We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Motel”
Review of Rose Bowl Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rose Bowl Motel
Ranked #183 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed December 25, 2013

This is a very nice motel. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The motel was clean, and they assisted me with any requests that I had. The only issue is the AC sucked. I will be staying at this property again. Very happy over-all.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank App1eHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 46 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

Very modest but nicely maintained court-type motel. My guess it was built in '40s and the room size reflects that era. The queen size bed was comfortable but made the small room seem even smaller and the closet has been sacrificed for the fridge and microwave. The bathroom was extremely clean with updated fixtures but the original, and beautiful tile work, was left. Trader Joe's is across the street and there's a nice variety of home grown restaurants further east. The owners are very strict about no smoking or pets, which I appreciate.

Perfect for those on a tight budget but still demand a clean, safe place to stay,

Room Tip: The two rooms along the street probably get a lot of noise. Parking is very tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curtismapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is simple, but clean, quiet and safe. The room is very small, but it was very clean. In the room there are a microwave, a refrigerator, a comfortable bed and a good wifi internet. The breakfast is very poor, basically coffee and packed croissants. The staff is very friendly. I think this hotel is fine for the price and a good choice to overnight stay and to save money too.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ana Carolina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My husband and I drove from Amarillo, TX to Los Angeles, CA in one day last week. After hours of searching for an inexpensive, but nice hotel...we happened upon the website for the Rose Bowl Motel in Pasadena. When we arrived, staff greeted us by name, checked us in immediately and offered to help us unload our car. Although the hotel is obscurely located, it is perfect for an overnight stay where all you really need is a good night's sleep! Our room was small, but impeccably clean and offered everything we needed. Not luxury...but quiet, quaint and safe!

Room Tip: Only 14 rooms if I remember right...but it was very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jamie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We traveled to Pasadena for the Rose Bowl Parade and most of the major chains were already sold out. We found this motel which was also located on Colorado Blvd but discovered it's not in the main area. It's in the next town over of Eagle Rock. That was more my fault for not consulting more maps but It wasn't clear to me that it wasn't in the Old Town Pasadena area. We finally get there (it's only about 2 miles away) and the outside is neat as a pin and the staff very nice. The rooms however, are just okay. It was clean and the bed comfortable, but other than that, you wouldn't want to hang out there. The area where the closet would be, had a unit placed inside for a fridge and microwave and there was no dresser. We had to just keep everything in our suit cases. The bathroom was very small with a stall type shower. There is a Trader Joe's across the street so I figured the area couldn't be too bad but I felt a little isolated. There was no room phone and I couldn't get any cell service (except emergency calls) in my room. The TV reception wasn't great and I found some hardcore porn on one channel. Just an FYI if you have children with you. I don't think they saw it, but I kept my hand on the remote. The free breakfast was minimal but a cup of coffee and a danish is fine. They had bagels one day, cereal one day, etc. The management is what really shines here and I think they try really hard. If they updated the rooms, I think they could have a great place on their hands.

Room Tip: This is an old fashioned motel with all doors facing the parking lot and the parking spaces in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xtine16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Just a room with a good big bed, A Refrigerator and a microwave oven... bathroom not that much.. no wardrobes can be a problem... room service everyday, good wifi internet worths the low prices.. attendants are very Nice also. For couples that does not want to spend too much Money and time in hotels if fits enou h

Thank Bruno L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

ok, how anyone in their right mind could rate this motel "excellent" is beyond me. Here are the basics. The room is a 10x10 box with about 2 feet on each side of the bed. Furnishings are very worn. Bathroom was clean but barely functional. Faucet stopped working twice in 3 days. Fixtures were in very poor condition. The Eagle Rock area is not terrible but it's no great shakes either. There is a car wash right behind (i mean RIGHT BEHIND) one side of the motel. The continental "breakfast" consists of weak coffee, powdered milk and a couple of containers of cereal. Find something else. This place has potential but never attains it.

Room Tip: there are no good choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Los Angeles
Econo Lodge
#5 of 17 in Glendale
109 reviews
North San Fernando Valley
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
Good Nite Inn Sylmar
#99 of 355 in Los Angeles
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lincoln Park Motel
#174 of 355 in Los Angeles
16 reviews
Harbor
Sea Rock Inn
Sea Rock Inn
#221 of 355 in Los Angeles
138 reviews
Diamond Inn
#210 of 355 in Los Angeles
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Bowl Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Bowl Motel

Address: 1529 Colorado Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90041-1424
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 355 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $73 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rose Bowl Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Bowl Motel is beautiful garden hotel located in the heart of Los Angeles near historical Old Town Pasadena, Hollywood and Downtown LA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rose Bowl Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing