We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in the heart of Hollywood”
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Hollywood
Ranked #74 of 351 Hotels in Los Angeles
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great hotel in the heart of Hollywood”
Reviewed April 13, 2014

This hotel is great for the heart of hollywood. The foyer and reception area is very grand with a great area to chill out and have drinks.
The rooms are plush with all the modern amenities and wifi too.

Hotel facilities such as breakfast is good with lots of choices including healthy options.
The roof top pool is lovely and has great pool parties there as well if you re there on the right weekends. Drake the restartant and club attached to it is good with good food and drinks.

Bliss spa which you can access via the hotel is amazing and has great therapists.

The location of the hotel puts you right on hollywood blvd with easy access to loads of sites in walking distance. Would recommend this place and stay there again!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a middle floor to limit noise from parties in the reception area on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJS9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi,

You've described our hotel perfectly! We offer everything you need for whatever kind of stay you are after. For a relaxing stay, head into Bliss Spa for one of their many treatments. Indulge in a massage and facial, or keep it light with a mani/pedi. Heading up the WET and take in the views of the Hollywood Hills with a handcrafted cocktail. Drai's closed late last year, but we have exciting plans for the summer upstairs. If you need any dining recommendations, connect with our Insider Chris. He'd be glad to show you around and get your reservation set up.

Best,
Leon Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    705
    511
    264
    127
    118
See reviews for
256
525
126
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

There are a few hotels on Hollywood blvd but the multitude of pros versus cons that the W Hotel provides makes it the clear cut choice above almost all the other hotels. If you have business on Hollywood blvd, Sunset, Melrose, Highland, La cienega, santa monica ectera then this hotel is for you. Cozy, modern, superb front desk service, close proximity to a lot of hollywood attractions, Katsuya Sushi restaurant is across the street and so much more. The Drais Club on the rooftop is something to see as well if you are feeling social.
Don't feel pressured to pay the $25-$40 valet parking. There is a public parking lot literally next to the hotel where you can pay $10 overnight.
Also you never know who you might run into at this hotel. I was staying there during the All Star Weekend (during one of my many stays) and rubbed shoulders with Bruce Willis, Neyo, Kobe, Kanye, Dirk Nowitzski, Jordan, Vin Diesel & More at the NIKE party in the lobby. I advice you play the part, maintain composure and not act star-struck taking photos or things of the like and your experience will be more pleasant.
In summary, its my top choice in hollywood even though the room rates on special weekends tend to be a little pricey.

Room Tip: Wonderful rooms are perfect. The fabulous & spectacular rooms are just a tad better if you can r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sigmaikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello!

Our location is ideal for getting just about any where in LA with the tram being located just steps from our hotel. Explore as you like, or take an Uber anywhere you need. You seem very familiar with the area, but if you like to try something off the beaten path, connect with our Insider Chris. He'd be glad to get you a few recommendations.

We are known for our lively environment and occasionally host some high profile events. Sunday Jazz is a local favorite and always worth a look. Stop by early to get a great seat.

See you next time,
Leon Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We arrived at the W hotel after an internal flight from Fort Worth/Dallas, this was our third stop on our trip and at this point we were pretty exhausted. We arrived just as Jazz night was starting and the very helpful Reception Guy said we were more than welcome to attend as we were guests of the hotel. As a couple of exhausted Brits in hoodies and jeans we didn't feel like glamming it up but thought we'd check it out later, Reception Guy did point out that some 'famous celebs' sometimes attend. Not really the way to win over Londoners but it was sweet of him. He gave us complimentary wifi though which was fab. I am shocked they'd even dare charge $15 per day for wifi though, bit much considering its a 4*. The room was fab, could not really fault it. I wouldn't be totally at ease if I had to share the room with someone who doesn't normally see me naked though as you could peek into the shower from the main part of the room, all in the name of interior design! Absolutely loved the light that came on each time the wardrobe was opened! More lights are needed though, I had to turn on 4 individually lights to get enough light to do my make up in the evening.

We went down to the lobby in some fresh casual clothes so we could find a place to grab food and the Jazz night was in full swing. To say we felt out of place (dress wise!) was an understatement. We hadn't planned on staying but couldn't even go to the bar for a quick drink. The entrances also had ropes and doormen, which to be fair wasn't a problem and we had no issues going in and out but it didn't make me feel welcome in my home for the next three nights. Thankfully that was the last busy night and we did enjoy drinks in the bar the next night. Sadly the music was very loud and went on into the night and we could still hear it when we went to bed. However the next two nights were bliss and the bed was SO comfortable. I wanted to ship it home.

Generally was very good but I would only book this if you are into the glitz and glam, we much preferred our other hotels. It was a little far out but right next to Hollywood & Vine Metro station that we used once to go to Universal Studios City Walk. Looking back I chose this over Loews but think we would have been better off there, firstly for the location and secondly as it wasn't quite so 'up its own rear end'. We picked up our car rental from Loews to drive to San Francisco and it seemed a little more friendly. The W seems to be run by an age group from 20-23 which is no big issue but its nice to see a more diverse age group and we're only in our late 20s!

Room Tip: Choose a high level floor if you stay on a night when they have a big event, a tad quieter! We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahmac21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, Ukraine
Level 6 Contributor
1,053 reviews
316 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,547 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We've stayed at the W for just a night - and this was enough.

Due to my Platinum SPG level we got an upgrade to - as the receptionist said - on of their best Suites, a Corner Suite with Hollywood sign view.

The Suite was on the 5th floor and this negative in two ways:
- we got all the street noise Hollywood Blvd, day and night
- since the curtains don't close 100% we got all lights into our bedroom

The room itself was huge, with a separate living room - but an open bathroom to the bedroom. Everything looks a bit old, used - which isn't acceptable at the price charged.

There're better hotels at this price level. So better stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hello,

We are a very lively hotel in a busy area. Some parts of the hotel may be louder than others, but we do everything we can to accommodate our guests. We are always glad to give an upgrade to our SPG members. Our Fabulous Rooms are some of our most popular rooms in the hotel. Most of our guests love our decor and enjoy the energy. I hope we can welcome you back for another experience.

Best,
Leon Y.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This is by far the most swanky hotel I've ever stayed in. From the valet, to the concierge, to the room it was first class all the way. However, it was friendly and warm first class. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

After a looooong trip here & our travel agent booking the wrong hotel our stay in Hollywood was off too a terrible start, but thanks to the friendly staff and most of all the incomparable Christian our holiday has been resurrected!

Can't say enough about the effort he put in to put us at ease! Thanks W Hollywood and Christian great work...

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Matt T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Highly recommend this fabulous hotel. Great location with fantastic restaurants within walking distance, fun atmosphere, luxurious rooms, amazing roof top pool & lounge, but above all else wonderful, helpful, friendly staff ready to accommodate any request. Special thanks to the lovely front desk Talent Christian - he deserves employee of the year for his astute attention to detail!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impresed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#19 of 351 in Los Angeles
3,596 reviews
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#15 of 351 in Los Angeles
1,872 reviews
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#28 of 351 in Los Angeles
403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#119 of 351 in Los Angeles
187 reviews
Hollywood
The Moment Hotel
The Moment Hotel
#77 of 351 in Los Angeles
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Property: W Hollywood
Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Starwood, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing