We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2010

Stayed at the new Ritz Carlton LA for a weekend with my six year old son. The room was spacious, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was fantastic. The rain shower and bath tub were both behind one glass door, and the bathroom TV was cleverly embedded in the vanity mirror...both features very cool. Pool was fairly warm and located on a rooftop, so the view was beautiful and nearly 360 degrees. Room service food was yummy. Service is what you'd expect from a Ritz Carlton, and everyone made my son feel welcome. I've stayed at many LA hotels, i think this one is my new favorite.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West2EastandBack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 620 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2010

We have been very psyched about staying at the Ritz Carlton in Los Angeles at LA Live because of all the hype surrounding the area. The building is a very fascinating new addition to the Downtown LA skyline. Overall, we were not disappointed. The Ritz is chic and substantial. It made for a memorable stay and a welcome break. The views are awesome. Location is an urban oasis (albeit almost too new and sterile), very unique for Los Angeles. The pool area is delightful. Definitely a great choice to celebrate a special occasion (in our case, it's our wedding anniversary).

Now to the quirks/observations.

We realize after we checked-in that the place is still under "soft" opening. The real opening is May 17, 2010. Didn't make much difference to us, since we get all the great services & amenities with very few others around.

The valet parking fee at the Ritz with in/out privileges is $50 per day. Yikes. It is posted on a sign at the entry and I saw groups of people reading the sign and gawking. Every time we came back the valet will greet us by name as they open the car door.

We were persuaded to upgrade to "Club Lounge" privileges for $70 per day. It turned out to be the best decision of our stay as the Lounge is not crowded, and had non-stop delicious snacks (rotating daily between morning breakfast, noon light lunch, afternoon hors d'oeuvres, and evening desserts with all the drinks, cheeses, candies, etc. you can eat/drink). The ambience is very relaxed and casual. The staff are attentive and professional. They couldn't wait to customize drinks for us (I loved my decaf soy capuccino... never had it before!). The lox during breakfast is very good quality. Being locals, we were not eager to leave the hotel to see any sights, and between our room, the Lounge, and the pool/fitness center, we were well entertained and nourished. The fitness center is not extremely large, but is nicely equipped and clean.

The lobby seems about 1/100 the size of the adjacent JW Marriott lobby (I guess the PC way to call it is "intimate").

The room is tastefully chic, as urban "loft" hotels should be. Lots of carefully placed items designed to delight the senses. Colors and materials are pleasing. Our room is spaciously laid out at 450 sq ft. Since the room is thermally sealed (obviously the windows are not operable), even with the thermostat set at 70 degrees F, we ended up slow-roasting under the fancy comforter at night. During the semi-consciousness of sleep, we didn't think to look into the closet and bring out the THIN blanket until after 6 am. I think the mattress was a bit flat (not flexible), but the husband didn't seem to mind.

The Ritz Carlton hotel is on the 22nd floor to the 26th. Meaning if you look at the building from the outside, the hotel is still part of the "shorter section". The floor plan of the entire hotel is a "T", same as the JW Marriott below. The north/south tall part of the building that sticks out into the sky is NOT the Ritz hotel, it is all part of the Ritz Carlton Residences/condos.

In case you didn't know the Ritz is owned by the Marriott chain. Meaning the Book of Mormons is laying side by side with the Holy Bible in the night stand drawer, and that there is absolutely no adult programming available in the entertainment system. I find that rather quaint and charming. Gives the place some subtle character.

The shower has low water pressure, but for once it didn't matter because it is a convincing rain shower that can be diverted to a movable shower head. The only thing that I thought could be improved is that the wood sliding door to the bathroom sticks out too much when it is opened. I keep feeling like I will bump into the giant metal door handles, especially since the room is full of mirrors and glass.

All in all the Ritz at LA Live is a welcomed new addition to downtown Los Angeles. I look forward to read everyone's reviews after your stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Redraisinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank anm360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 兔逗
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
Thank 王导游
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Ritz-Carlton Hotel Company
Thank Paulo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Zimmer mit Blick auf LA Live wählen. Tolles Panorama und Lichtgestaltung
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calpe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 353 in Los Angeles
756 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
836 reviews
Beverly Hills
Beverly Wilshire Beverly Hills (A Four Seasons Hotel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Address: 900 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#4 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $557 - $1,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing