We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Views” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Getty Center

The Getty Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
The Getty Center Museum & Movie Stars' Homes Tour from Santa Monica
Ranked #1 of 536 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Spectacular museum boasts a most impressive collection by such luminaries as Van Gogh, Monet and Cezanne, along with the architectural triumph of its six buildings and gardens.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Staffordshire united Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Stunning Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

Spent a afternoon with my Son and his young Family the setting is pretty spectacular for Art lovers the changing exhibitions
are a must also it is the only place on my frequent visits to the USA that does not charge an entrance fee there is a $15 car
Parking charge well worth a visit

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pauline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,508
    1,648
    277
    47
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous....inside and out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We were so astounded by the views of Los Angeles and the unusual landscaping features and grounds at "The Getty" that we had to keep each other on track to ensure we had plenty of time to view the treasures within. Needless to say, the paintings, sculptures and antiquities were all magnificent. We have toured so many museums throughout the world but the installations made us feel as though we had, indeed, not "seen it all". We loved that we were allowed to take photos (no flash, of course) throughout and view everything "up close and personal". There is a wonderful flow within the galleries so that it seems as though you are only among a few patrons rather than hundreds. We could go on and on about the perfectly sublime beauty within, but we should leave something for your own visit to "The Getty".

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank ElisePortlandOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
282 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“One of the best things about LA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

You can go to the Getty just to look at the architecture, which is amazing. You can go and look at just the gardens, which are gorgeous. Then there is the art! The scope of the art is overwhelming, so just take in what you can, for the time you choose to spend there. We enjoyed lunch at the Garden Terrace cafe, sitting outside. The size of the Getty is hard to fathom. The quality of the art, is astounding. This was our first trip to LA and if I go back, this will be one spot I will go to again. Staff was very attentive and helpful. We chose to spend just a few hours and hit a few highlights--you could spend a lifetime there!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BBMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthCarolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful Art, Architecture & Scenic Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

The tram ride up to the Getty atop a mountain is just the beginning of a wonderful destination. The architectural design of the Getty is a marvel, and this is witnessed as soon as you step off of the tram. The art inside the walls of the buildings is spectacular. Upon exiting the museum doors, the scenic views will stop you in your tracks. One of the most beautiful museums I've ever seen.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MFFNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemead, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've been visiting the Getty Center every year for the past three years. Wonderful place to be at and the best part was that entrance is free. All you have to do is pay for parking which was about $20. There are certain parts of the Getty that they change up year-round and certain parts that they keep. Activities room are also available for kids, but adults can have fun at those too. Planning on coming back again this year for a fourth visit.

Helpful?
Thank genjen123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Getty Center also viewed

 

Been to The Getty Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing