We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The place to stay in L.A!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Manor Hotel Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essex Manor Hotel Apartments
Save
You added Essex Manor Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
2816 West Sunset Place, Los Angeles, CA 90005 (Central L.A)   |  
Hotel amenities
Milano
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The place to stay in L.A!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed in the Marilyn Monroe Apartment for 4 nights in August and we cannot be more happy. Our flight was cancelled and we had to arrive late but our phone didn't work in the Usa so we could not contact the resident manager directly. At our arrival he was very helpful and kind though, and he gave us a tour of the property. It was like having a real home in L.A and that was great. Our apartment was small but packed with everything we need, so we always had breakfast and dinner at home. It was very clean and they gave you a lot of towels so if you are there for 1 week or less you don't have to do the laundry just for towels. The have washers and dryers in the basement so it's very convenient if you are traveling with a light luggage and you need to wash your clothes. Private complimentary parking is a plus, as wi-fi. The only negative part, for me, was the bed...too soft for my taste, but I guess that's pretty personal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaSignoraLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
10
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelsea, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed in the Jimmy Stewart room for 8 days and before the trip was nervous about the location because I was traveling with my Mother and we have never been to LA before. The room was so charming and clean! Don, the manager in charge was very helpful. The location was perfect for what we needed. Centrally located to downtown and easy to get to Beverley Hills, Culver City, Studio City, Silver Lake and Hollywood. Free parking and WI-fi. Also a flat screen TV with a DVD player in the room. Everyday my mom and I kept saying, "I can't believe we found this place, it is so perfect!". The prices were outstanding and we could cook in our room so we didn't take back any vacation weight with us. : ) There are two markets within a five minute drive. The futon was super comfy and my Mom thought the bed was too. There were plenty of towels, and the first round of coffee and toilet paper was on them. I highly recommend this Hotel/Apartment to anyone who is looking for an affordable, clean, place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stacie365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

For $119 including taxes and parking, I had a place to myself that was secure and clean. Even had a kitchen and free wi-fi. How can you do better? I had the "Burns & Allen penthouse" which even has a small outdoor roofdeck; not suitable for children, though.

Head around the corner and eat authentic Salvadoran cuisine for rock-bottom prices.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidayman08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
golconda
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

They are security minded, its a little disconcerting that they feel they have to. The room is clean and we have everything that we need for our stay, 9 days. The location is a bit of a negative. We have to drive everywhere. There isn't much within walking distance except some Mexican joints. The bed is quite comfy. We stayed in the Elizabeth Taylor room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rambler022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We checked into the Judy Garland Apartment for five nights. Don checked us in at a very late hour and he was very hospitable. Check in went very smoothly. The room was GREAT!It was spotless.They left lots of towels, hand towels, and wash clothes. The kitchen was stocked with everything. It was nice going to the market and Joans on third to get things for breakfast and snacks. We used the bed and futon. Both were very comfortable. I was very surprised on how comfortable the futon was! ( I called when I got home to see where they bought the futon so I can buy one too! ) I felt safe at all times at this hotel. I loved having an assigned parking space in a gated parking lot. The hotel was in the perfect location for us! Easy to find with GPS. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a great place to call home while in LA. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelGirl11083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed at the Marilyn Monroe room for 4 days -and everything was absolutely lovely, - clean, quiet and safe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights in September as part of a multi centre trip. The apartment was bright and clean, with a well equipped kitchen. It was in a nice area, fairly central. The carpark was great with a security gate so you didn't have to worry about finding a space. We didn't use the hot tub or bbqs but the area they looked good - we would have used them if we were staying longer. Checking in and out was easy and quick. We had problems finding the place as our sat nav didn't recognise the address, but Don the manager helped us over the phone.

Room Tip: I would maybe check before travelling that the sat nav if you are using one recognises the address...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kal125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
The Line
The Line
#38 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#26 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#44 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,999 reviews
Palga Grand Hotel
#230 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Manor Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Manor Hotel Apartments

Property: Essex Manor Hotel Apartments
Address: 2816 West Sunset Place, Los Angeles, CA 90005
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Central L.A
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 71 Specialty Lodging in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Essex Manor is a boutique Hotel offering affordable, fully furnished, cute and clean apartments for short and long term stays. Longer dates mean discount rates. Travel like a local.Amenities include:• Queen Size Memory Foam Beds• Full Size Memory Foam Futon Sleepers (In Some Apts.)• Fully Equipped Kitchen• Plasma TV • Free HBO/Showtime/Broadcast• Free Internet• Private Full Bathroom• Free Gated Parking• Built in Hair Dryer (In Some Apts.)• Built Magnifying Mirror (In Some Apts.)• Telephone with Free Local Calls & Voice Mail (In Some Apts.)• Intercom Controlled Entrance• Jacuzzi Spa Available to all Guests• Picnic Area & BBQs Available to all Guests• Coin Operated Laundry Available to all Guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing