We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trylon Hotel
Ranked #6 of 90 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ludhiana, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this hotel for 5 days in November 2013. Its perfectly located near to Hollywood / sunset boulevard, walk of fame. Universal studio is just 2 stops away from Hollywood Vine metro station. 2 subways stations (Hollywood vine and Highland) are nearby, so no issues of commuting. Bus stop just few steps away. You cant beat its location.

This is a family run hotel so everything was attended on priority basis, 24/7 and all the members of the family very highly helpful and they gave personalized service to all guest. Specially, Mr. Kishore and Mr. Devang were greatly helpful in giving tourist friendly advise regarding the city tours and other daily issues. I felt very safe through out my stay in this hotel.

The rooms are clean and tidy with most of the amenities one expect in a room. The bed was comfortable. Wifi signal was excellent throughout my stay.

7/11 and 'Subway' is just across the street. And also a supermarket called Yucca supermarket just around the corner. 24 hrs CVS pharmacy is in view shot. I could see the Hollywood sign walking few steps away from the hotel. The streets around the hotel are safe to walk even at late nights.

I had a wonderful experience staying in this hotel. I would say this hotel is real VFM (value for money) and look forward to stay in it again on my future visit to Hollywood, LA.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arayman22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    175
    78
    21
    18
See reviews for
59
255
92
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2013

great place, great location and excellent service. Everyone was helpful and pleasant. I highly recommend this place to everyone. I spent 6 nights here and whenever i come back to LA i will come back for sure at Trylon hotel

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacopo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Upon arriving at the Trylon I was not expecting much. Family owned and operated and great service all around, they were very accommodating and made sure every day that I was happy with the room. I stayed for 3 weeks on a business trip. Clean beds and rooms, parking less than a block away and super close to all the Hollywood attractions. Free wi-fi, laundry on site, decent bed, smoking and non smoking rooms, fridge, coffee, iron and board and hot water. Really the service was much better than my expectations.

Room Tip: Ask about the new rooms they are building. The new rooms look so much nicer and updated with hard wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Justin0727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We were pleased with the location for all sights. The owners were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and the beds comfortable.Would recommend this place for anyone spending one or two nights in LA. Fantastic cafe across the road too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank mattvinyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I am not sure about the other fantastic reviews. Hear are some facts.
It's close to Hollywood boulevard and a great location
It smells
It's outdated and shabby
The room was spotlessly clean
The bedding is old as is the iron, the hair dryer, the fridge and the coffee machine
The bed is so uncomfortable
The pillows are old, stained and flat
I didn't find the staff overly helpful or nice, rather uninterested if I'm honest!
Don't pay $10 per night for parking you can park in the same place for $5
Whilst we coped with this I would not return to the Trylon ever.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenlewis0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Stayed for three nights in October and had a great time. The rooms were clean and so was the bathroom.

It is close to hollywood blvd and the Universal Studios and easily accessible.

The parking is 10$ a day and is only 1 block away from the hotel.

If you are travelling on a budget it is a great option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKim86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel was a bit of an unknown quantity - excellent TripAdvisor, terrible Yelp. Nonetheless, I gave it a shot as I needed a one night layover in LA and didn't want to have to stay in an airport hotel. The main reason I chose was price - at around 80 dollars a night it was significantly below any of the other hotels in any of the areas of LA you'd actually want to stay in.

In fact the location of this hotel is (aside of course from the price) its biggest asset. It's two large-ish blocks away from Hollywood boulevard and from there you can connect to the bus/metro network to go anywhere in LA. Also in the surrounding area are plenty of amenities (CVS, Seven Eleven, Starbucks etc.) and a whole host of interesting places to go for food and drinks. For all of these head in the Hollywood Blvd direction. Also - if you're interested, at the traffic lights next to the hotel there's a great view of the Hollywood sign ;) For those concerned with safety of the area - it seemed fine to me. There are certainly some shady characters about but no more so than almost any other area of LA!

I wasn't there long enough to experience the service in any great detail - but I agree with other reviewers' comments - it seems to be a family run affair where they live in the building and all seem to be perfectly friendly and willing to help. Aside from that the amenities were as expected from a budget hotel - basic tea and coffee in the room and the mandatory free wi-fi (take note more expensive hotels!), which was fast and stable.

The room itself was small by US standards but perfectly acceptable by European standards. The small bathroom with shower and bath served all my needs without problem. Cleanliness was definitely good and everything looked freshly washed and cleaned. That said, there were some marks in the bathroom and I noticed one live and one dead fly. I wouldn't say it was any indication of bad cleanliness but would rather not have seen it at all! The bed was reasonably comfortable and the air conditioner was effective but very loud. Views out the windows were nothing special - onto the back of the hotel in my case which seem to be a car repair yard. I will mention something that other reviewers have picked up on - there is a pervasive smell in the corridors and the rooms. It's not exactly unpleasant but it's certainly intrusive and may well annoy some - certainly something I'd rather not deal with although for one night it was bearable.

So all in all - a bargain for the price and a solid bet for a one or two night stay for one. If you're in LA for longer though then perhaps it might be worth paying a little more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ECTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#3 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#21 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,454 reviews
Central L.A
Magic Castle Hotel
Magic Castle Hotel
#2 of 351 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Property: Trylon Hotel
Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Trylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing