We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Ranked #153 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed in the Standard room. We had found a pretty decent price on hotels.com. They gave us a room that was the back side of the hotel which was very close to an apartment building. That was a not a great view but still okay for the price. The room was not as much renovated and stylish as we thought.

Service was okay but they were not able to give us a city map. It's definitely not a standard for a 3-stars hotel. Location was good and we were able to see everything we wanted by car.

General advice : don't spend more than 2 days in LA if you go around California. There's so much nicer things around on Highway 1.

Room Tip: ask for a room that is not on the back side of the hotel
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexGagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for the review. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 294 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2014

This trendy hipster spot is populated by terribly rude employees. The underwhelming post modern decor intends on providing a unique, homely experience, but it ends up making the accommodations seem bare bones. No ice or mini-fridge so no place for leftovers or ice cubs for a drink/soda. The gent at the front desk was terribly mean and even at one point told us that we could "leave through the garage or out the window, our choice". Coming in later in the evening involves paging the front desk staff and they were not very accommodating. I would not suggest staying at this hotel, there are many other alternatives in the area for not terribly much more.

Room Tip: I would suggest avoiding this place and choosing one of the other mediocre, cost effective hotels in...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joshua_Colks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

It's very disappointing to hear that you were presented with such a bad attitude. We take pride in our customer service and the ability to give guests a great experience. Unfortunately, we failed you. I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We will work as a team to improve attitudes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Independent hotel smartly outfitted with modern furniture and décor. Room could have been cleaner but the staff was accommodating and the hotel was quiet. Has parking but is only a short Uber ride to downtown.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tristina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm glad to here you overall enjoyed your stay. Should you have any feedback you'd like to let us know directly, please don't hesitate to contact us. Hopefully, we will see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Very cost effective, basic accommodations (no iron or hair dryer), but 2 blocks from LA Metro station on Wilshire Blvd. Saved $36 in parking by leaving my car in the below ground garage and taking Metro ($2 for the ride and $1 for the TAP card). Nothing fancy here - just a good night's sleep. Recently remodeled to "modern" look with updated bathrooms. Inspection card in the elevator said Days Inn, but the hotel is not Days branded at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OregonDean-fb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for the kind review and for promoting the metro system. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I was a bit worried upon entering my room as it smelled like mildew and was very plain. However,I spent 3 nights there and left satisfied. The location is perfect for exploring koreatown and close enough to Santa Monica Blvd to enjoy a night out for a cheap cab ride. The staff was very pleasant and the room was clean. Only downside was the poor wifi signal and the limited parking area. I would recommend if you are on a budget and want a clean quiet safe place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank polish p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Regarding the wifi, we are currently working on our network to make it faster. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

This was an apartment building that was converted to a hotel a few years back. The rooms are large and the bathrooms have been modernized. There are two minor downsides---- one is you don't have a closet or dresser, they have a desk and a luggage rack. Two --- parking is free but there's not enough and if you get back late you'll have to call via your cell to reach the hotel night clerk who will open the gate. You'll have to park the car and leave the keys with the clerk so they can move it to let other cars out in the morning. Other than that the rates are good and it's very convenient to Wilshire Blvd. and the Hollywood Freeway. It's quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronald J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Shelter is a great hotel in Ktown. It is close to dtla and the westside of town. Has a garage if you have a car, metro and bus routes all close, more food options and vars that you can shake a stick at.
The staff are superb, the bed super comfy, bathrooms very nice. Stay here on ya next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gitbasterd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#200 of 353 in Los Angeles
75 reviews
Hotel Normandie
#19 of 353 in Los Angeles
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central L.A
The LINE
The LINE
#34 of 353 in Los Angeles
967 reviews
JJ Grand Hotel
#214 of 353 in Los Angeles
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Address: 457 S Mariposa Ave, Los Angeles, CA 90020-2904
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #153 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range: $149 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. The hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Amenities include hardwood Floors/ 50" LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing