We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great hotel in the making”
Review of Hotel Normandie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Normandie
Ranked #19 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2013

I was a little skeptical given the location and newness of the Hotel Normandie, but that all changed the second I walked into the lobby and experienced a warm greeting from the desk staff. This is a gorgeous historic renovation that is being renewed with obvious painstaking details. Work is still underway; food and beverage services are slated to come online within the next few months. But my room was completely renovated with tasteful style and comfort. I slept like a baby in the new bed. My room was positioned with an interior view and was completely quiet. Housekeeping was top-notch and the staff couldn't have been nicer! I look forward to returning next biz trip to LA! (And the offbeat KoreaTown location is actually very convenient -- I was minutes to both West Hollywood and downtown's Staples Center / LA Live area.)

Room Tip: The spacious suites are worth the upgrade!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JoeFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (633)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Normandie
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

556 - 562 of 633 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here in AUG2012 and they were undergoing renovations. The entrance is awesome, you can see the character from the earlier days and they are keep the theme which is great. I can see 1920s weddings and events being held here once they are complete. The rooms are basic as well, this is not your fancy modern day hotel, this is your classic style hotel with a bed and a bathroom. I liked the location and it was close to other events I had to attend. I can see myself staying here again when I need that escape from the hustle and bustle of tech overwhelming. The staff was nice and rates were cheap. Good to see they are keeping this place in style with the original!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Buzz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke K, Manager at Hotel Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for the review. We hope you get to return to us soon, because we have made many changes since your stay in August of 2012, and continue our renovation efforts to provide a fantastic hotel to our guests.

Come back soon!

Sincerely:

Hotel Normandie LA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Got this hotel on Priceline. Great price. Just a few miles from downtown. Nicely renovated. Rooms are like new. Great bed and bedding. Nice flat screen tv. Free wifi.

Many Korean restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke K, Manager at Hotel Normandie, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for writing us a review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the hotel and the neighborhood.

Look out in the future, because we are still finishing our renovations that will include our own restaurants, lounges and event space!

We hope you can stay with us again in the near future!

Sincerely:

Hotel Normandie LA Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We had a bad experience at another hotel in the area and had to switch in the middle of our trip and ended up here. Great choice!! THE STAFF IS SO NICE AND FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL!! This hotel is so clean & adorable. LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank missshawnna44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a fabulous hotel - still going through renovations but no disruption or noise. Soon to be dining and bar apparently. Everything is fresh and new in the rooms, lovely bed and pillows. I've stayed in 2 different rooms (standard) and although one was small and perfectly adequate for one or two nights, because I was staying here 5 nights, they moved me to a larger room. Fantastic staff, very helpful and I feel very welcome here. As we will be regular visitors to LA, I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. Lots of restaurants nearby and feel safe on my own. Oh - and the wall plugs have USB sockets.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MilfordNSKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I recently stayed the night here with my daughter and our dog. I gotta say, it was great!

Pros:

* Hardwood floors were great for pets
* My daughter loved that there were 2 types of pillows on the bed, one firm, one soft
* Shower water pressure was AMAZING! Towels were very soft
* Front desk suggested us to go to the Boiling Crab right down the street and it was EXCELLENT! Great recommendation and so nice that it was walking distance.
* Valet service was quick and friendly. At first the price caught me off guard of $28.00 a night, but it was such a good service, that I didn't mind paying for it in the end.

Cons:

* Draperies were difficult to close. We had some light streaming in, because we had difficulty closing them. They were very heavy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I stayed here last week. This hotel is really beautiful. The decor in the lobby and rooms is lovely, comfortable and inviting. The bed was so nice!

This hotel recently went through a huge restoration, which it looks like they are just wrapping up. You can tell they took great care to create a beautiful hotel, and the plans for restaurants sound awesome, I can't wait to go back!

All in all, I would definitely stay here again on my next trip. I'm really impressed.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank paczki2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#34 of 352 in Los Angeles
963 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Hollywood
Hollywood Hotel
Hollywood Hotel
#50 of 352 in Los Angeles
2,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
The L.A. Hotel Downtown
#33 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,163 reviews
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 352 in Los Angeles
750 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 352 in Los Angeles
1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Normandie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Normandie

Address: 605 S Normandie Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90005-2621
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 352 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $182 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Normandie 3.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Normandie is an historic, boutique hotel. The property is a cultural landmark in the city of LA, in the Renaissance Revival style. Built by Walker & Eisen in the mid 1920s. With training as preservationists, and with commitment to the community in the style of the 'New Urbanism' movement, the team has lovingly restored a rare piece of LA history for guests, for neighbors and for the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Normandie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing