We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Japanese next to the Staples Centre” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katsuya - LA Live

Katsuya - LA Live
Reserve with OpenTable
Katsuya - LA Live is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 9,854 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Figueroa St.
Description: Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya by Starck is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod. With superb talent and exacting precision, Katsuya by Starck is changing the face of Japanese cuisine. Katsuya is the Los Angeles Times Readers’ Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California and one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S."
Bangalore
Level Contributor
108 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Awesome Japanese next to the Staples Centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014

Awesome dinner. Right from the Edamame to Sushi, Sashimi, Eel and the blue cod. Tge warm Sake was also awesome though the caucasian chicks screaming in Japanese was very funny. Guess we were sitting right next to one of the stars from Game of Thrones.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank paddy_m1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    77
    40
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great every time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

They have some really great menu options for sushi lovers, and those who are less adventurous. Lots of plates are awesome for sharing, so it is fun to order a variety of things to try. They have some fun drink options as well. Whether looking for a date night spot, or a dinner with friends - this is a good spot. Be prepared to leave feeling very, very full. It is easy to overdo it, because everything is so good!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“good food but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

We just ate at Katsuya. The food was very good but the portions were very small and the service left a lot to be desired. it is likely that they don't care because they are very busy every night given their location, near Staples Center. Having said that, some training and better management might entice me to come back. The cod in miso and the bass are both very good. The sushi and the sashimi were also very good. we ordered edamame that we never received but we were billed for it, We had to ask 3 times for the last roll we ordered. Our last request was to the manager. we received an apology and then waited several more minutes for the spider roll. There are so many great restaurants in LA, that I will give others (Sugarfish) consideration before going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveler445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California, USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
“Overly priced Sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The price you pay is way too much for a small size portion. The quality is good. I only would go here if I was celebrating a special occasion or trying to impress someone.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mehrdad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Decent sushi at LA Live”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The sushi here is decent, but be prepared to be over-charged. It is good for a quick meal before an event at Staples Center or LA Live.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsuya - LA Live also viewed

 

Been to Katsuya - LA Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing