We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
Ranked #199 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff was very friendly and I felt safe on the property, but the room I stayed in was in desperate need of some work. The only thing in my room on the 4th floor that had been updated in the last 10 years were the sheets on the bed. The carpet, the furnishings and the bed itself were well past their expiration date. This was not a relaxing environment to stay in. I could easily see into other guests rooms from my window.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (75)
There are newer reviews for Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 75 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Just stayed here from October 1-11, 2012. Very good location. Close to a lot of restaurants and eateries. You have a big 24/7 supermarket right across the street. There is a sizzler restaurant nearby which is quite affordable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cianno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here for a conference on Korean culture and history. I did not pay for the hotel so I cannot comment on its value.

Positives: Location was great. The Wilshire/Western metro station is just a block north of the hotel. While the LA Metro isn't as good as NYC's or Chicago's it can get you to a lot of major attractions. This station is the end of the Purple line and trains leave every 10-15 mins depending on the day and time. The bathroom had been recently been redone. The shower had been newly tiled. Water pressure and temp were fine. Even if you are traveling alone, it might be better to ask for a double room instead of a single king. The double rooms are much larger. I had colleagues that stayed in the king rooms and they said there was barely enough room for the bed, let alone anything else. That said, my room was pretty big. It had a nice mini fridge in it. My room on the 2nd floor (where the rooms seemed to be nicer than the 4th floor) opened out onto a private courtyard so you could keep the windows and curtains open. I didn't have any problem with the desk clerk's English. While I felt Koreatown was safe enough, it was nice to see security at the front door during the evening and night. Maid service was excellent.

Negatives: Carpet was VERY worn. No coffee maker in the room. Breakfast was not included. As I said above, the quality of rooms was not consistent. I just seemed to luck out getting a double room to myself that was much larger.

Would I stay again? If I was going to be doing something in the Koreatown area, then yes. I would also stay here if I was doing something downtown. It's a very short subway ride to any of the 4 main downtown stops (7th Street, Pershing Sq, Civic Center, and Union Station). Subway is only $1.50 per ride.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hoosier_Travel_Nut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I stayed here while visiting family in Koreatown. Yes, it is Korean run but the front desk person spoke excellent English. I didn't care about amenities like pool or gym so no problem for me. Personnel were nice, room was clean, comfortable king size bed, good hot showers. Neighborhood had grocery store across the street, several coffee shops, McD's next to it so plenty of places to get morning coffee and breakfast. I was traveling alone and felt safe there.
I did have a car so don't know about available public transportation Overall, I would recommend for an inexpensive place to stay in Ktown area. $90 a night plus tax.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingJ820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I stayed here for a week while attending a conference on Korean culture and history at the Korean Cultural Center, located a bit further along down Wilshire. This hotel is Korean owned and obviously caters to Korean travelers. While I am all about multiculturalism, it was a bit bothersome when signs in the elevators and in the room were only in Korean. My experience at the front desk was that their knowledge of English was limited. The staff there very friendly, though, and professional.

The room I was in was incredibly small and spartan. With the king-sized bed in the room, there was only a small border around the room in which to move. There was no ironing board or iron in the room, which for a cross-country traveller was a bit disappointing. However, there wasn't room to open one up anyway! There was a small writing desk wedged into the corner, but there was barely room to pull out the chair. I do really appreciate the complementary wi-fi access in the room. (You do need an access code from the front desk.) I also appreciated the mini-fridge in the room. My room looked across to the other wing of the hotel, so I didn't really feel a sense of privacy with the curtains opened, so I kept them closed most of the time I was in the room.
The room was always thoroughly cleaned each day by the cleaning staff, something that I truly appreciate. The carpet in the hallway was very worn and needs to be replaced.
Overall, if you're staying in Koreatown, this hotel is in a very central location, conveniently located next to the Wilshire/Western Metro Stop. Drawbacks include the lack of amenities in the room (I almost forgot there was no coffee maker in the room), no fitness centre or pool and the lack of English signage. Would I stay here again? Maybe. I do not know how much it costs per night, as this was paid by someone else.

Room Tip: I would request an exterior facing room in order to avoid looking at the guests across the courtyard...
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Michigan_Traveller72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
Thank 손지성 손
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
Thank 383morten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
0.1 mi away
Ramada Los Angeles/Wilshire Center
0.3 mi away
JJ Grand Hotel
JJ Grand Hotel
#215 of 353 in Los Angeles
47 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Palace Hotel
Oxford Palace Hotel
#205 of 353 in Los Angeles
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
#152 of 353 in Los Angeles
294 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus LA Mid-Town Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Normandie
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 353 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Suites Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Suites Hotel & Resort

Address: 681 S Western Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90005-3026
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $144 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Suites Hotel & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Garden Suite Hotel is located in the heart of Los Angeles on Western Ave. Our prime location offers you easy access to many local attractions and historic sites. The Garden Suite Hotel offers a luxurious line of guest rooms that are carefully prepared for your comfort during your stay with us. All of our guestrooms feature HDTVs, cable TV and free Wi-Fi. You may also choose to extend your comforts and amenities by staying in one of our elegant V.I.P. Suites. These rooms feature modern decor, a living room area and separate bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Garden Suites Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing