We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day of little substance”
Review of LA City Tours

LA City Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$79.00*
and up
6-Hour Los Angeles City Tour
More Info
$65.00*
and up
Hollywood Grand City Tour
More Info
$49.00*
and up
Hollywood Celebrity and Stars' Homes Tour
Ranked #29 of 252 Tours in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join Los Angeles' most experienced and acclaimed tour guides as we take you on a sweeping, thrill packed tour of the Entertainment Capital of the World! Sample the rich history, diverse culture, sun-drenched beaches and pulsating movie tempos of Los Angeles. With a movie star on every corner, and surprises galore awaiting you, LA City Tours has packaged the most popular and requested sites throughout the vast experience known as the City of Angels.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Cronulla
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Day of little substance”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We did the full day tour. Spent the entire day listening to the tour guide saying 'look out your left window - look out your right window' etc etc. Problem was, if you were on the left side of the bus you couldnt see over/around the people on the right side of the bus and visa versa - so couldnt really see much at all. Lots of time spent in the bus - which is understandable - but not overly comfortable. The guide was a lovely young man - but not overly good at commentary. He spent a lot of time 'name dropping' and a lot of the names we had never heard of - so then he wouldn't be bothered telling you much more about the person?? Visiting the Hollywood homes of the rich and famous is just a waste of time - most have high fences and tall trees - you aren't really looking at much. It would be a nice touch if the guide exited the bus at the diferent stops and maybe offered to take photos for you - eg at the Hollywood sign. Unfortunately didn't feel this was value for money.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RobynCronulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    212
    101
    48
    59
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boras, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you want to see it all without driving yourself”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Took this sight seeing trip because I knew we wouldn't relax driving ourselves through the city. It was really comprehensive and totally affordable. If you want a glimpse of everything and have limited time and budget this is a great choice. The bus could have been neater but the tour guide was hilarious!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank feliceandersson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Best Tour Ever!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Do you want to see the most of LA in a short time? Then take the outstanding LA City Tour of Stars' Homes & the Hollywood Sign, a fun-filled 2 1/2 hours that spanned Hollywood, the heights of LA down to the canyon, Beverly Hills, Rodeo Drive, and Sunset Strip. Ask for the tour guide John, whose wit and knowledge of the stars and the area's unique lifestyle made the tour memorable. No canned speeches or dry facts from him, thank you so very much!

Furthermore, we had the best view from our open roof van on that warm sunny day. It was fascinating to see everything from the expensive homes that seemed to teeter on stilts adjacent to recent landslides, contrasted with the more traditional mansions on the tree lined streets of Beverly Hills. Our guide provided an interactive experience that spanned the generations, so I saw the homes and heard interesting tidbits about stars like Marilyn Monroe, George Clooney, Ellen DeGeneres, Katy Perry, and of course, Justin Beiber. This tour was outstanding.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank BethRavensFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lots of time driving around but limited quality attractions”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Whilst you do see quite a few attractions on this tour, we came away with a sense that we had spent most of the day battling traffic and hadn't really learned a great deal about LA. I have to say that the highlight of the day was probably Santa Monica beach and also the Farmers Market which gave you a sample of real life in LA. Unfortunately we only had about 40 mins there and had to grab lunch so didn't get to look around properly.

Our guide didn't really know much about LA, he had only been there a few months and knew more about Santa Barbara so we learned more about that than LA!

The tour around the stars home was pretty pointless - save your money as apart from Marilyn Monroe's house, all you see is a gateway and a long drive which apparently at the end of it lives someone famous! In other words you don't see much at all.

It was ok as a whistle stop tour but pretty pricey.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
444 reviews
222 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Movie Star Homes Tour: Good Way to See Homes, but Pricey”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

I normally wouldn't take a tour like this, but my family had the LA Go Card and it was included, so we decided to go on the tour. The bus was comfortable and air conditioned. Although the open-roof vans operated by other companies provide better views, I would have been burned to a crisp, so I'm glad we were in a bus. Our guide did a nice job of pointing out stars' homes and other places of interest (such as where part of "Pretty Woman" was filmed). Many times he'd say things such as, "We think this is where [so-and-so] lives, but we can't be sure." Not real helpful. He pulled over often to let us take photos and to allow cars to pass. I can imagine that people who live in the area get annoyed by all the gawkers.

The tour took us into the mountains. The view of the surrounding areas were great. We walked around at an overlook and were able to get good shots of the Hollywood sign in the distance. This particular area was crowded with tourists, tour vans, and buses. Our driver/guide was willing to take photos of those of on the tour, which I thought was nice.

The main annoyance was that there were signs prominently posted in the bus nearly coercing people to tip. If I recall accurately, they claimed that good service should be tipped at $5-$7 per person, great service at $10-$15 per person, and excellent service at $20 per person. That was over the top, so I refused to tip at all (which I would have normally done). Most people thanked the driver, but didn't tip. Foreigners probably get taken by this. My recommendation to the owners (and drivers): change the signs to something less offensive and you'll probably get more tips. I think the signs make people angry.

At $40+ for adults' tickets and $30+ for kids' tickets, this is an expensive two-hour excursion. It's in line, though, with what the other companies in Hollywood charge. One final word of advice: go to the bathroom before you depart. The tour office on Hollywood Boulevard has a single restroom, so use it because once you're on the tour there aren't opportunities.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jsctraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LA City Tours also viewed

 

Been to LA City Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing