We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So glad I went!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Animal

Animal
Ranked #74 of 9,848 Restaurants in Los Angeles
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central L.A
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
222 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“So glad I went!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I have been wanting to eat here for awhile now but I'm never in LA that often. As soon as I knew we were travelling to LA I made a reservation here. It's a small place with loud chatter of happy diners. The food was amazing and our server was fantastic. I'd love to go back and try everything else on the menu that I didn't get to order.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SeattleMeimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    72
    25
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eat at Animal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Seats only 45 so reservation a must but absolutely fantastic! Service was spot on, tried seven different plates all of them excellent. Highly recommend oxtail poutine, iberico pork, and pork belly sliders.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brentplag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tasty Animal Parts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

With decor done by a confused minimalist the emphasis here is definitely on the FOOD. Well, OK, our Waiter was also fantastic, but the food is why you go to Animal! Their hallmark is to find unusual parts of the animal that arent usually eaten in Western Society and cook them in interesting ways to make wonderful, small, Tappas-like dishes. Who knows what you will see on the ever-changing menu, but our favorites were definitely the ribs, the bone-marrow, and the duck liver toast! The peach salad and the bacon chocolate bar were also quite good! Unfortunately we were not impressed with our last entree: soft-shelled crab. Dont get me wrong, it was perfectly cooked and very delicious, its just that all the other food had been so unique and the crab was just that: crab. We also ate veal brains just to try them...and they were good!! Animal is a good experience at a reasonable price and definitely worth the trip!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bluecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, CA
Level Contributor
419 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“A meal experience for the adventurous”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Not normally what we would chose, but we have foodie relatives who ordered everything from ear to tail. If you didn't know what you were eating, you would enjoy it more. Everything from the pig's ear to the veal brains was tasty. For the less adventurous there's the pork belly sliders. Go with an open mind.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrnrMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Food Hip Vibe”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had a fantastic meal hear the other night for my birthday. The restaurant is rather low key with it's entrance and the tables all packed in.. You can tell as soon as you enter that it's all about the food. The menu is meat heavy (obviously) but make sure you save a little room for dessert!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miss_B_Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animal also viewed

 
Los Angeles, CA
 

Been to Animal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing