We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 7:30 AM - 10:00 PM
Book In Advance
Tours from Guideline Tours tend to sell out - travelers recommend booking in advance!
  
Ways to Experience Guideline Tours
from $70.00
More Info
from $75.00
More Info
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
211
15
8
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
211
15
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great tour beverly hills city tour mercedes van private tour rodeo drive afternoon tour highly recommend this tour company hollywood sign farmers market sunset strip la tour small bus dropped off griffith observatory personal tour movie stars homes
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 241 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2018

We normally do not do more than 2 hours, but this 4 hour tour was perfect for us! Carlos was a fantastic guide with lots of info for our group. We thoroughly enjoyed our time in LA and our conversation with Carlos.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank p_stephens61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guidelinetours, Guest Relations Manager at Guideline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Hi Stephens61

Thanks for your kind words about Carlos.

Carlos, like all of our guides love to give out knowledge. Yes LA is the entertainment capitol of the world, but our rich diverse history allows our guides to offer vast amounts of information of Los Angeles, Hollywood, and Beverly Hills.
So glad you thoroughly enjoyed your day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

The tour was great! We started our tour from one of the hotels in Downtown LA (which was nice in itself because we had a drink in the hotel bar first, Guideline arrived on time to collect us...so NO standing around waiting with the crowds). First stop was Downtown at the Walt Disney Concert Hall. Bing was our tour guide and she was excellent, really knowledgeable about ALL the sights, especially liked her insider info about the celebrity ‘real estate’ houses we passed by in the Hollywood Hills, general info about property in the area and Griffith National Park facts. (My teenage girls loved this!). It was by far the best way to see LA particularly on a busy Saturday afternoon!!! Traffic is very busy here, but because we were in a luxurious air conditioned Mercedes tour van, we were able to go straight up to the top of Griffith Obsevatory and get out at the entrance (worth every penny....because we did NOT have to struggle walking up a tourist packed hill from lower car parks in the sweltering heat). Bing gave us a good 30 mins to explore the observatory and take our photos of the infamous ‘Hollywood Sign’, before collecting us to continue the tour. The views from up there were stunning! On the way down we passed by many celebrities homes and she really knew the Hills area very well. Next stop was Hollywood Boulevard, and she gave us and extra stop here to take photos outside Capitol Records at the start of the ‘Hollywood Walk of Fame - Stars’, before heading down to the Chinese and Dolby Theatre area, where we stopped for another 30 mins to take photos and grab an ice cream. We then headed down to West Hollywood, Sunset Strip and into Beverely Hills and drove down Rodeo Drive. The tours aren’t allowed to stop in Rodeo Drive, but we did get out beforehand to take our photos in front of the Beverely Hills sign. The afternoon tour started at approx 2pm and we got back to the hotel gone 6pm....a good 4 hours...so good value for money. An excellent way to see the cities sights very much in style and comfort, thus avoiding the crowds and ‘tacky tours’. Would highly recommend! Thank you Bing and Guidline Tours!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank A5026MLjoannab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guidelinetours, Guest Relations Manager at Guideline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Hi Joanna,

Wow! This is a great description of your experience.

Thank you for taking time out to write this and we will see you next time you pass through SoCal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2018

Guideline tours provided the best overall experience possible. I spoke with Paul on the phone the day before our tour and he provided some extract details about the service and even gave me suggestions on where to go to lunch before we met the tour as we had a couple hours to kill. The next day was travel day and our flight was delayed over four hours and we were going to miss our tour. I called guideline and talked with Bing. After realizing our schedule was booked and there was no way for us to get a tour in on the next scheduled day Bing said she would just give my family a private tour. Talk about customer service. I went from being stressed about missing the tour the family was looking forward to, too having Bing provide a solution I as not expecting.

Bing instructed me to call her when we landed in Los Angeles and we arrange to meet. Being met us at the agreed-upon location and then proceeded to take us on a private tour that lasted more than 4 hours. It covered all of the highlights that are original tour promised plus many more. On this private tour we went to the observatory, we toured the neighborhoods of the stars homes, we went into the Hollywood and Highland area to then Chinese theater, we stopped at the star walk, she let us out and we walked around Rodeo Drive and Beverly Hills. The tour exceeded all of our expectations especially due to the fact that we missed a scheduled tour and what they did for us was above and beyond anything we expected. The fact that they were able to pull this together for us and give us an amazing experience on short notice says a lot about this organization and the people that work there.

Bing was completely awesome. I don’t know if we could’ve asked for a better tour guide.
A five star review of these guys doesn’t seem like justice they should be at least 10. Not only did she show us the sights of the town but we had some really great conversations about a lot of different topics. Guideline tours is an example for all other companies to stand up to and be held to. The customer service they showed my family was above and beyond. I truly think this is just the way these guys are every single day. I can’t comment on the other tour companies out there because I didn’t spend any time or money with them, but I will tell you if you want to insure an amazing tour and an experience you will remember for the rest of your life book with Guidelines tours. You won’t be sorry

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
3  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guidelinetours, Guest Relations Manager at Guideline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Hi Brian,

Its awesome you found our personal service to provide the best overall experience!
LA is a big intimating and after 35 years of showing folks like you around we do offer a personal touch that allows us to provide individuals a unique experience.

Its great you found Bing to be completely awesome!

See you next time you visit LaLa land.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2018 via mobile

We had a fantastic time touring LA with Mark. He was funny and very knowledgeable about our sights. We thought it was a great value

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank 279candym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guidelinetours, Guest Relations Manager at Guideline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Hi Candym,

Glad you were able to take advantage of our flexible last minute booking availability.
Mark does have a great mix of Humor and being a 35 year resident of LA he has acquired a vast amount OK knowledge.

Thanks for your review of Guideline Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2018

This tour of Los Angeles was excellent. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and had a true, personal knowledge of the area. She added some extra sites and was very friendly. The bottles of water on a hot day were much appreciated.

Date of experience: July 2018
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
1  Thank vonetterichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guidelinetours, Manager at Guideline Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2019

Hi vonetterichter,

We really appreciate your kind words regarding your tour on a hot August day.
The weather in Los Angeles can be a bit warm in summer, maybe next time come through LA in winter and still enjoy our mild winter weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews