We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favorite Sushi in the US” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Katsuya - LA Live

Katsuya - LA Live
Reserve with OpenTable
Katsuya - LA Live is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #245 of 9,847 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $100
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Figueroa St.
Description: Featuring the dynamic pairing of Master Sushi Chef Katsuya Uechi and design impresario Philippe Starck, Katsuya by Starck is truly a feast for the senses. With specialty cocktails, unique rolls and spectacular sushi and sashimi platters, Chef Uechi skillfully translates Japanese flavors to the American palate. Signature dishes include Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna, Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and Miso-Marinated Black Cod. With superb talent and exacting precision, Katsuya by Starck is changing the face of Japanese cuisine. Katsuya is the Los Angeles Times Readers’ Choice "Best Sushi Restaurant" in Southern California and one of OpenTable's "50 Hottest Restaurants in the U.S."
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“My favorite Sushi in the US”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Delicious fresh sushi, fun cat-centric atmosphere and drink?

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lilmissmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    77
    40
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
306 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Eh....it was okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I dined at this restaurant in April when I was in town for a conference. It wasn't the best sushi I have ever had; and certainly not the worst. It simply was just an okay experience. Would I return if I was in the area? Maybe...yet I am inclined to say that I probably would seek something else out instead.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leoclab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Sushi at LA Live”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Fresh, delicious sushi and Japanese fare in the heart of LA Live in downtown LA. Staples Center is right next door, as are several other restaurants. The Crispy Rice and Spicy Tuna entree is a signature dish for good reason, and I also enjoyed the Eggplant Stuffed with Albacore in a Miso Broth. Every piece of sushi was fresh and tasted wonderful as well. Service was highly competent and not rushed.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wwpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not the best of the chain.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

LA Live is so busy with so much activity. The outside patio is a great place to people watch. I was expecting more from this place but the service was sub par and the food was not worth the price. Still a fun atmosphere and the design of the restaurant is beautiful. I would go to another Katsuya instead of this location.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KKrisC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Big place --- Very Small Portions”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

Had a quick dinner here on a Sunday night. When we arrived near 7:00 PM the restaurant was almost empty. Since we did not have reservation, we were seated in the lounge type patio. It was a warm night, so even with only half the heaters on it was comfortable. My husband and son ordered various items, including the Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeño and the sashimi platter. I ordered the Kobe Beef rib eye with mushrooms and tempura vegetables. The food was good, but the portions were small, even compared to similar restaurants. Inside the restaurant the tables were packed so close together that it was difficult to walk to the restrooms. But the noise level was something else. We were glad we were seated outside. I for one would not return to this restaurant at LA Live.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Up4aTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsuya - LA Live also viewed

 

Been to Katsuya - LA Live? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing