We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beatles Fans, this is it!!”
Review of The Grammy Museum

The Grammy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus Tour
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
More Info
$99.00*
and up
Malibu Stars' Homes Tour and 48-hour Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus
Ranked #33 of 564 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Issaquah, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beatles Fans, this is it!!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Held a work conference at the GRAMMY Museum, I didn't know it existed until this event.

This is a great place, wonderful Beatles memorabilia, with the area I looked through focused on Ringo Starr. Amazing bits of historical Beatles stuff, postcards, tickets stubs, photos, costumes and drum sets, which I believe are the original.

Don't do what I did, and that is rush through this place, take your time, really absorb it. You will like it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank km24800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    254
    75
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“INTERESTING AND EDUCATIONAL BUT LACKING "WOW'”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Caught the temporary Ringo Starr exhibit on its last day and enjoyed a vivid walk down memory lane but didn't find much else to excite me enough to want to deal with the hassles of traffic and parking plus expense to get there. There were lots of technical, hands-on exhibits--several of which weren't working and some areas had too many sound tracks running in close proximity which made for an auditory nightmare. Teen boys seemed to enjoy "playing" the various instruments--so much that it was impossible for anyone else to have a go. The shop had nothing unique or even desirable and all of it over-priced. The Jenny Rivera tribute area was quite popular with the Latin visitors and it was fascinating to see several iconic MJ jackets up close as the workmanship was amazing. I had bought a membership online before I went thinking I might like to go back but unless they have a really interesting special exhibit I'd rather spend my time and $$ re-visiting the permanent collections at one of the Gettys.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank zildana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fun time for music lovers--and educational, too”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We're Beatles fans who visited in order to see the Ringo Starr exhibit on the second floor, one of the rotating non-permanent exhibits. There was enough to see and experience that we could have spent much more time there. Music videos, costume and drum set displays, and lots of interactive experiences. We could play the drums, record our voices singing along to "Yellow Submarine," put on earphones and mix sound, or just sit on a couch and watch the Beatles on the Ed Sullivan show on a TV set--not to mention shopping at a gift-shop area. We also enjoyed the third floor, where there was a history of sound exhibit, featuring a miniature gramophone that we could record our voices on, many more costume exhibits, and a chance to play the bongos and steel-drums.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GrandmaSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, MA
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Enjoyed seeing the evolution of music through the years. Loved the costumes and the way it is set up.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank plymouthtraveler10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Head to Cleveland, if you can”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Maybe it's not fair to compare the Grammy Museum to the Rock and Roll hall of Fame. Certainly, if you have never been to Cleveland, heading to the Grammy Museum is nice. Very touching was the behind-the-scenes film about the Grammy Show that aired after Whitney Houston's death. It brought a tear to everyone's eyes.
There are some cool things there as well. The evolution of the Grammy award is interesting as you can see the changes to the award.
On the other hand, The Rock and Roll hall of Fame is the place to visit. I can't say enough good things about the size and displays at the HOF.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank CBrozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grammy Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Grammy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing