We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding collection of Native American baskets”

Autry Museum of the American West
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Go Los Angeles Card
Ranked #25 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore art, history, and culture at the Autry Museum of the American West. Located in beautiful Griffith Park, the Autry presents a wide range of exhibitions and public programs-including lectures, film, theater, festivals, family events, and music-and performs scholarship, research, and educational outreach. The Autry's collection of more than 500,000 pieces of art and artifacts includes the Southwest Museum of the American Indian Collection, one of the largest and most significant collections of Native American materials in the United States.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding collection of Native American baskets”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

For those who appreciate Native American (What Canadians call First People) arts, The Autry houses the basket collection that was formerly in the Southwest Museum. I do not know if it is the best collection of Native American baskets in the world. It may be. But, without a doubt, it is extraordinary! The Autry has made a particular commitment to the Anthropology and History of the Southwest. It is large enough to have an excellent space for changing exhibitions. I have attended some superb traveling exhibitions there. Adjacent to the L.A. Zoo and nearby the Griffith Park Observatory, one can easily spend a day in the area.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maren D, Director of Communications and Marketing at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Henry, Thank you for recommending the Autry! We really appreciate that you took the time to write a review for us and we hope you'll visit us again soon.
Maren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    150
    28
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A trip back in Time”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Get ready to transition from the reel to the real, as the Autry does this seamlessly. We went on the 3rd Sunday on the month when they have western singers from 12-2 pm. Don't miss this! The sculpture and bronzes throughout the museum are spectacular and the nostalgia is wonderful, especially if you grew up in the cowboy era of the 50's. The exhibits are ever changing and one visit is not enough. The Golden Spur Cafe ( which was wonderful) is now a full fledged restaurant and is going thru some growing pains but the food is still terrific and the service warm and friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Skyros7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tborden, Public Relations Manager at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hi Skyros7,
We're glad you enjoyed our Imagination gallery and its reel-to-real perspective. Indeed, our Western Music Association jam events are some of the most popular recurring events we host. I'm glad to see that you enjoyed the Crossroads West Cafe. It's a new feature, so let us know what you liked best about it. I hope we see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
Level Contributor
242 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great museum”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

wonderful exhibits, check them out everytime they change. great gift shop too! the little café has pretty good food.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank ferdferd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tborden, Public Relations Manager at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Hello!
I was glad to see you enjoyed the exhibits during your visit. And the newly refurbished Crossroads West Cafe is one more way we try to cater to our visitors. I hope we see you coming back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“More than just cowboys!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Gene Autry National Center is more than just the history of Autry and his movies. This is a tribute to the true story of the Western U.S.. It's located on the edge of Griffith Park in Los Angeles, and is a unique museum, enjoyed by adults and kids alike!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tborden, Public Relations Manager at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Ken,
We're glad you enjoyed your visit! We try to tell a complete and inclusive story, so keep watching for our new features, and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
222 reviews
152 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Some New Exhibits”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I pop into the Autry a few times a year and don't always tour the older galleries. This visit I toured the two temporary exhibits, "Jews in the Los Angeles Mosaic" and "Katsina in Hopi Life". I spent more time in the first, but only because Katsina has been there a year now and I've seen it twice already. Then I listened to a Gallery Interpreter as he held a group of children spellbound telling them what it was like to be a trapper 200 years ago. I started to take a quick walk through one of the older galleries and was surprised to see it wasn't so old. Nearly half of the permanent gallery on the main floor was new. On the lower level, the OK Corral exhibit, there is opening day, has been removed to be replaced soon. My wife was sorry she declined going, so now we have to go again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tborden, Public Relations Manager at Autry Museum of the American West, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Hi Ken,
I believe what you saw was our "Art of the West" exhibition, which is designed to be permanent but will evolve once or twice a year. We're glad you liked it! We're very proud of this new addition, and we hope you'll come back to see it as it changes.
When you visited, we were in the middle of installing our new "Western Frontiers: Stories of Fact and Fiction" exhibition, which looks at different aspects of Western history through the lens of firearms that were important at those moments. It's open now! I hope you both visit us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Autry Museum of the American West also viewed

 

Been to Autry Museum of the American West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing