wine list and an extensive cocktail menu. The lunch menus is very interesting but somewhat limited. One caveat, the chef is prone to turn up the spice heat. The Bloody Mary is quite spicy. The Octopus, was also hot, but not too much so. Even the potato chips have a bit.
The open space is very pleasant and great for people watching.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
321 reviews
295 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Definitely stop at LACMA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Los Angeles County Museum of Art is an architectural
surprise in its layout -- open and exciting, and on the
way to the ticket booth is Ray's. Definitely stop for a
glass of wine and a small plate -- really quite good,
and it will set the tone for a wonderful outing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weyl-59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Didn't expect a lot when friends suggested this place after a visit to LACMA. I couldn't have been more wrong! I think this turned out to be one of the best culinary experiences I've had lately in LA. The variety of food combinations and flavors was as creative as delicious. The cocktail and wine list is superb, the bar tender even came to our table to do some 'consultation' and our waitress was super attentive and knowledgeable. Two thumbs up! Given we live around the corner, this place will see us visiting again very soon.

Helpful?
Thank TeegeeLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ray's and Stark Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ray's and Stark Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing