We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one”
Review of City Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Center Hotel
Ranked #297 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
54 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good one”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

I liked this hotel or more like a motel since there is a parking in the middle what makes it easy to reach the room with your stuff. It was quite clean, easily accessible, well located, possible to walk to downtown, but wifi was only in the lobby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    14
    18
    19
    39
See reviews for
12
26
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel was absolutely disgusting. Not only were there stains EVERYWHERE -- on the floor, on the bed, on the sheets, the "couch" but the sink was falling from the wall. There were holes in the wall, the "chair" they give you to sit on literally looks like it was stolen from a pre-school. The mattress felt like it was over 30 years old and was so lumpy and uncomfortable. Top it off, the smoke detector had been removed from the room. Nice to know that if there was a fire, my last days would be in the Motel from Hell.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JL3003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

This hotel was EXTREMLY unsanitary, the rooms smeld of mildew there was a black sticky substance on the carpet, their version of a "king" sized bed was two twin mattress put together. We found what appeared to be blood stains in the sheets as well as stains, and hair (pubic hair) in our bathing towels. My girlfriend complained to the maid about our towels and the maid went on to say that SHE had spoken to the manager on more then one occasion requesting new towels, but everytime he simply blew her off. The bathroom was absolutely sickening it was blatenly obvious that the bathroom had not been clean for quite some time. The "mirror" in the bathroom was hanging from the light over the sink by some dental floss...yes dental floss...and after it fell to the floor at about 2 something in the morning I noticed there was writting on the wall that read " you look great ". To top it all off there was poop YES POOP ON THE TISSUE...and the customer service was horrendous

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank g1_dt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We booked this motel mainly due to the price and location. We paid $80 per night but we still expected it to be clean. Our bed sheets seemed to be clean however the pillow cases had blood and lipstick on. I dropped my purse on the floor to find that it was filthy under the bed.

Around about 2am til 5 it was so loud and I'm not a particularly light sleeper. No one came to tell them to keep the noise down.

The only possitive thing about this hotel was The friendly staff.

I would not recommend this place to anyone who needs a clean place to sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gls09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

First of all, the website is completely deceiving.... My business partners and I arrived here after a long flight to LA from Washington DC... This was NOT worth the $60 cab right from LAX. We opened the door, closed it, then opened it again thinking it was a bad joke. The decor is terrible, outdated, and didn't match AT ALL. There are holes in the walls, cigarette burns in the "comforters" and the power outlets are painted over so I could hardly plug up my laptop. There are only 3 working outlets in the room actually. The bathroom is small, disgusting.. Mold is in the shower and the sink has soap residue caked on. It looks like they "borrowed" soap and shampoo packets from another hotel. The towels were sloppy and folded in the bathroom, not sure if they are clean or not. No extra roll of toilet paper, and the roll in there was previously used.... The window appeared to have been tampered with, and you have to force close the door.... There are long hairs in all the covers and the pillows are absolutely disgusting, stained, lipstick on the blankets... and the carpet is peeling up from the floor.

STAY AWAY FROM THIS PLACE! The "free WiFi" SUCKS! There are two microwaves OUTSIDE.. like, literally outside on the walkway for you to use... we had to request an iron, and I will NOT be putting that on my clothes.

I understand this is a cheap spot, but there has to be some kind of standard. This is gross, and we weren't able to see the rooms before we paid, just the website pictures and that's NOT what the room looks like.

Room Tip: Stay the heck away from this terrible hotel. Sleep in your car or spend the extra money to stay in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank fromDCtoLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
235 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I rate this motel as "average" only because it is not spiffy or super-deluxe, but it is certainly clean and convenient. Some of the furnishings are rather weird (big office chairs in one of the rooms, for example), but the beds are comfortable and, surprisingly, Seventh Street is quiet at night because there are no bars nearby and no truck traffic is allowed. You can walk to Downtown if you are so minded, just a few blocks away, or take a DASH bus for 35 cents. The staff is very friendly if you are the same to them (which I always am). I have stayed here twice and would go back. There is a very cheap Internet cafe nearby, and some markets, but you have to go several blocks to find a restaurant or cafe.

Room Tip: Upstairs, to avoid possible noise from above you. Downstairs you may get headlights shining into you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OnParleFrancais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

Cab fare From LAX to this area was costly but we had a fast check in at 7:30pm.. and room were clean, basic wt clean sheets, towels
The bathroom were old but clean too!
In shower, tap run a few minutes only to hv Hot water coming!
We booked two queen sized bed, it was a bliss after a long flight from Asia!
We didn't ventured out far, just 10mins walk down to hv 2 mini markets nearby, to get some necessities (food, drinks and snacks)!
For the price we Paid for, it's good for a night crash before we head to San Francisco!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SEASHELL18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
Stillwell Hotel
Stillwell Hotel
#219 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Downtown
The Milner Hotel Downtown Los Angeles
Rodeway Inn Convention Center
#177 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Historic Mayfair Hotel
#238 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Hotel Solaire Los Angeles
#172 of 351 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Center Hotel

Property: City Center Hotel
Address: 1135 W 7th St, Los Angeles, CA 90017-2409
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown , Central L.A
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #297 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Center Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your City Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing