We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice collection of memorabilia”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Grammy Museum

The Grammy Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Los Angeles Hop-on Hop-off Double Decker Bus Tour
Ranked #32 of 542 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice collection of memorabilia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

Educational, reflective and fun! The museum covers four floors filled with memorabila from every genre of music. Exhibits are very well laid out and really take you on a stroll down memory lane. The highlight for me was the Whitney Houston exhibit (which is temporary). There is also a theater within the museum, but the temperature within the theater was sooooo cold that I walked in and immediately walked out, so had to mss the showing. Otherwise a good museum and I highly recommend it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rajj976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    343
    238
    69
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
118 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

Many memories , great history, great music. This museum needs several hours to really get the historical appreciation of music from several generations. We traveled with our 2-13 year olds and had lots of fun. We also returned later in the day for a program with Daniel Bennington in the Davis auditorium....it was great with talking, singing and dancing...could have stayed for more but the program needed to end...it was already one hour overtime. Make an effort to visit this museum if you have enjoyed music in your life.

Grammy Sharon

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank grammysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“It ROCKED”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Tons to learn and see- cool interactive exhibits! Really liked being able to try and play the instruments. TIP- check which exhibit is showing, will make a huge difference if you like that artist.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SkynSea4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ok, and worth a look if downtown”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

I wouldn't make a trip downtown just to see the museum, it is really kind of small considering the years of the Grammy's and it takes up 4 flours. There are some good exhibits and it tries to showcase many genres of music, but I did not walk away with a sense of the history of the Grammy's like I expected I would.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jbradly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best kept secret...Must do if staying at LA Live!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I had read other positive reviews for this museum, so when I checked into the LA Live JW Marriott with a hungry 9 yr old boy just 1 hour from closing...I went ahead and bought 2 tickets and entered!

It was mid July and the museum had a special exhibit on rock and heavy metal. Being a single dad who was raised in the 80s...and has influenced my son...this was perfect!

But the museum is so much more than that. It is very much a multi-media experience. There are sound booths for singing, interactive instruments, wardrobes, album covers, and of course the most memorable scenes from Grammy's!

I wish we had had another hour! If your anywhere near downtown this is a must do!

Helpful?
1 Thank bherrmann72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grammy Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Grammy Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing