We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Come On, It's The Ritz!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Ranked #34 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Avondale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Come On, It's The Ritz!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

A WiFi signal that was strong enough to use, Towels that are soft and absorbent, every amenity you could think of, very clean, and best of all, every employee called me by my name. A separate shower and bathtub, a full size bar of soap for the shower, a safe that opens up from the top so you don't need a flashlight to see if you've emptied it, bathroom nightlight, a lighted makeup mirror and some makeup remover (what every man needs!) etc.., etc.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    86
    36
    14
    11
See reviews for
109
133
37
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a fantastic stay at this Ritz and the only downside is we only had one night there as I was traveling with my husband for business and we had to be in a different part of LA the next day. The hotel looks quite new and the standard king room felt spacious me had an amazing bathroom with a separate shower stall, bathtub and frosted door to the toilet. The bed was very comfortable and the room was immaculate. The service was also outstanding from the initial check-in/greeting to getting directions and checking out. While the area is a little far from Beverly Hills/Santa Monica and some of the other more popular areas, I'd stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Check in is at 4:00. We arrived at noon. As mentioned in some of my other reviews this is always a huge plus for me.

The front desk, concierge, and service are all excellent. The rooftop pool is perfect.

On two separate occasions I called valet 20 minutes ahead of time for them to pull the car out of the garage. Both times the car was not ready and had to wait about ten minutes each time. For $40 a night I should be able to get my own car within 20 minutes. I don't mind paying the money, I mind the waiting. I understand this is downtown. I would rather pay the same rate and self park to have easy access to my own vehicle, but that is not an option.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brianchang0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have stayed at many Ritz Carlton properties, and this was definitely among the nicest. We were in town for the Emmys and it was really nice to be so close to all of the action! The location of the hotel is great if you're attending an event downtown or would like to be near LA Live. Beyond that though, downtown isn't really my preference when in LA.
We did check out the rooftop pool, which was very nice. There isn't much of a lobby (unlike most Ritz Carltons), but come to find out, the JW Marriott's lobby can be accessed via a short hallway. We didn't figure that out until after we had checked out... wish we would have known!
The room was fantastic. We had booked a Club level room for 4 and the room was quite spacious. There is a nice couch too and our view of the city and the Hollywood sign was very neat. There are several mirrors in the room, which definitely came in handy for 3 women prepping for a night out! The shower and tub are separate, but within the same enclosure. And there was a television in the mirror, which was pretty cool. The Club was very nice and spacious with many nice touches, including a special chocolate display featuring the Emmys.
Most of the staff were very helpful and accommodating throughout the hotel. We did have a slight hiccup upon check-in that I must mention. We booked a Club level room for 4 a couple of months in advance and were all set to arrive when a few days before check-in, we received an e-mail from the concierge stating that the Club access was based on double occupancy. This wasn't mentioned anywhere in the booking process or in the confirmation e-mails received. Upon arrival, we explained this and the concierge eventually made an "exception", after at least 10 minutes of arguing. This policy should be stated clearly when booking the hotel. I have booked many hotels and I always read the fine print. It was the only blip in our stay, but did mar the first few minutes in the hotel.
On our first evening, the concierge sent a note and a cute Emmys cookie to the room, which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to the spa while staying at the JW Marriott (attached) on business. The spa was beautiful, clean and relaxing. Massage was perfect! Spa provided robes, slippers, water, wine, two relaxation areas, and steam room.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton and were very impressed with both the service and the hotel. Our room was on the Club Lounge floor and we were very impressed and pleased with the Lounge. The food selections were excellent as was the service. We were there on 2 occasions and both stays were great. We would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Splurge for the Club Lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yvr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
107 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Ritz Carlton Los Angeles is attached to the JW Marriott, and is located in the LA Live complex.

The lobby of the Ritz Carlton is very small, and feels somewhat claustrophobic. High ceilings definitely helped.

There were two front desk agents who were each helping customers when I arrived at the hotel. One was very apologetic for the wait, while appreciated the first time became kind of redundant after the fourth or fifth time.

When I arrived at the front desk, I was greeted warmly. I was asked to confirm my bed preference and rate. I was then told that my room might not be ready yet, even though I arrived at the hotel after the official check-in time. It was acknowledged that I had booked a package that included valet parking, a $50 credit and what was supposed to be a choice of two of the following three: 2 movie tickets, 2 tickets to the Grammy Museum or some type of discount at Lucky Strike bowling alley. The front desk agent only offered me the movie tickets or the Grammy Museum tickets. When I inquired about the package that I had booked he ignored me.

He then took off towards the back, in what I thought was to get the movie tickets. I thought it somewhat odd that they would have the movie tickets in the back rather than the front desk. He came back with an envelope and presented it to me. I didn’t bother to open it at that time as I figured the movie tickets were in there.

Things certainly weren’t getting off to a good start to make this a good stay.

I was upgraded to an Executive King Room, which measures approximately 550 square feet, on the 24th floor. Wolfgang Puck’s WP24 is also located on this floor.

Upon entering the room, there is a large entryway with a sideboard to place your keys, wallet, purse, etc. There was a welcome amenity of cookies, chocolates and two bottles of water, but at looking at the name on the card, it wasn’t mine.

Things seemed to be going from bad to worse.

I called down to the front desk to let them know about the error. I was given an apology and told that things would be cleared up shortly. An employee came several minutes later to take away the mistaken amenity.

About 30 minutes later, another employee arrived to give me an amenity with a hand written note addressed to me.

After the short hallway, the rest of the room is located to the left. The bathroom is to the immediate right and is fairly spacious. There is an enclosed tub and shower area.

There are two double sinks, which unfortunately does not do a good job of keeping water contained since the faucets are located about 1 ½ feet over the sink. The usual Asprey Purple Water bath amenities are strewn throughout the bathroom. There is a magnifying mirror, plus a TV inside of the main mirror. The toilet is in its own little enclosure.

Upon exiting the bathroom, the rest of the room is to the right. There is a small enclave within the side wall in which I suppose one could place their suitcase, however the area doesn’t seem that sturdy.

The dresser and TV stand is rather long and takes up half of the wall. There is a Nespresso coffee maker in the room, with two small complimentary bottles of water to make coffee.

The desk is almost ridiculously small, and being able to do much work there would be a chore considering the lack of desk space.

There is a sofa by one of the two windows in the room. Unfortunately the view from one of the windows was the 110 freeway, while the view from the other window was of the JW Marriott marquee.

The king bed is somewhat soft but very comfortable. The linens are high quality, which is what you would expect from the Ritz Carlton.

Upon opening the envelope I was presented at check-in, it was a form letter from the General Manager welcoming me to the property. Sadly, there were no movie tickets in the envelope which meant that I had to make a stop by the front desk on my way to dinner.

Breakfast at The Market by Kerry Simon was another adventure. We were seated but weren’t given any menus. After waiting for almost 10 minutes we were finally able to flag down a server. We told her that we hadn’t received any menus, and nobody had come by. She apologized profusely and promptly got our drinks. Service from that point on was great, and she even comped one of the meals.

This stay at the Ritz Carlton was less than stellar with many service blunders. I received an email from one of the managers to inquire about my stay the following day. I outlined the many service mishaps that happened during my stay. She apologized profusely and indicated that each department would be addressed so that service areas in the future could be avoided. She also offered an invitation for a return one night stay, which I thought went above and beyond the call of duty.

I am hopeful that things will improve during my next stay at the Ritz Carlton Los Angeles.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMysteryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
No photo provided
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#31 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Courtyard Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
#35 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#10 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 335 reviews
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Address: 900 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#12 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing