We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As Good as We Remembered”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Ranked #7 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“As Good as We Remembered”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay at the Ritz at LA Live for the third time for a company event. As with our prior two stays, the hotel was excellent. (Check out my prior reviews of the hotel for lots of details.)

If you take nothing else away from the reviews, take the advice of adding Club Lounge access to your stay. It is definitely worth it to have such a wonderful place to hang out during down time, not to mention the food and drinks.

This trip, we were able to take advantage of the spa and it was also fabulous.

My only incredibly small criticism is that we didn't like the shower head - not enough water pressure!

But other than that, we loved the hotel yet again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahInSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    102
    47
    19
    15
See reviews for
150
182
43
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Anytime you stay at a Ritz you already walk in with very very high expectations. Yet you still find yourself saying WOW during your stay and our trip to the Ritz in LA was no different. The check in desk is very unassuming. A simple counter with two people. A quick ride up the elevator to the club level on the 23rd floor and the room is amazing. Great views comfortable beds and great showers .the club lounge is a must at every Ritz. At every turn someone is there to answer questions and get anything you need. There is no huge lobby with gift shops and bars so if that is what you want you might want to stay at the JW next door. Much of the building are residences so its rather Lis profile.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for club access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrwheels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Needed a respite from our hectic, work intensive, not enough fun life, and the Ritz was the perfect antidote. Spent a night on the club level Memorial Day weekend just to recharge and the Ritz let us do exactly that.

Club level is wonderful; excellent food presentations throughout the day (best at breakfast and lunch), along with good wine offerings and cocktails in the evening. Service was exceptional. Obviously servers on the Ritz club level are the best of the best. Just a fantastic experience.

Rooms are beautiful, our standard club king room was sleek and gorgeous, with a beautiful bathroom...
Beds are comfortable, rooms quiet and tranquil. Excellent housekeeping.

Would absolutely return. Of the other 5 star hotels in LA I've stayed at (Peninsula, Beverly Hills Hotel...), Ritz (on the club level) is my favorite.

Hope to return...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Overall experience is you feel at comfort from the time you walk in the lobby and then your beautiful room.
The Ritz offers the best of everything for your stay, I truly did not want to leave the hotel to go to my meetings for work.
Treated myself to a afternoon at the spa which was truly relaxing .
Everyone needs to experience a Ritz-Carlton !!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 532MikeD532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I love Ritz Carlton hotels. However, this is a different type of hotel. This Ritz Carlton doesn't feel like a Ritz Carlton in a traditional sense. It seems like a few floors of a Ritz Carlton on top of a very large JW Marriott and residential building, which I'm sure are Ritz Carlton residences. The lobby is very small, with one person at the front desk and then a separate small desk and chair for someone else. There is no lobby, per se, like in traditional hotels. But, if you walk through a small coridor, you are then in the beautiful and immense lobby of the JW Marriott. Lot's of stuff going on there! The room itself is nice, but certainly different. There really is a bath room. Yes, two words, because it is a large room and in it the bath and shower. Great bath, great shower. Very comfortable bed. Desk not against the wall, but more free form in the room with a bankette against the window. Check in service was very good. We didn't interact with many other service personnel. Room service was only fair quality- but the entire hotel was packed from a large event going on at the JW Marriott and I sense room service was slammed late at night. If you're looking for a true Ritz Carlton 5 star property with services and ammenties galore, I would have to suggest this isn't the property for you. I think the JW Marriott attached to the Ritz Carlton would be a great option for that type of experience. There was nothing wrong with this property, it's just not the traditional Ritz Carlton.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EvanPSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

We just spent two nights here. This s a beautiful hotel with a great location at LA Live. Service is outstanding. The rooms are spacious with a wonderful contemporary feel. The club level lounge is awesome with great service and food options. We will definitely return on our next trip to LA.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimH713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The huge space of the Ritz and Marriott Lobby is so wonderfully welcoming and relaxing. Just stop in for a coffee or a drink with your friends and you'll know what I mean.

The rooms at the Ritz are out of this world. Celebrated my 35th bday there and it was a blast. Great Wolfgang place at the top with wonderful, romantic seating and yummy asian take on food tapas. The suite was about $400. Huge! Everything out of this world. Furniture, decor, food, service was World Class obviously. So close to all the things downtown LA.
I'd stay here again and again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alek2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#6 of 351 in Los Angeles
692 reviews
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#39 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,164 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Address: 900 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#3 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#14 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing