We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“what a great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose Bowl Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rose Bowl Motel
Ranked #217 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
119 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“what a great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

great location, great bed, VERY clean, nicely appointed, pleasant and helpful staff, FANTASTIC price - only reason its not five stars is that its not a resort property. I WILL be back - whenever I need LA digs. FYI though, it is not within eyesight or earshot of the Rose Bowl. :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

When we called this highly reviewed motel, we were told there was a room available and quoted a price higher than is quoted on their own website. When we questioned this he told us rudely, "No Vacancy" and hung up. We were tired, and stranded and on a long trip, so we called back, ready to pay the extra money, but he obviously saw our Caller ID, and said, no vacancy and hung up.
I don't think this motel should have such a high rating, with such obvious deception and rudeness.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank smonday475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Nipomo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a very nice motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The motel was clean, and they assisted me with any requests that I had. The only issue is the AC sucked. I will be staying at this property again. Very happy over-all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank App1eHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very modest but nicely maintained court-type motel. My guess it was built in '40s and the room size reflects that era. The queen size bed was comfortable but made the small room seem even smaller and the closet has been sacrificed for the fridge and microwave. The bathroom was extremely clean with updated fixtures but the original, and beautiful tile work, was left. Trader Joe's is across the street and there's a nice variety of home grown restaurants further east. The owners are very strict about no smoking or pets, which I appreciate.

Perfect for those on a tight budget but still demand a clean, safe place to stay,

Room Tip: The two rooms along the street probably get a lot of noise. Parking is very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curtismapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is simple, but clean, quiet and safe. The room is very small, but it was very clean. In the room there are a microwave, a refrigerator, a comfortable bed and a good wifi internet. The breakfast is very poor, basically coffee and packed croissants. The staff is very friendly. I think this hotel is fine for the price and a good choice to overnight stay and to save money too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canyon, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I drove from Amarillo, TX to Los Angeles, CA in one day last week. After hours of searching for an inexpensive, but nice hotel...we happened upon the website for the Rose Bowl Motel in Pasadena. When we arrived, staff greeted us by name, checked us in immediately and offered to help us unload our car. Although the hotel is obscurely located, it is perfect for an overnight stay where all you really need is a good night's sleep! Our room was small, but impeccably clean and offered everything we needed. Not luxury...but quiet, quaint and safe!

Room Tip: Only 14 rooms if I remember right...but it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We traveled to Pasadena for the Rose Bowl Parade and most of the major chains were already sold out. We found this motel which was also located on Colorado Blvd but discovered it's not in the main area. It's in the next town over of Eagle Rock. That was more my fault for not consulting more maps but It wasn't clear to me that it wasn't in the Old Town Pasadena area. We finally get there (it's only about 2 miles away) and the outside is neat as a pin and the staff very nice. The rooms however, are just okay. It was clean and the bed comfortable, but other than that, you wouldn't want to hang out there. The area where the closet would be, had a unit placed inside for a fridge and microwave and there was no dresser. We had to just keep everything in our suit cases. The bathroom was very small with a stall type shower. There is a Trader Joe's across the street so I figured the area couldn't be too bad but I felt a little isolated. There was no room phone and I couldn't get any cell service (except emergency calls) in my room. The TV reception wasn't great and I found some hardcore porn on one channel. Just an FYI if you have children with you. I don't think they saw it, but I kept my hand on the remote. The free breakfast was minimal but a cup of coffee and a danish is fine. They had bagels one day, cereal one day, etc. The management is what really shines here and I think they try really hard. If they updated the rooms, I think they could have a great place on their hands.

Room Tip: This is an old fashioned motel with all doors facing the parking lot and the parking spaces in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xtine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Old Town Pasadena - Eagle Rock
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#4 of 15 in Glendale
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chariot Inn
Chariot Inn
#10 of 15 in Glendale
3.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Regency Inn Los Angeles
Regency Inn Los Angeles
#72 of 347 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
2.9 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Old Town
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Luan Motel
#161 of 347 in Los Angeles
5.0 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bowl Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bowl Motel

Property: Rose Bowl Motel
Address: 1529 Colorado Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041-1424
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 347 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rose Bowl Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Bowl Motel is beautiful garden hotel located in the heart of Los Angeles near historical Old Town Pasadena, Hollywood and Downtown LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Budget Places and Travelocity so you can book your Rose Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing