We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Informative - History of Hollywood Tour.”

Red Line Tours - Hollywood Behind-the-Scenes
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #15 of 248 Tours in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Every city has its secrets and Hollywood is no exception. Red Line Tours has the perfect product for exploring Hollywood’s secrets with our Hollywood Behind-the-Scenes™ Tour ... what most tours miss. Visit movie locations that stared A-List Celebrities (Julia Roberts, Keanu Reeves, Sandra Bullock, Mark Wahlberg, Charlize Theron, Cameron Diaz, Drew Barrymore and more), visit legendary movie palaces, find your favorite Celebrity’s star as we walk the Walk of Fame, view the Hollywood Sign, and visit celebrities’ favorite hidden hideaways. Go inside places normally closed to the public. Place your feet onto your favorite celebrity’s footprints at the Chinese theater. Walk the footsteps of the Movie Stars when you visit the Kodak Theatre, home to the Academy Awards. This tour changes Hollywood from ordinary to extra-ordinary!
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very Informative - History of Hollywood Tour.”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We took this tour as part of the Hollywood City Pass (well worth it). Armond was an excellent tour guide explaining the History of Hollywood starting with the Eqyptian Theatre premieres (a short walk from Graumann's Theatre - which we visited as part of the tour).
After the theater we walked down Hollywood Blvd and learned about the Stars on the sidewalk and to a vantage point for the Hollywood sign. The tour had a receiver and headset so you could hear even on the busy street - you can use your own earphones if you prefer to those provided. Very informative and well worth the time.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LuvtoTravel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    91
    24
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great informative tour”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We used a Groupon voucher for four of us so it turned out to be a cost of $10 per person. The places we visited were places we could've gone to on our own (other than going inside the Egyptian Theatre), but without the informative and entertaining commentary by our tour guide. This is what I really enjoyed because I got to learn a bit about the history of Hollywood. Without this knowledge, the places would've been just buildings but they were brought to life as we learned about their history. Really great value for money, I would recommend this tour to anyone who's interested in Hollywood history and trivia.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank 3ntmonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our favorite vacation experience!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

My sister just stayed at my new home in the LA area for three weeks, and we were busy with tourist activities throughout her stay. By far the best organized tourist thing we did was the Behind-the-Scenes Tour. Michael was a fantastic guide - very knowledgeable and personable, and the tour itself was so informative! There is so much interesting information packed into the 75 minutes that I will definitely accompany my future guests just to hear it again and glean more. I was originally worried about the length of the tour - 75 minutes of walking sounded strenuous, but as it turned out, the walk was fairly short (just three city blocks), and there were ample stops, with seating available at some sites. In fact, we were so invigorated after the tour that we decided to take up another activity right after that! I highly recommend this tour to anyone, weather you are visiting or live in the area. I defy anyone who goes to say they didn't learn something fascinating!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtogetpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great, informative 1.5 hour walking tour!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

As a single dad I try to take my son on cool vacations each summer. This year we spent 10 days visiting the SW USA. We were scheduled to fly from LAX and do to a quirk in flights we ended up with 1.5 days to see LA.

We had visited LA / Santa Monica 2 years prior but skipped the super touristy Hollywood Blvd. sights (he was too young). This year I decided to dive in head first! And this tour provides a fun, structured, yet educational means of doing so in an area that is absolute chaos!

A couple of notes. First, Everybody keeps praising the male tour guides. We had a fantastic female guide from Portland. Second, obviously the Hollywood fantasy is big business oversees, as we were one of only 2 families from America. We had families from Jamaica, Kuwait, and India on our tour! Our "bubbly" guide handled all of this and more like a pro! Her energy was infectious for all...especially the kids!

A great start or summary of ground zero Hollywood that you simply can't get in a vehicle!

Helpful?
Thank bherrmann72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our family was visiting Los Angeles for the first time, & we bought the Go Los Angeles card which includes access into many attractions for around $160 on sale. Red Line Behind the Scenes Hollywood Tour was included, & their website also allows for you to make reservations for your group which is helpful in planning your day. Although you may feel that you can walk to the attractions on Hollywood Blvd on your own, your tour guide will provide you with fun and interesting facts of the attractions and landmarks, plus this tour gets you access into the Egyptian Theatre. The headphones you use to hear your guide are a good idea, but stay close while walking, otherwise your connection starts to get lost.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 307JenniferW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Line Tours - Hollywood Behind-the-Scenes also viewed

 

Been to Red Line Tours - Hollywood Behind-the-Scenes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing