We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AWESOME PLACE! DIDNT EXPECT IT!”
Review of The Getty Center

The Getty Center
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$42.00*
and up
The Getty Center Transfer
Ranked #1 of 554 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Spectacular museum boasts a most impressive collection by such luminaries as Van Gogh, Monet and Cezanne, along with the architectural triumph of its six buildings and gardens.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
MarylinB
Level Contributor
118 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“AWESOME PLACE! DIDNT EXPECT IT!”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I never expected this!... awesome piece of architecture... great art inside... unbelievably quiet... almost mystic place... it is a must see.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylinB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,983 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,913
    1,709
    286
    48
    27
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful art in a unusual setting”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Once one gets into the complex, there are multiple buildings all connected by walkways, there are many docents available for help. Each day one receives the different FREE tours available for the guests. Entrance is FREE, the tours are about an hour each, Artwork Tour (a must), Garden Tour (lovely) and Architectural Tour (very unusual buildings, but, ran out of time, sigh). Umbrellas are available for either the sun, or for rain....the only negative: if you choose to drive to museum, there is a $15 parking fee. but, there is public transportation which drops you off at the place where one can take the FREE tram to the entrance of the museum.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bandaidslsJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
736 reviews
342 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Proves that the best things in life ARE FREE!!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Simply amazing that this wonderful place and everything in it are free to visit, and that includes the tram ride up and back to the car park. We visited this centre after seeing it several times when flying in and out of LAX and we finally made a decision to go and visit on our last trip. We were hugely impressed by everything, and the gardens in particular, and found it hard to believe that we didn't have to pay for anything, including the audio guide and headsets! We would recommend this as a 'must' if visiting LA.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Narziss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Views, Architecture & History”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

You can't beat this LA attraction. It's free, has beautiful views of the city, as well as interesting exhibits and exquisite grounds. It's easy to spend a day at the Getty, exploring the gardens and exhibits. Of particular note is the current Overdrive exhibit showing how LA prepared for the future, displaying various architectural and infrastructure plans, e.g., plans for LAX, highway systems, and Disneyland! This was by far the most impressive exhibit at the museum on my visit. Granted, I did not get a chance to explore all the exhibits throughout the building because I spent much of my time admiring the beautifully landscaped gardens. Definitely a great visit for the family. Although parking is $15, if you visit the Getty Villa on the same day (which requires tickets ahead of time, but still free), you can park at both venues for a single $15 fee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2Legit2Trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“If the art doesn't grab you, the Garden will”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The joy of being at the Getty Center, for me, is in large part just being at the Getty Center. The buildings seem delightfully whimsical at times - odd views from crazy viewpoints are magical - At other times - a massive wall of stone evokes power and medieval towers. The Gardens have grown into art pieces.
A fabulous day to spend a day - viewing the world from the castle walls.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJtheScrivener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Getty Center also viewed

 

Been to The Getty Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing