We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Supper is Wonderful”
Review of Eva - CLOSED

Eva
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Cross street: Beverly and Gardner
Transit: We are located on Beverly Blvd. just east of Fairfax cross streets are Martel and Gardner.
Los Angeles
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sunday Supper is Wonderful”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Every Sunday Eva has a single prix-fixe dinner including four courses and wine. It's served family style. The food is incredibly good, the wine also excellent. You can ask for more of any course if it strikes your fancy. The quality of food and atmosphere are friendly yet sophisticated. The quality is extraordinary, and the chef/owner will come and visit at some point. The restaurant is excellent any time, but Sundays are particularly enjoyable. More places should do this -- showcase what they do well, keep it simple, and do it in a convivial atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DesignForLiving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    2
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Even the chicken is amazing!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

And I don't like chicken! The owner/chef sold me on a chicken over a year ago, and even though I don't like chicken, and still give him hell about it, I did enjoy it! (Don't tell him.) This restaurant is a gem! The space is small, but comfortable, the service is very personal and the chef is usually around and quite personable. Most important, the food is among the best in the city (or anywhere, for that matter!). I dine here whenever I'm in LA, about 4-5 times a year, and every time my experience has been outstanding.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ekd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Great food, dismal organization”
Reviewed January 4, 2011

We came for the New Year’s Eve 7 course tasting menu and left two and a half hours later - yes, 2.5 hours!! - with our last course in a take away bag.

Clearly the chef/owner is a brilliant, inventive talent. However - and this is a big however - his kitchen is so disorganized that our meal was just ruined. Courses 1 and 2 were serve simultaneously. Then came a 45 minute gap between courses 2 and 3, and another half hour gap between courses 4 and 5 which were served within minutes of course 6. Course 7, the dessert was still not ready at midnight, so we had it wrapped to go. The waitstaff was very hardworking and polite, and the hostesses were just lovely, but could not overcome the mess in the kitchen.

You should also know that half of the restaurant is inside, and the other half is on a (barely) enclosed porch. Our dinner was during a cold snap (it was in the 40’s) and we were offered an outside table or a 45 minute wait.

Another thing - perhaps this is just a regional thing - but in NY, cocktails are sort of liquor flavored. They contain very little actual booze. My cocktail was almost straight up bourbon. Some people might appreciate this, but I’m an eater, not a drinker.

The ceviche was excellent, the steak one of the best we’ve had, but we were so uncomfortable that we cannot recommend and would not return.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow.”
Reviewed October 26, 2010

We were walking to BLD for dinner and passed Eva and decided to eat there instead. Wow. What a find! The food was incredible. The menu is not large, but the food on it is incredible. One of the best meals I've had in a long time. You must have the potato ravioli appetizer and the butterscotch pudding for desert! wow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marc90069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“like eating in a locker room”
Reviewed October 24, 2010

The room is as humid,stylish, noisy and as chaotic as a gym locker room and there is apparently no one in charge. We confirmed our reservation an hour before and were told (finally by someone dragged from the kitchen) that there were no tables....which actually was "ok" because we just walked next door to BLD and had a great meal. With this degree of indifference (is this place someone's tax write-off?) I suspect they'll be closed by Christmas.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheams54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eva also viewed

Los Angeles, CA
Los Angeles, CA
 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing