We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of different LA dining”
Review of The Gorbals - CLOSED

The Gorbals
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: 5th
Transit: Metro Red Line Pershing Square, Metro Bus 83, 16, 18, 53, 728
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A little bit of different LA dining”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We found this restaurant in Lonely Plant and, coming from Scotland, we were intrigued to see what kind of restaurant had been named after one of the 'less affluent' areas of Glasgow. You would be very unlikely to just 'come across' this little place so it feels like a hidden gem when you brave the foyer of the run down hotel its located inside and enter the wonderful buzz of The Gorbals. If you chose your dishes carefully, the food is not overpriced, with delicious matzo balls and chicken gizzard (coated in a lovely batter and really delicious). Did not brave the lamb's testicles but the sticky toffee pudding was tasty.

If you are looking for something that feels a bit less 'tourist like' I would recommend eating here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScottishTravelScout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    2
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Slumdog millionaires”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Although this restaurant takes its name from a former slum in Glasgow, Scotland (why would you?) the similarities end there. Food is very good, service fast and prices reasonable. Bit of a hidden gem too as it's located in a pretty dilapidated hotel in downtown LA. Has quite a win bar, middle-class feel about it, serving Jewish food with a very big twist - i.e. pork matzo balls. Quite tapas like and though we couldn't get a table on spec, we were seated at the bar which was absolutely fine. Good place for entertaining friends especially if you're from out of town, like we are. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunroamin68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

I have eaten here for brunch, lunch and dinner, so I feel like I can speak with a degree of authority when I say that this restaurant is a disappointment. It is in one of the coolest spots in LA - its hidden at the back of a decaying hotel in Downtown - anyone you take here will be impressed when you open the door to the hidden restaurant that feels like you've found an old, hoppin speak easy. But your guest won't be too impressed after they have left, especially if they paid the bill.

One of the restaurant's best known dishes - Banh mi poutine - a small plate of cheese fries - will run you $15. The skirt steak for a dollar more ($16) is served cold and chewy on a side plate (more an appetizer than an entree) and the charred eggplant sauce it sits on top of is slimy and further degrades the mediocre taste of the poor quality meat. The Welsh rarebit is not a rarebit at all but some hip new Americanized version that has replaced nearly all of the traditional ingredients and presentation with something that looks nicer (all style and no substance). The asparagus for $9 features seven asparagus topped with olive oil, salt and pepper and broiled for five minutes - its good but for $9 you might as well buy two pounds of them (40 of 'em) and feed yourself for a week. The burger is good too, but at $14 its overpriced too - and its not as good as Father's Office or Umami. The five prawns you get for $15 is a joke of a dish - all the seasoning is on the skin which is not cooked enough to be edible - so once you take the head off and get dirty peeling the thing its disappointing (again style over substance). The most reasonably priced items on the menu are the two selections for dessert - Sticky Toffee Pudding and Bacon Cheesecake ($7 each) - unfortunately, the sticky toffee pudding is not a pudding and the bacon cheesecake, which I am sure some hipster with an interest in food but no formal training pulled out of his ...., is interesting but far from ideal (like wearing uggs in summer). The best thing on the menu is the Cream of Chickpea Soup ($10 in a cup sized bowl). Oh and the old fashions at $12 a pop ain't bad if you think their worth it.

This place is too cool for school - literally, no school (as in cooking school). I still like to bring people here just to show them the venue, but then we leave and go eat elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joshdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Va
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Notch food, feel and service.”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The place is a little hidden but that makes it awesome. The food was so good. Bacon wrapped matzo, broccoli and beef tongue which I didn't think I would like was great. I love that it's family style so I could try a little bit of everything.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark7579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Innovative”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

The Gorbals is on the cutting edge of the great culinary wave hitting downtown. Innovative food (squid ink fish and chips) nice service (with a sense of humor) and great prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank peterm312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gorbals also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing