We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and great value for money”
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trylon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 91 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Location, location and great value for money”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Absolutely no complaints for a budget hotel. Quiet, clean room, comfortable bed, hot water and everything worked. Non-smoking rooms available.True value for money. Friendly, helpful staff in family run hotel. Don't offer breakfast but convenience store and a couple of nice eating places close by. Best of all, only 15 minutes walk to the Chinese and Dolby Theatres on Hollywood Boulevard, and hub of Starlight Tours which offer value for money tours round LA.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    175
    80
    21
    20
See reviews for
61
262
93
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Trylon hotel was everything I looked for and more: low price, close to the touristic attractions (5 minutes walk from the Chinese or Dolby theaters), safe and quiet neighboorhood (yes, despite the proximity to the vivid Hollywood blvd), and fantastic staff, friendly and attentive. I got very good recommendations for getting around and shopping, thank you, Devang!
I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Tip for smokers: there is a room for you ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 618DianaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Whilst we were in LA, visiting from Melbourne, Australia, we looked for a Hotel near Hollywood Blvd & are glad we chose Trylon. From the time we checked they made us feel comfortable. Trylon is a family owned hotel & they are friendly & always ready to offer advice & make you feel at home. The rooms are clean & the beds comfortable.
The best part about staying at Trylon is that it very well located - just 5 minutes walk to Hollywood Bollywood, with good restaurants & amenities just a stone throws away.
Great Value for money & I would definitely recommend this hotel for families too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nunes-Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great location, Amazing price and friendly owners!!! This hotel is very good located next to the Hollywood Boulevard and the amazing Griffith Park. There are supermarket and restaurant around hotel. The rooms are small but clean. The staff are very nice people and very helpful. They will answer you all kinds of question and help you to order shuttle bus or taxi with reasonable price. This is really a awesome hotel. We really enjoyed our stay at the Trylon Hotel and in Los Angeles!.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LIN Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

close to Hollywood blvd, close to all activities. Hotel running under one family control, they are very nice people and very helpful. In all question can ask at front desk. The rooms are small but clean and arrange in good manor!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexpuil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is very good located next to the Hollywood Boulevard and the amazing Griffith Park. Also the Universial Studios or the Warner Brothers Studios are next to it. The room is quit small but very clean, very well furnished and the staff always want the best for you. We really enjoyed our stay at the Trylon hotel and in Los Angeles!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DieMali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

If you read any of the other reviews I've done on Tripadvisor you'll notice that I'm not a partiularly harsh critic but I have to say the exceptional rating on this hotel shocked me. Even at my age (I'm 36) I'm very fond of staying in hostels and other budget accommodation but this hotel would struggle to live up to most that I've stayed in. Okay so on the plus side it's reasonably priced and in a very good location. The room was small, poorly decorated and dated. The bathroom was likewise - poorly finished and musty. We stayed for 3 nights and when we asked to get the sheets and towels changed after 2 nights we were met with a look of shock! FInally as we left our host repeatedly told us to go on to Tripadvisor that day and give him a high rating. Repeating it as we walked down the steps away from the property. I can only assume that other guests have been badgered into high reviews rather than leaving their true thoughts as they left the property.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Johnny_Hellzapoppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,596 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,870 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#28 of 351 in Los Angeles
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,131 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#20 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Property: Trylon Hotel
Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing