We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, very central to Hollywood Blvd.”
Review of Trylon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Trylon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 90 Los Angeles B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Average hotel, very central to Hollywood Blvd.”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

This hotel is cheap and you get what you pay for, if you want to stay in a budget hotel close to Hollywood. The parking space (which costs an additional fee) is a short walk from the hotel and looks a bit suspicious, but it worked fine. Not a very charming neighborhood, but once you get to the Hollywood Blvd it gets a lot better. Free wi-fi worked well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling on a budget and doesn't expect luxurious sorroudings.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariFax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    175
    79
    21
    18
See reviews for
59
256
92
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2012

I'd reccomend this hotel to anyone who is on a nudget and wants to see the best of LA. Very close to the walk of fame, Kodak Theatre , Chniese Theatre and even UNiversal studios. The owner is a very nice and a warm gentleman who makes sure you comfortable as soon as you reach. The rooms are clean and perfect for a budget traveller. I'd pick this place for its great location and price!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyAbhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trylonhotel, Owner at Trylon Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Hello Abhishek
Thank you very much for taking your time to give a very nice review we appreciate it look forward to see you again.
Best reagards
Devang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

This was my second stay at the Trylon and it did not disappoint me at all. Somehow I got the same room as my last stay room 204. The owner gave me a table for my computer as this was my only complaint about the hotel on my last stay. What I like most about this hotel is that it is quiet & clean. The internet works flawlessly as many Hotels in the Hollywood area have problems with this. For a great price the hotel has a great Decor. The furniture looks like it belongs in a designer magazine & for the price the room has a very large fridge. I would recommend this hotel to all Hollywood travelers as it is a winner!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back of the hotel are very quiet. Not sure about the front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamond6Phoenix_AZ_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trylonhotel, Owner at Trylon Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Hello Gregg
You have done it again my friend your awesome review have inspired us again to do and keep
doing what we do for our guests and and it's a privalage to be hospitable to people like
yourself and other guest like you . Defenately look forward to see you again and again.
Thank you very very much
Devang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

General: Best for a few nights stay, in a medium-priced, average motel close to Hollywood Boulevard. We stayed six nights for an average of $108/night (10% state tax included), in a Queen bed room.

What’s good: Our room seemed recently renovated a little, with timber laminate flooring, but with an original (80’s?) bathroom. The motel is a few easy blocks walk to Hollywood Boulevard, and around six (large) blocks walk to the Vine Hollywood subway station.

We stayed six nights and our room on ground floor was very small, but had a mini fridge, small coffee machine and fold-out chair and table (you can’t move much in the room when they’re up). Flatscreen tv. There’s a communal microwave in the laundry, and a drink (soda) machine in the lobby.

The motel is run by an Indian family living on-site and if you’re uncomfortable with strong Indian cooking smells, this may not suit. Family ownership means a more genuine desire to please, and more personalised attention and service. As a result, don’t expect an auto-response, formatted email confirming all your stay details if you book on their website. If you’re the type of person who likes this information before you arrive, probably best to contact the motel by email with a polite confirmation request.

Cleanliness was reasonable. We didn’t encounter any bed bug problems, and there were none recorded for this place at the time we stayed on the web registry.

If you don’t mind white noise, the air-con works well and drowns out traffic noise (so does closing the window). We found the room fairly quiet, with limited, noisy hallway traffic.

Free wifi was average.

Minor annoyances: Our room was right next to the hotel’s internal laundry room, and after a very long flight and jet lag our first day, we encountered significant vibration and noise from a washing machine as our bed was against the laundry wall. Most mornings this wasn’t a problem, as we were awake when the laundry generally started around 9am.

Towels were the standard hankerchief size/crunchy style, and were sometimes a little worn through. We also found the sheets a little too short for the bed and they untucked themselves overnight. Bed comfort was just average, with quite flat pillows.

Frequent travellers across North American may find it unusual that breakfast is not included in the rate, nor is there an option for it to be provided here. We’ve found it typical that popular tourist places like LA, New York, San Fran & Miami do not include breakfast in the more budget range of motels.

Room rates on the motels’ direct website change regularly. We found prices increased as we went to book, although the motel wasn’t particularly busy when we stayed.

Nearby: There’s a grocery store and Subway (sandwhich store) on Yucca Street, around three blocks away (good for breakfast cereal, canned soup and frozen dinners if you want to keep meal costs down). Diagonally across the road is the Solar De Cahuenga Café – strong, free wifi, and excellent coffees and café-style meals. There’s a few (mostly harmless) homeless people in the area, and we felt safe walking around up to around 9:30pm.

For something unusual/different: Check out the décor of the Hollywood Vine Subway station.

Transport: LA is definitely a car city, but we were able to get around including to downtown LA, Venice Beach & Santa Monica Pier, the J Paul Getty Museum, and the Griffith Observatory all on a combination of local buses and the subway. Sometimes it took several hours and several bus changes, but it is do-able. We caught the airport shuttle ($7.50 p/p, each way) to central subway station, with 2 subway changes to Vine Station, Hollywood (Green line/Orange Line). Those on more limited time schedules might find it preferable to rent a car to get around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here 4 nights while searching for apartments within the Hollywood Area. Devan and his father are incredibly hospitable and the rooms are clean and well-maintained. The internet connection is fast and the hotel also offers secured parking down the street for $10 a day. Offers cable TV, good heating/AC, and a mini-fridge. Be sure to ask the family for the best Indian food recommendations in town.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back of the hotel are quieter (i.e. Room 211)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Englishsoccer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trylonhotel, Owner at Trylon Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Hello Danny

Thank you very much for giving us a cool review you and mandy are most welcome in our Hotel
we look forward to see you.
Thank you very much

Devang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and this hotel was beyond my expectations! The staff are VERY serviceminded, and more than happy to help you with whatever you need 24/7! This is a family business, and the family lives here and can help you anytime. The excellent price for this hotel is the same as you would have to pay for cheap and old motels in the same area! The location of the hotel is perfect in Hollywood, 3 minutes walk to "The Hollywood walk of fame", and there is a great restaurant on the other side of the road where we ate excellent breakfast and lunsj! The bus stops right in front of the hotel, and the rooms was very nice and CLEAN! We got new towells, sheets and soaps every day, and there was air-condition, a fridge and coffe-maker in our room. The staff helps you with transportation and will help you book your tours and trips. I will definetely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cecilie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trylonhotel, Owner at Trylon Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Hello beautiful lady

You have given us so amazing review with such detailed about our Hotel and us we just want to
thank you from bottom of our heart and can't wait to have you both in our Hotel so we can be just as hospitable as the first time best wishes see you soon.

Thank you very very much

Devang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 24, 2012

I've stayed in both a double room and a single room, both were great! Clean, well maintained and a good size. Bed's were comfortable and there was a great TV, heater and fridge. Excellent location and nice area. Very close walk to the walk of fame and also busses right near the hotel. The manager was extremely helpful and friendly and I would reccommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrevi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trylonhotel, Owner at Trylon Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
Hello Marnee
We just want to thank you from bottom of our heart what a wonderful review also very precise
our family ansolutely appreciate you and your family staying in our Hotel and posting an amazing review we look forward to have you and your family in our Hotel matter effect appreciate both of your reviews it'll be pleasure to see you again.
Best wishes
Devang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#14 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,826 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#17 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,507 reviews
Hollywood
Hollywood Orchid Suites
Hollywood Orchid Suites
#4 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#25 of 351 in Los Angeles
372 reviews
Central L.A
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Hollywood Hotel Walk of Fame
Hollywood
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
Hollywood Celebrity Hotel
#22 of 351 in Los Angeles
2,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Hotel

Property: Trylon Hotel
Address: 6515 Franklin Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90028-4909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood , Central L.A
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 90 B&Bs / Inns in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Trylon Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trylon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing