We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel - Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Ranked #15 of 349 Hotels in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
419 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

I was a little concerned about a 300 room Ritz-Carlton adjacent to the Staples Center and the JW Marriott, a 1000 room hotel. However the room was one of the nicest Ritz rooms I have visited in my 28 years of staying off and on in Ritz Carlton hotels.

The service was excellent, private Ritz entrance nice, and being adjacent to the Staples Center, LA Live and all the restaurants great.

I definitely would stay here again...much more fun than I thought. I did not like the $40 price tag on the valet parking...I think that is way too much but knew that when I booked the room.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clinton S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    97
    44
    18
    15
See reviews for
137
174
42
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

My son and I stayed here while doing college visits in June. It was very clean, we splurged for the club level and it made our life so easy. When we were ready to head out to our next adventure, we stopped by the lounge grabbed a tea,coffee or water bottle and left. When we were on our way back in, grabbed fruit or a snack. They always had nice food presentation and were always pleasant. The hotel was clean/nice/new.The only glitch was a fire alarm early one morning where we climbed down 24 flights of stairs only to find out if was a false alarm. I felt like someone should have yelled in the stairwell that it was false. It wasnt very comfortable walking in the Ritz Lobby in your pajamas. Great location if you have a car. The concierge was eager to plan and help.I think her name was Patrice. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelclassygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

I've heard lots of negative reviews about this property when it first opened because it was not up to par with the Ritz Carlton brand. Kinks are to be expected from any business - I think since that time, their front line staff must have gotten a hang of their roles. I found the service was great and what you would normally expect from a 5 star hotel.

One thing that previous guests have discussed before that cannot changed is the layout of the property. It is connected to the JW Marriot which is sprawling in comparison. Their lobby is grand and filled with attendants. In fact, my taxi dropped my off at JW's lobby, I guess they think the two properties are synonymous with each other? If you do get dropped off at the JW, you will need to walk through a tiny little hallway on the left hand side to get to the Ritz. The lobby there is very small in comparison but cozy.

You can already see from all the other travellers photos the decor - Very new, modern and top notch - is true to life, so I won't comment on it. I will have to say that the washrooms are EXCELLENT. The washroom is split in 2 so It has a separate toilet and bath area - perfect for couples who need room to each do their own thing :) The shower area features a rain shower and SUPER CLEAN tub. There are rarely any hotels that have tubs clean enough for a bath for my standards but this has got to be one of them so that says a lot about the cleanliness of this property.

It's right next to the Nokia and Staples Centre. Immediately downstairs you will find many mid-price eateries to grab a bite. Most are your typical bar-food.

They also offer an In-House DRIVER and towncar which will take you out within the local area - but no returns back to the hotel. They don't take reservations but you can simply call the front desk and ask if the car is available and they will let you know when is a good time to go down to the lobby to wait for the drivers return.

For quick cheap eats nearby I would give it a 4/5
For washroom cleanliness I would give it a 5/5

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextChapterTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
104 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

I had the pleasure of staying at the Ritz for a business meeting. If you are going to be staying in downtown Los Angeles, I highly recommend the hotel. I only gave the location 4 stars because I am not a huge fan of the downtown area but if you are going to be downtown, this is the place!

The hotel is right in the middle of the LA Live complex. It shares the building with JW Marriott (the JWM has the first 20 or so floors, the Ritz is something like 22-25 and the top floors are residences). As others have commented, the Ritz seems to be very much a business hotel. The lobby is small though more than adequate but there was no bar or lounge that I saw (other than the Club Lounge described below).

The room was very nicely laid out. We had a king bed which was very comfortable. Given that the room was not huge, I was impressed with the amount of furniture it had without it feeling at all cramped. If you had to stay for more than a few days there is plenty of storage. There was always complimentary water left by housekeeping and even a Nespresso machine.

The bath was small but had double sinks and a separate shower and tub. The TV built into the mirror was very unique.

The hotel is very new and was very slick (without being cold). The pool area was very nice though it was too overcast while we were there to take advantage. The gym was also extremely nice.

We had the good fortune of having access to the Club Lounge which I cannot recommend enough. It is a wonderful place to relax and unwind. The meal services make your day very easy and complimentary drinks are included. If you stay at the hotel, definitely do the Club. Above and beyond, the Club Lounge employees are super attentive. Most address you by name and are always eager to help.

Notwithstanding the Club, we did pry ourselves away and had appetizers and drinks at WP24 which was very nice.

The only complaint was that there was some confusion upon arrival. We were to have Club access but upon arrival I asked her to confirm. The response I got was "No." Period. Not, "I'm sorry, but we don't show that. Do you have more information?" Just "No". It became my responsibility to track down our event coordinator so she could address the issue. Granted, we were with a large group and I'm sure it was confusing. We felt that the person who checked us in could benefit from some coaching on handling an issue with some degree of warmth and customer service. The Assistant Manager did follow up to apologize and make sure everything was ok which we appreciated.

All in all, the Ritz is a great option in downtown LA.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahInSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2011

Great Service, Proffesionalism. Location, very well trained staff

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lak54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Have stayed in many Ritz Carltons around the country, and this did not disappoint. Service was perfect from check in to check out. Front desk staff greeted us by name. Was presented with champagne. Children welcomed and also offered drinks. Room was very modern, but still warm. Beautiful modern bathroom. Kids loved TV in mirror. Was on 23 floor and views were super.
Be sure to pay the up grade for Club Lounge. The $70 or so extra is well worth it. Four services a day. We ate breakfast, lunch, and dinner in lounge. Were out of hotel for dessert service sadly. Staff in lounge and all over the hotel were very polite and helpful.
Pool area is nice, but was windy for our stay. Cabanas very nice. There is a pool side bar, we did not need as had club lounge, but waitress seemed very gracious.
Husband and kids used the fitness center both mornings. We did not eat in the restaurant as we were out both evenings.
Freeway access was very easy for getting around. Kids liked movie theater just across the street. Parking fee was $32 dollars a night and internet was $12.95 a day.
We will return to this hotel when we are in town this summer.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Norgetroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

I booked one night as a birthday gift to my bf who generally insists on having the finer things in life and boy was it fine! The room was spacious. There is a TV embedded in the bathroom mirror, the bathroom has both a big tub and rain shower head, the decor is very modern/contemporary, someone from front-desk walked us up and gave us a mini tour of the room, a personal kit including a toothbrush and room sandals were provided, the bottled water was free and valet offers you even more water before you leave (seriously, a bottle of water costs about 25 cents, why don't all hotels offer just a basic free bottle of water to guests?) Anyway, all the luxury did cost quite a bit but this was a gift so I sucked it up!
The location is in the LA Live area which pretty much represents LA as most visitors imagine it to be.
If you can afford it, stay at the Ritz Carlton over and over and over again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mystelody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Downtown
JW Marriott Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Downtown
Omni Los Angeles at California Plaza
Downtown
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
Sheraton Grand Los Angeles
#7 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Luxe City Center Hotel
Luxe City Center Hotel
#30 of 349 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Downtown
Residence Inn Los Angeles L.A. LIVE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles
Address: 900 W Olympic Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90015-1338
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
#6 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#7 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#8 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#15 Family Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton, Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing