We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local y upscale spot.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chablis Food + Wine
Reserve with OpenTable
Chablis Food + Wine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,906 of 9,898 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Between Amigo/Mecca
Transit: Across the street from the restaurant on Ventura Blvd and Amigo.
Tarzana, CA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great local y upscale spot.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Chablis is a lovely local spot for nicer dining. There is pleasant dinner music o n the week-end. The host/ owner tries very hard to please. The food is wonderful , the service is good and the prices are reasonable. Nice place for lunch or dinner with friends. I have had many lunches there

This week-end we had a party for 40 people on a Saturday night. The steak,chicken and salmon were all excellent. The service was wonderful and the ambence delightful. No one wanted to leave!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank golfandbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    4
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TravelingGal99
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is our "go to" restaurant when we want a nice meal or to take someone out to a nice dinner without completely breaking the bank. How they produce this quality food at the prices they charge, I'll never know.

The atmosphere is lovely, charming and not too noisy. The service is generally quite good. You're lucky if you get Said, because he knows everything about wine and the proper pairings with your food choices. Once he gets to know you and your preferences, his suggestions are even more perfect.

In summer, the outdoor seating with background musician is a treat because it is not on the street. No car fumes to ruin the food or the mood. There is also a private room for groups. It's a good choice for a business lunch because it is less crowded then.

We've been here many times and introduced many, many people and groups to the restaurant. Naturally there has been an issue or two out of hundreds of dinners over the last few years but they are few and far between and always handled with professionalism. It's a real hidden gem of the Valley.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingGal99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
573 reviews
464 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Just Okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

The atmosphere here is great! But I was quite disappointed with my overall experience. We were a party of 3 and we shared 2 small dishes, 1 salad, 1 large dish and a dessert. We ordered the crab cake and the croquet. The crab cake was good but I did not like the bitter cabbage salad underneath the crab cake. I personally thought the flavor was way too bitter for me. The croquet was absolutely delicious! I loved everything about it! We ordered a caesar salad which tasted like a typical caesar salad but with a bit more anchovy flavor. For the large dish, we chose the shrimp and scallop linguini. This was pretty good actually. Overall very flavorful. Up to this point, I would have given the restaurant a 4 out of 5. But it was the dessert where I had to knock down a star. We ordered the lava cake. From my understanding of what a lava cake is, there should be something flowing out of it in the middle of the cake. The first thing that got to us was that it took 30 min after we finished our last dish and we put our dessert order in for it to actually be served. I've never had to wait 30 min before for a dessert. Second, they overcooked the cake so there was no lava. It was completely cooked right through. What a disappointment. Finally, the third disappointment was we presented a coupon but our server forgot the coupon and did not give us our discount. We were in a hurry because we were not expecting the dessert to take so long. So by the time we left, we realized that the $5 was not deducted from our check. Yeah, we should have double checked before paying but the server should have done his/her job from the beginning and make sure the coupon was deducted. All in all, it was an ok experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nlee1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1,893 reviews
638 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,870 helpful votes
“Excellent gourmet food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were visiting the area and went with family who live in the area and they recommended this excellent place that serves gourment food that is somewhat pricey--for the four of us the price, including wine, was around $165. We shared a tasty flatbread appetizer and entrees of quail and short ribs. Everything was excellent and the atmosphere was friendly with the owner and the chef coming out to talk to us during the meal. There are free parking lots in the rear and metered street parking in front on Ventura Blvd.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pnemiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Left rehearsal dinner before getting our food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were at Chablis for a rehearsal dinner - unfortunately about 15 more people showed up than they were expecting, so they were working to set up additional tables, etc. They did bring our kids' food (no kids menu though, they had adult entrees)...and although we asked several times to have our food packaged 'to go' it was never brought out, and we left after being there for an hour and a half (7-8:30pm), we heard the food finally came at 9:30pm, quite a few other guests left before dinner or dessert as well. The food our kids had was tasty, although very expensive if we had ordered from the menu and paid. Probably best for an intimate couples' dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank otcarla28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chablis Food + Wine also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Chablis Food + Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing