We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pleasant way to spent a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Getty Center

The Getty Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$90.00*
and up
The Getty Center Museum & Movie Stars' Homes Tour from Santa Monica
Ranked #1 of 542 things to do in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Spectacular museum boasts a most impressive collection by such luminaries as Van Gogh, Monet and Cezanne, along with the architectural triumph of its six buildings and gardens.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
245 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“a pleasant way to spent a day!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

I have been visiting California for years and have visited 90% of the attractions over the years. I had only wish I had visited the Getty Center sooner. It is a marvel to behold and very comfortable and tranquil even with the crowds. There are guided tours available at no charge (the only fee is the parking - $15). You will not be disappointed in the least bit. I visited the Getty Center in the morning and then headed down to visit the Getty Villa in the afternoon. A perfect day!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8,679
    1,674
    283
    48
    28
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Architecture is the star here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

The setting of the Getty is perfect for orienting oneself to the city and surrounding landscape. From anywhere you can view a quadrant of the area and suburbs as if on a map. From this height you are apart from the city, but can't resist it's presence. It is even hard to go not he collection to see the fantastic collection.
You walk from building to building, past gardens and views, and when your feet wear out, have a leisurely lunch at the Restaurant with again fine views of the hill town surrounding he Getty. Even the tram ride up to the museum is a lovely anticipatory experience and, did I fail to mention it....there are rare bird species p there for any Audubon Society types looking for a new ID!
$15 for parking a carload of people and free admission? I'd consider that a bargain to see the best of artists.
Plan to spend the day and picnic on the grounds. That is a low priced day in my book!

Helpful?
Thank Freddie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Some lovely art, striking architecture and fabulous views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We arrived early morning on a Sunday ahead of the crowds and so there were no lines for anything. The views of LA and the Pacific are spectacular, the charred wood and brush on the other side of the 405 show just how close to disaster they most have come. Having been fortunate enough to visit galleries in other cities, the Getty, particularly since it is not publicly owned, is really very special, with all Masters covered and many of their masterworks on display. Staff were courteous and helpful and the free guides and I-Pods enhance the experience. The spaces are appropriate to the art displayed. We saw all the major works and the Renaissance and Photography exhibits in a casual 3 hour stroll.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank shaythfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The flavor of old Rome and Greece”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

You have to get tickets in advance and showings are only on certain days but if you can get in, I felt it was worth going at least once. My husband wouldn't rate it quite as high. He states, Too many naked statues!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent art exhibition, beautiful location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have always wanted to visit the Getty Center, and I am SOOO glad that I have finally gone. It was such a pleasuable journey. Really enjoyed the wonderful art collection. it was such a educational and learning exprience. Will visit it again for sure.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travellibra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Getty Center also viewed

 

Been to The Getty Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing