We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hollywood Renaissance Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Los Angeles
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hollywood Renaissance Suites
Save
You added Hollywood Renaissance Suites to your Saves list
Ranked #147 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Okay lets just say this is the best location if staying in Hollywood. All the attractions are right there. We loved our room and the friendly staff. The lobby is excellent too. Very clean and easy parking. Loved the Hollywood Sign in the view too!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
13
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Stayed here with my partner for the first time and was dissapointed. At the time of the stay the rate was quiet high but we decided to stay regardless as I knew the location would be excellent for all the activites we had planned around hollywood. Having previously stayed at Roosevelt I wanted to try something different and liked the location at Hollywood and Highland.

On check in, the staff were fine- seemed a little put out about me using travellers cheques to pay for the accomodation, but I did check prior to arrival and informed the hotel I would be doing this.
We took our own bags to the room, as I felt that the porters didn't really have time as they were attending the driveway, entrance. However, I didnt ask so i'll never know.
Our room faced the hollywood sign which was nice but was small in size. The basic layout in the room meant that as you entered the bathroom was to one side and then you basically stepped into the bedroom. I was dissapointed in the size for the rate per night and would recommend others that are interested in this hotel choosing a larger size room then the standard size room. If you are wanting a basic room and the rate is reasonable then this will be fine- Especially if you are going to be out and about.

There is a private entrance for hotel guests directly from Hollywood and Highland which is great for returning from shopping or if you want to grab a bite to eat in the hotel room. In the lobby my partner really enjoyed the water with fruit/ Cucumber it was refreshing in the mornings.

The atmosphere in the hotel did feel abit 'pretensious', however given the location of the hotel this was expected.

Overall,the stay was fine. It did not exceed our expectations but met them ok.

Room Tip: A High floor is a must- I would book the room catagory above the standard room, to avoid dissapointm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sdiplock_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Im writting here because I hope it helps travelers to dont suffer the same experience as me and my bfriend did, we arrived on August 18th, our flight got in early so the receptionist was very kind to check us in early, great room, greal location, everything was going well...until we left the hotel and realized we were missing $400 usd, we put the passports and more cash in the save so that money and documents were there, but we left an envelope inside a suitcase with extra cash, and when we unpacked, the money was gone...I called the hotel, talked to security, explained the situation and he asked me if I wanted to make a report, I did and till today I have not heard back...he explained they are only responsible for what is placed in the save and ok, our mistake to trust we could leave our bags opened, Im not expecting to get the money back, as I explained to the security guy, but the hotel needs to know they have employees stealing from guests...so heres my experience, hope this help future guest to lock all your bags and make sure you dont miss anything while you stay there!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Maitri25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is now owned by the Lowes group of hotels and was recommended by a friend to be in the best location to visit the main tourist places - he wasn't wrong! Right in the heart of Hollywood district, this hotel was clean, the pool was lovely and the rooms were of nice condition, all the staff were so helpful and made our four night stay very pleasureable. A very good fitness suite is alongside the pool and the children loved it.The view from our room was the 'Hollywood' sign on the hill and to the back of the hotel was the shopping mall, chinese theatre, Hollywood boulevard, Sunset boulevard with Beverly Hills and Rodeo drive just a couple of miles down the road - top tourist spot to stay!
Go out to Santa Monica and do a bike ride along the coast it's great fun and such fun although Venice beach does look a little so-so but absolutely fine during the day.

Room Tip: Go for a VIP room on the 19th/20th floors as they don't cost much more and you get free WiFi , a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fishers240711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, UK.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights in May, absolutely gorgeous hotel!!!!! We stayed on the 15th floor with views of the Los Angeles sky line and the Hollywood sign!!!! The room was spotless and the hotel overall was amazing!!! You only have to walk 30 seconds out of the hotel and your in the Hollywood highland centre and kodak theatre!!! Would definitely stay here again if I ever re-visit and recommend it highly!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danni_Sanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had a great stay at this location. Perfectly located if you want to see Hollywood, Universal and Griffith Park. Grauman's, the Kodak Theatre, The Highlands Hollywood and Hollywood Blvd; it's all right there outside the door. It is an older building, but the room we were in was recently renovated and, from inside, you would not know it was older. Our room was quite large and decorated in a modern style you'd expect in Hollywood. It's convenient to several venues downtown, which was the reason for our stay, so you can avoid driving if you plan to have a few drinks. We found this to be a lovely hotel and will return in the near future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricksltlsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Hollywood Renaissance Hotel in February (for the 5th straight year in conjunction with the Oscars). The hotel during this period buzzes with activity. The rooms I have stayed in have all been clean and the bed comfortable. The pool area has a nice relaxed atmosphere. There is a workout facility that is attached to the pool with enough equipment to keep a person busy. The lounge area in the lobby is a great place to people watch. Valet parking is convenient, as self parking in the massive parking garage at Hollywood-Highland can be a 10-15 minute chore. Parking rates can also be on the high side. Hollywood itself is pretty much a tourist trap and at night can be a place you want to watch your back. East of Highland is still dumpy. The scene to the west of Highland would be more of place to go.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CornHuskerNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
Legend Hotel Hollywood
#183 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#139 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#35 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
W Hollywood
W Hollywood
#60 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 1,517 reviews
Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
The Redbury Hollywood
#5 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
Hollywood
Rubix Hollywood Apartments
Rubix Hollywood Apartments
#182 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollywood Renaissance Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollywood Renaissance Suites

Property: Hollywood Renaissance Suites
Address: 6358 Yucca Street, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Number of rooms: 120

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing