We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel... failing at some little things”
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Hollywood
Ranked #82 of 357 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed November 11, 2010

my wife and i recently spent 5 nights at the W over Halloween.

pros: beautiful place, central location for exploring L.A., great service, my wife really enjoyed the bliss spa, trader joes around the block

cons: insulation not great for a brand new hotel and oh, yes, the "mandatory" valet parking

i know its a top-notch luxury hotel (and it really is) and all but lets face facts, i really don't want to pay $38 a day for parking and shouldn't have to. especially not in Hollywood where every other block is an open parking lot. luckily we figured out that the SAME garage they park the cars in is accessible on the back side of the block and its only $16 a day.

on the other hand, there is free wi-fi in the "Living Room" which is a nice touch

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2010

Thank you for your review! Happy to see you experienced so many pros during your stay, but also understand how the details can make a big impact on an experience! We hope to have the chance to welcome you again soon and would love for you to contact us directly at GMJim.McPartlin@whotels.com before your next visit. Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Hollywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,831)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,481 - 1,487 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2010

Very courteous and concerned staff; overall experience exceeded our expectations. Our wishes were met with a fabulous level service and accommodation. The Bliss Spa was terrific also. If you're looking to be pampered, this is the place. Highly recommended for the ultimate Hollywood experience!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSquared1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I am a So. Ca. native and decided to try this W hotel everyone was talking about. I checked in Friday Nov, 5th and it was such a nice experience. The room was great, the view was incredible and the staff makes you always feel like a VIP. Manager Trent at Delphine Eatery and Bar also made our stay very enjoyable. His staff was very attentive and stopped at nothing to make sure we had a perfect dinner.. I highly recomend the W and Delphine to all locals and visitors.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HugoD1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thanks for checking us out! We are thrilled to hear you had such a wonderful experience at W Hollywood and Delphine! We will pass on your compliments to Trent and the Delphine team! We look forward to welcoming you again the next time you need a little getaway! Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Hollywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2010

I spent multiple nights at the W and got to know some of the staff very well. Everyone was incredibly accommodating and nice. I was there for business and I felt like everyone from the valet staff to the front desk staff was always looking out for my deliveries and packages. I can't imagine staying anywhere else! I've also had just about everything on the food and drink menu, because I was there for so long. I can definitely say that everything tastes great!
They definitely lived up to their Whatever, Whenever motto.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicquintana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

At the recommendation of my brother, I only days ago stayed at the W Hollywood ...Woahhhh
Great location, Great property, great rooms and employees with the WoW factors & matching attitude....
If you seek a trendy, not overrated and great place to stay in L.A...This is the hotel
Thank you for all the good memories... Keep it up !!!!
Merciiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWorldIsMyOyster68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alyskie, Guest Relations Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2010

Thank you to your brother for the recommendation and thank you for such a fabulous review! Happy to hear that you enjoyed your W experience! We look forward to welcoming you again soon! Thank you, Alyssa Kiefer, W Hollywood

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

We very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It definitely has the "Hollywood feel" and is truly unique. The staff was very friendly and the room was comfortable. The only minor issues would be the fact that is that the property is located approximately 15 minutes walk from Hollywood attractions and there were some nights that were a little noisy due to the rooftop bar. But overall, if you want to stay at a trendy spot during your Hollywood visit, this spot is for you!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ckdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We spent a night last month as we were attending a concert at the Music Box just down the street. The hotel has a great location on Hollywood Blvd and seems to loom large over Hollywood. My girlfriend used her Staerwood points for the room.
The desk clerk was fast and courteous. She told us the room rate was normally close to $400 a night. Charging another $40 for parking and wifi seems excessive. It's 2010 and the W can't even throw in wifi with the inflated rate?
When we returned later that evening we decided to order room service from a very limited menu. The food consisting of a cheese plate and pasta bowl did arrive quickly although the portions were tiny for the price paid around $48.
The bed was extremely comfortable, although the night was basically ruined when the fire alarm rang on two separate occasions between 3 and 4AM. The alarms were followed by a loud announcement over the intercom informing everyone that it was a false alarm.
It appears the hotel is basically a party hotel on the weekends. I definitely would pass on the W if romance with your partner is what you are seeking.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinvasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w_hollywood_10, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2010

Please accept my apologies that your sleep was disturbed. We have taken additional precautions recently to prevent these types of annoying disturbances. Without question, W Hollywood is a ton of fun on the weekends. There are quiet floors designated, however, and you may be sure we know how to create a romantic get-away. (Several recent engagements are testimony to this!) Please come visit again, and contact me directly. I would love the opportunity to WOW you and your girlfriend.

Best -

Jim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Dream Hollywood
Dream Hollywood
#13 of 357 in Los Angeles
161 reviews
Hollywood
Kimpton Everly Hotel
Kimpton Everly Hotel
#2 of 357 in Los Angeles
179 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 357 in Los Angeles
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#21 of 357 in Los Angeles
3,968 reviews
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Central L.A
Sofitel Los Angeles at Beverly Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#32 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $279 - $713 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, bedfinder AG, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing