We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!!! A real Italian restaurant in Hollywood, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Osteria Mamma

Osteria Mamma
Ranked #376 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Lucerne
Los angeles
Level Contributor
614 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
“Wow!!! A real Italian restaurant in Hollywood, amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I have to say that this restaurant is one of the very few where I can say I had real Italian food! Sooooo good! The polio, octopus salad, is so soft and tasty, the fried shrimp, calamari, and zucchini, fritto misto, is one of the best that I ever had, ever! And also very good salads, with blue cheese, pear and caramelized walnuts, and more. La pasta is handmade from the mother of the owner, an Italian lady from Padova. It cannot get better than that... They even make lasagna from scratch and the dessert selection is wide, and the desserts delicious! Amazing Tiramisu.... Give it a try, and you will be back soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManuLLosangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    21
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toluca Lake, California, United States
Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Osteria Mamma is a fantastic local Italian restaurant in the Larchmont/Hancock Park area. The food is authentic and always top notch. The waiters are efficient and the service is very good. It's not the best Italian food in Los Angeles, but it is always consistent and worthy of a return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
“Great Dinner!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We meet family members here for dinner and were expecting typical Italian fare. The food was much better than expected. I ordered a wood-fired pizza and my husband ordered a steak. We both found our meals excellent. We would definitely return when we are in the area again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional Italian food in a friendly, relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We found Osteria Mamma around the corner from our holiday rental in a quieter part of Melrose Ave and it soon became our local. Fabulous food and a great atmosphere, the staff are more than helpful. It also serves gluten free alternatives all courses. A real find!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gcjcAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
141 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“My favorite neighborhood Italian restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've eaten dinner here, maybe, 14 or 15 times and the food is always outstanding. It's a small neighborhood restaurant on Melrose, fairly close to Larchmont Village. The menu is big, there are always good specials, there is an extensive list of Italian wines, the service is always good. My favorite dishes are the fungolata (mushroom salad), any of their salads with Buratta, their homemade pastas, and their red sauce which is a dipping sauce for the bread. But, honestly, everything is very delicious here. The decor is only so-so; it's a 2 room restaurant fronting on a busy street, there are photos of Mamma all around. But, definitely, make a reservation and go for the fabulous cooking!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Randi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Mamma also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Osteria Mamma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing