We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Favorite!”
Review of Cleo

Cleo
Reserve with OpenTable
Cleo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #38 of 10,042 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Hollywood
Cross street: Hollywood & Vine
Transit: One block west from Metro Red Line Hollywood & Vine station.
Description: Enjoy delicious dinners and handcrafted cocktails by Chef Danny Elmaleh in a warm, inviting Matthew Rolston-designed setting that marries old Hollywood glamour with relaxed Mediterranean charm - in the heart of Hollywood.
Burbank, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“New Favorite!”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Amazing food! So many different flavors that paired together wonderfully. Highly recommend the Brussel Sprouts, Pumpkin Salad, mushrooms. Everything really. The cocktails are really great. All with fresh ingredients

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    94
    27
    9
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“Great dining experience in LA”
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Lovely food, definitely try the specialty Brussels sprouts in almond butter!
Had both breakfast & dinner here and found the staff attentive both times.
Make a reservation for evening dining tho, it gets busy!
The beef cheeks were 'Melt in the mouth' and the chicken skewers were great too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We arrived early for our reservation and whilst I know that can cause problems they dealt with it pretty speedily. The biggest problem I have with this place is the atmosphere, it feels pretentious. We were shown to our table and it felt like all eyes were watching us. I'm probably just being paranoid but the whole feel of the place was off.

As for the food, it was ok. Very expensive for what it was.

The waitress, to be fair, was great. Really attentive and friendly. She was the best thing about Cleo and the only reason we stuck around.

Maybe I just caught it on an off day and maybe if you're a movie producer or wanna be actor maybe this is the sort of place you come to have meetings. From a tourists point of view, I couldn't wait to leave.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We loved our experience at Cleo! The food was fantastic, sooo much yummy flavour, every dish was delicious. Shannon our waitress was very helpful and made sure that our dishes arrived in the right order and that each dish was hot and fresh. Great vibe to the place so go and enjoy!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious food with Flair”
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

If you live tapas, this place is the best. Delicious food that is served promptly. This place has a great energy with fantastic service.
Cocktails are awesome and fun to watch being made.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveSaporito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cleo also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Cleo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing