We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eclectic royalty in the center of it all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Redbury Hollywood
Ranked #14 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eclectic royalty in the center of it all!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I was very impressed with the room and the amenities. The location was central to everything we wanted to do. Fun hip vibe with excellent service. Any and all requests were handled quickly as if we were diplomats. Traveling family with an 8 year old and 4 month old twins. We all had a blast!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMazzei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    173
    56
    25
    23
See reviews for
132
351
51
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

I absolutely enjoyed the excellent location, the entire staff, the very helpful valet, the amazing room, the remarkable attention given every guest, the in house social hangouts, the stunning privacy and everything you could truly ever be seeking in a hotel. a haven for me in the heart of LA. I will absolutely return. My comfort was clearly their profession. Well done, I wanted for nothing.

Room Tip: pick your view depending on which mountain range, city lights, skyscaper or sunset you prefer. i sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sarah M,
Thank you very so much for your kind remarks about The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine! We strive to provide an amazingly unique boutique hotel experience, and your remarks of “My Comfort: Clearly Their Profession” reaffirms that goal! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel deserves more than 5 stars...wish I could give it a 10.

Even though we live in Orange County, my daughter attended Gnomon School of Visual Effects (only a mile away from the hotel) for a two week camp. Instead of spending 4 hours on the road daily we choose to stay at the Redbury. All I can say is WOW! What a great experience. The rooms are so large that I can say they really care about the customer. The decor is beautiful and relaxing. It was so nice to have a kitchen and living room.
The beds were so comfortable (down pillows!) and I slept so well. Even better than I do at home. We ordered room service often and the restaurant Cleo was 5+ stars! My favorite was the greek salad and tomato and cucumber salad. I tried to make these at home and it's not the same. We also at at the sushi restaurant Katsuya and it was also 5 stars.
Oh! They give you a Keurig coffee maker which was awesome.
The service was also outstanding. The staff was very attentive and were always smiling. I also loved the valets...I will miss them!
Starbucks was right across the street and Trader Joes was very close. Great location.

Whoever the owners are they need to build more of these hotels everywhere. I really don't want to stay anywhere else ever again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 4th floor one week and the 5th the following week. Very quiet floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eeh1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm springs
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Besides the consistently wanna-be-actors-front desk that makes you feel like you're at the front door of a cheesy night club, the stay is always great. Stayed here at least five times, the rooms are all the same but they are huge and fun. A bit amazing that every room is nearly identical in decor as its supposed to be "eclectic" but a cross between bohemian chic and urban loft. Linens, shower and bed are all fantastic. Location in the daytime, especially pre 8am, is a little rough, so be careful if you go out for a morning run. Be prepared to jump over a few cracked out homeless. Restaurant downstairs is phenomenal- so plan a big group dinner downstairs and crawl upstairs for a nightcap at the 2nd floor bar and then off to bed. There's enough room for your drunk friend to crash on the couch!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taruccia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights in Nov'12 as part of our honeymoon trip. The Redbury was a great choice for this short stay as is well located and the staff are so helpful. The hotel is very trendy and the rooms are niche and eclectic!

I can't stress this enough just how helpful the staff were. They helped us in securing tickets for a Lakers NBA game at short notice and also helped with evening meal dining arrangements/ reservations. There is a very good pizza take away which was recommended 2 minutes walking distance which you have to try!!

Please seriously consider this hotel if you are looking to stay in Hollywood. We are looking to book another stay in an SBE hotel (probably Miami) in the near future!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ste_J_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Ste_J_Davies,
Congratulations on your ‘recent’ nuptials, and thank you for making The Redbury @ Hollywood and Vine a part of your honeymoon! Your gracious words about our team are much appreciated as they take great pride in creating amazing experiences like the one you described. In case you haven’t heard, we’re opening a Redbury in Miami’s South Beach in the fall!
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We live in Hollywood a few blocks away, but every few weeks try to take an overnight excursion into one of El Lay's amazing hotels. The Redbury has soared to the top of our list as one of the most enjoyable experiences: striking eclectic decor, a full kitchen and dining area, luxurious bed and bath, outdoor patio. It is a bit above the price we usually feel comfortable paying, but for a really special special occasion, it is the best so far! The only quibble was room service, which was slow and provided a drastically inedible steak sandwich -- BUT! I mentioned this in my hotel survey and the price of our room service bill was instantly reversed on my credit card with a personal note of apology from the hotel manager. We are returning this coming weekend for another memorable staycation for my Ganymede and me!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidLangGM, General Manager at The Redbury Hollywood, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear BostonTee,
We are so glad you spent your LA staycation at The Redbury Hollywood as we believe ourselves to the perfect staycation location! Next time you’re looking to this check out our Rendezvous package that features dinner in Cleo, a night at The Redbury, along with parking etc. Thank you for sharing your less than perfect room service experience with us on your survey! We appreciate the opportunity to make things right for you. See you soon.
Best wishes,
David Lang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for one night and really enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant (Cleo).

On arrival, the impression is not good. There is simply a front door and no real indication that there is a hotel behind the facade. We dragged our cases through the front door and there was a small notice that reception was on the second floor. We went up in the lift and the reception desk was tucked away in a distant corner. By now, we were wondering if we were in the right place and whether we were expected.

But, from then on, all was well.The receptionist was friendly and helpful and were soon on our way to our room which was very spacious and quirkily decorated. The decorative theme throughout the hotel is based on old Hollywood films and actors and the room had many touches from the 1940s and 1950s (for example, there was a a record player complete with 78 vinyl LP records).

As mentioned earlier, the restaurant (which is also not noticeable from the street) was excellent and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadClem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
The Garland
#13 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#18 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#70 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury Hollywood

Property: The Redbury Hollywood
Address: 1717 Vine St, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5248
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your new home away from home. Situated at the iconic intersection of Hollywood & Vine, our all suite, boutique hotel offers spacious flats as an unpretentious refuge with all the creature comforts you need to unwind after hitting your favorite Hollywood arts, music, fashion and entertainment hotspots ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury @ Hollywood And Vine Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing