We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful pet-friendly hotel. Love it !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Ranked #141 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Los Angeles, CA
1 review
“Wonderful pet-friendly hotel. Love it !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2011

We love this hotel. It is really well located right by the train with a plethora of restaurants nearby within walking distance. They are pet-freindly. The staff is really fun and cool. Very nice and helpful.
There is free parking and if you double park you can just leave your keys at the front desk and they will take care of it for you. The beds are comfortable and there's free wireless. It's in a residential area in Koreatown and it's quiet.
Really great stay for the money. Love it !

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloWorld_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Thank you so much for spreading the word. We can't wait to see you again.

Jason Scharlau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    110
    63
    26
    18
See reviews for
25
134
35
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

Don't be deceived by the pictures. This place is pretty dirty and not maintained very well.

Stains and cracking paint in the bathroom ceiling as well as a pretty filthy bathroom floor. Scant furniture and some rooms didn't even have a closet or wardrobe. My room couldn't shake a musty odor. The shower water pressure was never stronger than a drizzle and the sink was quickly backed up.

I napped one afternoon, presumably when the maids were cleaning our floor. Too bad because they never came back again.

The parking lot is full at night but you can double park if you leave the keys at the front desk. Careful though. One friend left his keys overnight and found major scuff marks under his front spoiler the next morning.

It's cheap. You get what you pay for. or not even that much.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hahn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 5, 2011
Thank you for posting a review. All reviews (even negative ones) assist us with making the property a better place. I'm sure that if we had a conversation regarding your stay, we could have done some things to make your stay better. I truly apologize about your friends scuffed vehicle, however if it would have been brought to our attention, we could have resolved that as well. There isn't anything that can't be fixed if we are given the opportunity to fix them. Please feel free to contact management should you like to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Los Angeles hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 for 3 nights. As others have stated, this hotel is in Korea Town, which means lots of good food around the area (if you're into Asian cuisines). The location of the hotel itself is within a residential neighbourhood which, for a big city like LA, seems safe as we walked back at night. It might be a different story if you were walking by yourself.

First, I will explain how the rooms are set up so I make a bit of sense. There are rooms which face outwards towards the street. There are also rooms opposite of those which face the inside. There is basically a hole in the middle of the building so the rooms facing inwards get sunlight. We got one of the rooms on the inside so there isn't a view whatsoever. On the bright side, rooms facing inwards are probably less noisy than rooms facing the street.

The rooms are clean and basic. The one thing that did bother me was the lack of somewhere to put your towel in the bathroom after you've finished with it. Most hotels have hooks on the back of the door at the bare minimum. Also, a couple decorative pieces such as a photo or something would give the room a better feel. Other than that, the bed is comfortable and there's a TV with many channels.

There is only one elevator in the building so it could take some time. Also, it feels a bit unsafe as it's quite old so we just took the stairs most of the time. The parking garage is free which is a nice bonus... but it's very small. You are allowed to double park but you have to leave your keys with the front desk. We got back late one night and there were no more spots. Luckily we found a spot on the street in front of the building so we didn't have to deal with double parking. Service was good, but the cleaners wore street clothes which is a bit odd. Who knows if they actually work there or not? Or maybe I'm just watching too many movies.

Overall, there is no wow factor at this hotel, but for the price, you get what you pay for. If coming to LA again, I would look into Shelter Hotel again, but consider other options as well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wesleywoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for the review. All of your comments have been noted. FYI, we are currently working with a local artist right now to get some decorative pieces up in the rooms. WE anticiapate to have that project finished by late August.

Jason Scharlau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I was headed out to Los Angeles for my yearly E3 trip, and in desperate need of a hotel. I was happy to find Shelter, especially given the low price. The majority of my work that week was downtown, but a train station is only a few blocks away. I rode the train downtown every morning for $1.50, and *usually* back in the evenings.

The neighborhood's not too bad, with a main street just a block away with carry-out food type places. I'm not so sure I would have felt great about walking back from the train *too* late, but during the day and evening it's perfectly fine. A cab ride to/from downtown will run you only about $13 (without tip).

The room was nice, with almost everything being brand new (the bathroom features were all brand spanking new) and nice hardwood floors. The staff was extremely friendly, and though I didn't drive, there is free parking in a lower garage. The garage (and i believe the hotel) lock up around 1am, so if you're going to be late, just call the hotel. There's someone on-site 24hrs.

The place definitely feels like an old apartment building, but it was very clean. It's definitely a minimal frills type joint, but I couldn't have asked for anything better for the price. While I'm debating whether or not to stay downtown next year (purely for convenience) this place is actually really great.

Room Tip: Make sure you're back to the hotel before 1am
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CryptRocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for the kind words. The are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

I stayed here with my boyfriend for 3 nights in May. We booked the hotel for its price and its location. The room was spacious but minimal. There was still plenty of space for perhaps a dresser of some sort to put our clothes. The bed is comfortable, although out of the four pillows we were given, each of them were a too high; some variation in pillows would have been appreciated. The washroom was nice and clean but could have used a rack on the wall to leave our towels.
Situated in Korea town, the hotel is located within walking distance of many restaurants, many of which are open late in case you check-in late as we did. The hotel is surrounded by many residential buildings, and despite a few earlier reviews, the area felt safe and was not loud. The only thing I would advise for future travelers is to request a room on the top floor. Our room was on the second floor, and we were woken in the morning by the people above us. We could hear them stomping and moving about late at night and early in the morning. It was an annoyance, but I figured we could tolerate it since we were only staying for 3 days.
The staff was friendly and the hotel has free parking which locks its gates after midnight (1 AM I believe). The hotel was great for the price and if they work on a few things, I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for the great review. We are working on the few touches that you spoke of and will hopefully have everything complete by August. We hope to see you again.

Jason Scharlau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

This hotel is probably an old hostel. The room was alright, but the door was kinda crappy, leaving a two inch gap to the floor.

Otherwise clean, really kind and helpful staff. AND two big thumbs up for the free parking in the garage.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you for the review. Although, our property is not an old hostel, it was another hotel property prior to new ownership and before that it was an apartment complex. We have since fixed the door that you spoke of. The staff greatly appreciates the nice comments.

Jason Scharlau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2011

And this for a couple of reasons:
- the noise: 24/7, people walking and talking in the hallway, the elevator, people in the room above you who walk around all night, the air-conditioning outside, every little noise on the street (It looks like a calm neighbourhood, but it definitely isn't). You'd think they'd isolate the rooms better... I think we slept for about 2 hours every night.
- the elevator that doesn't work properly and gets stuck on your floor trying to close the doors every 5 seconds
- no hair-dryer
- no alarm clock
- no shelves for your clothes
- a dirty flour

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debs_V0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShelterGM, General Manager at Shelter Hotels Los Angeles, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you for the constructive comments. I'm very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience here. Regarding some of the issues that you had, we offer hairdryers here at the property upon request. Every room is equipped with an Ipod dock that has an alarm feature and we also offer wake up calls. Since this review has been posted, we have had the elevator fixed.

Lastly, the staff and I absolutely love speaking to guests. If at any time, the situation would have been brought to our attention we would have done whatever it took to make you comfortable. We have extra AC units to switch out if yours did not work. We could have switched your room and found you a quieter room away from the elevator. If your room was not cleaned properly, I would have gone in and cleaned it personally. A simple conversation might have made your stay more enjoyable.

Once again, I apologize for any inconveniences that you had while staying with us. We are actively working on the issues where we fell short and plan on making the overall experience much better. Please don't hesitate to contact me should you like to discuss the matter further.


Jason Scharlau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hotel Normandie
#20 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Garden Suites Hotel & Resort
#196 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JJ Grand Hotel
#211 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Central L.A
The Line
The Line
#34 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Oxford Palace Hotel
#203 of 348 in Los Angeles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shelter Hotels Los Angeles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shelter Hotels Los Angeles

Property: Shelter Hotels Los Angeles
Address: 457 S. Mariposa Ave., Los Angeles, CA 90020
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 348 Hotels in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shelter Hotels Los Angeles 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Los Angeles, two blocks from Wilshire Boulevard, Shelter Los Angeles is a 48-room boutique hotel filled with spacious, comfortable, and soothing rooms. The hotel features contemporary interiors, luxurious bedding, dark hardwood floors, and stylish bathrooms. Amenities include hardwood Floors/ 50" LCD Flat Screen Televisions/ Complimentary High Speed Internet/ Individual High-Definition Receivers with over 100 Television Channels/ I-Home I-Pod Docking Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Shelter Hotels Los Angeles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shelter Hotels Los Angeles Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing