We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel - Terrifying Area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Burbank Airport Inn
Ranked #87 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2012

If you are squeamish at all about your safety, I would find a different area to stay in. This hotel was first rate and the staff was very nice. I loved the hotel and feared for my car the entire stay, since the area around it is way seedy and run down. This is not the "Hollywood" of the silver screen, it is the one from police blotters.

Room Tip: No pool, no restaurant, no Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChilliShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 453 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

Let's face it, you don't come here for the area ambiance, but it is certainly convenient to the airport. As you reach your room you will find wide hallways, clean carpeting, pleasant decor and, likewise, once you enter your room you will find the same. It's clean, the beds are very comfy pillow tops with nice, puffy duvet covers and plenty of pillows. We were only here for one night, arriving late and needing to leave early. The gentleman at the front desk informed us breakfast was available at 6:15AM and he said if we needed it earlier (which we did) just to call him in the AM and he would open up the breakfast room so we could at least have some coffee, juice and cereal before we departed. That was SO nice of him to do!! The wireless worked fine. Parking will likely mean you need to leave your key at the front desk because most spots are 2 deep. Perfectly fine motel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CoastalFantaseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

The inside of the room was a treat given the exterior and location. Bathroom was huge and nicely appointed, wish I had time to take advantage of it. Very nicely furnished, if not a little tight but was only staying overnight for flight out. The wireless worked very well for all devices. Avoid rooms on 3rd floor where breakfast is as it was noisy. Parking is very small and you will have to hand over your keys if you aren't lucky enough to get a single parking spot. They double and triple park everyone and the front desk moves the cars around. They have a big pigeon problem and have the spikes all over the place, but my room was missing some and there were three birds nesting outside the window which was very noisy and not a pleasant noise. Someone had removed the screen from the window and was trying to the block where the pigeons were nesting but it didn't help. The location is on a busy street and there was a lot of activity. Not sure if it is the best area to be in. It was easy to get to the airport which was my main goal as I had an early morning flight and the price was very good given everything else.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank balloonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

In my opinion this is a great place. Some people are not going to like it because of the location though. It was clean, spacious, quiet. The desk clerks were nice & helpful. The breakfast in the morning was your typical motel fair but good. The parking is the only weird thing. There are not enough spaces so you sometimes have to 'double up' cars in one long space. It was not the end of the world but just know that. Also, the neighborhood is not the highest class but I felt safe there. Just a place with lots of blue collar businesses (garages, mercados, etc.) around it. It's easy to find and easy access to the highway. Treat this nice place as your base camp for exploring LA. It's not a luxury hotel so just get some rest here and get out & explore.

Room Tip: Whatever you do ask to be place away from the elevator & breakfast room on the third floor. I di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruellaDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We needed a room for just one night for our visit to Universal Studios and scored an excellent nightly rate on Priceline. Nearly every other reviewer has covered the bases. The location is good if you are thinking about being close to Universal. There is nothing around it except for the market and 7-11 across the street, both featuring homeless in the area. Not a real problem if you are looking for a decent night stay.

The rooms are actually pretty nice. Everything worked well. Good flat panel TV, comfortable bed, separate sink from shower and ample space. No pool, hot tub or restaurant on site. Workout room is 3 machines. Short summary; in any other neighborhood, this hotel would be 3.5 stars. It worked well for us at the price.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank JTL61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

I was looking for a place to stay near Universal Studios for 3 nights. Like Lostn Transit I didn't want to spend $180 a night plus $18 for parking at the hotel near Universal Studios so I decided to stay at this Best Western. My wife, my two kids, and I had a car so I didn't mind staying at this location, and we weren't going to stay out too late anyway. The hotel is in an industrial part of town as the reviewers say. I personally didn't think the location was as bad that some people made it out to be. Anyway, to get into the rooms of the hotel you would have to walk by the lobby/front desk. It's not a motel where you just park outside and walk to your door. Parking is inside and underneath the hotel and from there you walk to the lobby to get to all rooms.

The rooms are clean and the beds are decent. This place is probably at most 2 years old so everything looks fairly new (except for the worn towels). Instead of curtains, they have shutters. There is a minifridge, microwave, AC/fan, and 27" flat screen TV. The complimentary breakfast was decent. It had the basic danishes, bread, muffins, hard boiled eggs or scrambled eggs, cereal, oatmeal, and OJ. Also you can make your own waffles but there might be a line for that.

One of the complaints I had was that the shower head was one of those low flow ones, so you can't take a super quick shower. However, probably because of the low flows, there is always super hot water even during the morning rush (which even at nicer hotels is problematic). I also thought that the small hair dryer was a little weaker than the normal small hairdryers found at these hotels. Parking can be a problem but I was lucky to park on the side where you are not blocked for 2 nights. The other night I parked on the doubles side where you can get blocked. I did get blocked but in the morning the front desk person was able to move the truck out for me to get out. (You have to leave your key at the front desk if you are parking on the doubles side and are on the outside blocking some other vehicle).

Universal Studios is about a 20-25 minute drive. Hollywood is probably another 10 minutes away. There is a Ralph's and CVS which is about a 2 minute drive. I wouldn't stay here without a car. I didn't see the buses at all so the wait is probably quite long.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PTO-Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

If this hotel were anywhere else it'd be double the price. It is in North Hollywood and smack in the middle of a hard working class hispanic neighborhood. I moved my daughter to her apartment that is 1/4 mile away from the property. The neighborhood isnt bad, just different than what one might expect a hotel to be in. Walking around out front at midnight on a weekend night isnt recommended. Yes the hotel could use security but the rooms are clean, the bed was comfortable and I got a good nights sleep. When the kids were little I would not have stayed there. Alone, I was fine and very comfortable. The breakfast is the traditional american free hotel breakfast. Coffee, cereal and breads and juice. Nothing close by to eat really, burgers, donuts, sushi etc..etc.. Nothing worth mentioning. Just an average, clean inexpensive hotel. Only real negative was the cold uncaring attitude of the front desk staff.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms on the west side (opposite Lankershim blvd.) Pigeons outside the windows can get an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V_LFAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
South San Fernando Valley
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
Best Western Plus Carriage Inn
#40 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,165 reviews
North Hollywood
Holiday Inn Express North Hollywood - Burbank Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Hollywood
Super 8 North Hollywood
Super 8 North Hollywood
#216 of 353 in Los Angeles
222 reviews
North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
Colony Inn North Hollywood
#99 of 353 in Los Angeles
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Burbank Airport Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Burbank Airport Inn

Address: 7615 Lankershim Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 91605-2814
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > North Hollywood , South San Fernando Valley , Universal City Area
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Best Value Hotel in Los Angeles
#54 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#69 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $131 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Burbank Airport Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Burbank Airport Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Burbank Airport Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing