We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WoW Really?!”
Review of Mofongos

Mofongos
Ranked #1,106 of 10,087 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Price range: $0 - $8
Cuisines: Caribbean, Cuban, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighborhood: South San Fernando Valley
Description: Mofongos Restaurant is the only place that serves a full Puerto Rican menu in Los Angeles County. Our goal is to provide affordable, authentic food with fast service and a great atmosphere. We are located in the NoHo Arts District and we strive to provide an eclectic, artistic, yet traditional Puerto Rican experience. We serve Puerto Rican cuisine specialties such as Mofongo, Tostones, Pernil, Alcapurrias, Tembleque, and many more!
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WoW Really?!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The problem with this place is lack of Management! I came here to eat on Mothers Day and my gawd I thought this would be some good puerto rican cuisine, but NO DICE. I made a reservation for 7pm and arrived at 6:45pm and was told to wait outside because they needed to clear a table. Thats fine considering the place is tiny, however we were not the only ones waiting outside. Then a group of people walked into the restaurant and sat at a table that was just cleaned and a diffrent waitress attended them without even checking the other parties outside. WHERE IS THE COMMUNICATION! The first waitress then walks out and apologizes but does nothing we endup waiting till 7:30 to be seated. Once Seated we place our orders... We ordered 4 papa rellenas to start and unfortunately they hadnt realized they ran out so instead of informing us they just brought out one papa out on a plate as if we forgot how many we ordered. Really... the food tasted as if everything was old... did not capture flavor or authenticity. My family is from Puerto Rico and this was down right ridiculous... Maybe you guys just had a bad night or a one off, but good gawd I will not recommend this place to anyone! Mama Fina in bellflower, and Senor Big Ed's in Cypress is head and shoulders above Mofongos! To top it all off the dessert we ordered was the Tres Leches cake and the bottom was so dry that it was hard to break through even with a knife!!! It looked as though they forgot two leches! SMH

ERIC S.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torrance, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just like Mom's Food Puerto Rican Cooking”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is one of the BEST Puerto Rican resturants I've been to. It's a small place but the food is wonderful. The prices are reasonable for what you get.

i recommend the "De Todo un Poco Platter" it Includes one pork pastel, one beef alcapúrria,
one beef and one chicken pastelillo, and four relleno de papa, this in itself is a meal.

http://mofongosrestaurant.com/menu.html

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BoricuaQB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Local taste of Miami”
Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We first had mofongo in Miami..so when a a coupon came up through Living Social that featured mofongo here locally, you know I had to buy it! It's a tiny restaurant ...13 tables with a very low key atmosphere. We came around 3pm and it was already packed...and it stayed packed until we left at 5:30! That totally says something. The Mofongo did not disappoint! I had the skirt steak with the churrasco sauce mofongo...WOW! All plates were left clean! My son wanted seconds on the tres leches cake! If a coupon ever comes up again, will definitively purchase! The service was outstanding..refills on drinks were automatic and our server continually wiped down tables when they were available. Overall, a great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CookingMama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The only Puerto Rican restaurant in Los Angeles!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you've never tried Puerto Rican food, you should try this place - it's not Cuban, but you'll find some similarities, since they're both Caribbean. The maduros and tostones (sweet ripe and green bananas) are both wonderful. The churrasco is skirt steak, and luscious. Mofongo (the name of the restaurant) is also a banana based dish. The restaurant has recently expanded, and now the tiny restaurant is just - small. It's not in a fashionable area of the San Fernando Valley, and I would say that they could benefit from some sound baffling on the ceiling so the room isn't so "live", but you'll love the food!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank eurovicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Puerto Rican Food”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Mofongos Comida Caribena is LA's best Puerto Rican food. In fact, this is probably the ONLY Puerto Rican restaurant in LA. Scrawny place, but with a chef who learned from his grandma and really understands Puerto Rican flavors.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eshelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mofongos also viewed

 

Been to Mofongos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing