We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”
Review of W Hollywood

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Hollywood
Ranked #72 of 353 Hotels in Los Angeles
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights, during the weekend, W try's a bit too hard to be cool, it's all a bit too fake, I just wanted to roll my eyes all the time but I had a lovely room, location is great. Front desk staff are very friendly. You don't need to be cool and rich to stay here, just loads of SPG points and they'll love you....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CatherineLeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leon Y, General Manager at W Hollywood, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Hello,

It’s true. We do love our SPG Members. Our Talent always looks for ways to recognize and reward them for their loyalty whether it is with a room upgrade, complimentary Wi-Fi or a simple sip ticket. Thank you for your loyalty!

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and hope we can welcome you back soon.

All the best,
Leon Y.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,763)
There are newer reviews for W Hollywood
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

850 - 856 of 1,763 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at the W Hotel with family and friends this June and were taken aback by how cheap the decoration of the rooms looks... In an effort to be "hip", they have really created a "raunchy" feel. The location of this hotel is the heart of Hollywood - this might sound attractive, but one of our friends was mugged just outside the hotel, so be very very careful when you walk out at night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Hip chic hotel with a friendly staff. Quick check in process,valet service is quite expensive;I recommend parking in one of the many overnight parking which is patrolled by security all night. The pool is clean, pool staff very friendly and fast service on what you ordered. Tables and cabanas prices are comparable to Vegas pool parties only downside is the pool is very small. Honestly where else in Hollywood where you can have a pool party with amazing of Hollywood? Food is serviced poolside and the food is really good. Very close to all the popular stores for shopping and great restaurants.If you want to experience Hollywood the W hotel is the pace to stay. For pool parties reservations talk to Travis. Best host ever he will take care of all your needs. I will returning client for life. Thank for showing a great experience.
Howard L

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Howard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I'd read up loads of reviews about the hotel before we flew over and the amount of people who had said about the crazy noise meant I wasn't looking forward to staying at all. However we encountered absolutely no problems with noise at all.
The staff were really helpful with all the enquiries we had and were super friendly, especially Britney who checked us in.
There is a metro station practically underneath the hotel which we used to go to Universal Studios.
I found Hollywood Boulevard to be quite dodgy, especially the later you wandered about, obviously this is nothing to do with the hotel.
Because of our jet lag we went up for a swim at 6am to find a friendly member of staff and amazing views. I would definitely stay here again if we ever come back to LA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I took a short vacation to LA. Overall, we were pretty satisfied with our stay here, and would probably come back if we wanted to stay in the hollywood area again.

Service:
Customer service was great for the most part. check in and checkout was quick and the front desk was extremely nice. We did have a couple disappointments -- a few times we had called down to "whatever/whenever" and were supposed to receive follow up calls, and didn't so we had to call multiple times to get our request fulfilled. In addition, we had laundry sent out for EXPRESS service because we were checking out the next day - and were told it should be done by then- our calls werent returned when we inquired about receiving the laundry back, and no one could figure out what was going on. Chris at the front desk was very helpful in assisting us with this --- not only did he check us out quickly, he researched the problem, apologized, and promised to get the laundry to our home via overnight delivery as they still were not done. In addition he even printed our boarding passes and checked us in for our flight -- Thanks Chris for excellent service!

Atmosphere: Definitely not for anyone expecting a family atmosphere or quiet romantic getaway. The hotel is very busy with loud music and events constantly going on. We didn't mind it, but if you are looking for somewhere quiet, i would look away from the Hollywood area. We enjoyed the trendy atmosphere and red carpet service at the valet.

Location: The hollywood area in general is a little sketchy, but home to some really good clubs, night spots, dining, etc. The area isn't sketchy enough for me to not leave my hotel though -- you're still safe to walk around during the day, and at night. This hotel is about 6 blocks from the main tourism area of hollywood (wax museum, Chinese theater, hollywood and highland, etc). We liked that we were in close proximity (15 mins) to many shopping areas and attractions -- rodeo dr, the grove, Beverly Center, Griffith observatory. We didnt even have to go on the freeway which was nice because LA traffic could get really crazy.

Dining: Delphine's is the main restaurant at the W. Their food is really good and we were pretty pleased with their service. There are plenty of restaurants in the area within walking distance if you didn't want to eat at Delphine's.

Accomodations: The room was nice. I liked that we could see the hollywood sign from our window. When booking your room - make sure you call if you have any questions about each room - because the website isn't very descriptive. We stayed on the 4th floor which is the same floor as the spa so it smelled great, but you could definitely hear people in the hallway from the room. The bathroom was a good size and we liked the sitting area in the room that was by the window. The pool was nice, being a rooftop pool and all, so the view is beautiful, but the area is a bit small. On the weekends they have pool parties and you have to reserve your area even if you are staying at the hotel. If you didn't want to experience the hustle and bustle of the party scene -- go to the pool early (before 12) -- and just lounge on one of the beds and enjoy, that way you don't have to deal with all the people and crowded space. The gym was great! Bigger than most hotel gyms complete with cardio machines, weight machines, even a small separate area with a mirror to do mat excercises, punch a bag, etc. an added plus is that there is a great view from the gym as well.

Overall, I feel like we got what we paid for. The rooms aren't spectacular, but definitely worth what you pay for them. LA isn't cheap especially being in the middle of the Hollywood area. Besides the few hiccups we had with our laundry and our follow up calls not being returned service was excellent. If we stayed in hollywood, we would probably choose this property again. Thanks for a great stay

Room Tip: Get a cozy room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charmaine f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

3 weeks in the States, 7 hotels and this one was by far the absolute icing on the cake without doubt. Walking into reception was like going home (if you lived in an amazing LA home that is!)

To begin with we had an issue with our booking through our travel agent but the manager Brian was an absolute darling and helped us sort it out, not only that....he upgraded us. From what seemed to be an absolute disaster, he managed to turn it around for us and make our stay even bigger and better than we could have imagined, so staff - top marks to all of them, all super helpful, super friendly and super goodlooking...

Location - perfectly located on Hollywood Blvd with the walk of fame right outside (hi Jennifer Aniston) with a metro station nextdoor but we never used it, instead we walked down to the main stuff in Hollywood, we even walked to Paramount Pictures and Runyon Canyon too.

Concierge - really helpful, printed maps out for us and recommended some unknown restaurants which turned out to be way better than the fancy ones. El Compadres Mexican...Stout burger..Thanks.

Rooms - typically LA! typically W! Filled with Bliss products, awesome decor and quirky treats, our room faced the Hollywood hills and sign and was too good to leave! Always clean, always comfortable, it really was a thought to leave it.

Hotel - W style is our style so we loved everything about it and the best by far was Drais pool party on Sunday! Free to hotel guests, this is THE place to be on a Sunday, filled with a happening vibe, cocktails aren't too badly priced for LA so if this is your kinda thing then do it, we stayed for 6hrs...

When we go back to LA we will be most definetley returning to the W. BIG thanks to Brian for saving our trip!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnybunny7381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Upon arrival I had to ask for someone to take my luggage and this is a five star hotel.
Staff are not really helpful, they just book you in as cattle
Gym was free and great as no one using and so not crowded at all
I don't think my rooms was cleaned fully
The spa was great with friendly staff at the nail bar not massage as I had arranged for a full hour but then got told can only do 30mins. Although the spa is expensive
I fund the room was very noisy at night other peoples doors open/ close, chatter of people passing
Then I had to call the from desk one night due to the next room arguing. Which they acted on slight away I have to say. I found sleep was difficult throughout my stay
There is no free wifi
You are left pretty much to yourself as they don't even tell you what's in then hotel...
It is too highly priced for what you get and the service too...
The location is really near but that's why it's expensive I guess
I liked the idea " whatever you want and whenever " but of course there is a price to pay

Room Tip: I would make sure you know what your want to do and plan your time your self Make full use of gym
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Permjit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Los Angeles hotels
Hollywood
The Hollywood Roosevelt
The Hollywood Roosevelt
#17 of 353 in Los Angeles
1,945 reviews
Hollywood
Loews Hollywood Hotel
Loews Hollywood Hotel
#20 of 353 in Los Angeles
3,750 reviews
Hollywood
Dream Hollywood
Dream Hollywood
#33 of 353 in Los Angeles
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
W Los Angeles - West Beverly Hills
Hollywood
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
Mama Shelter Los Angeles
#27 of 353 in Los Angeles
432 reviews
Hollywood
Villa Delle Stelle
Villa Delle Stelle
#111 of 353 in Los Angeles
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Hollywood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Hollywood

Address: 6250 Hollywood Blvd, Hollywood, Los Angeles, CA 90028-5325
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Los Angeles > Hollywood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Los Angeles
#28 Luxury Hotel in Los Angeles
#57 Romantic Hotel in Los Angeles
#71 Business Hotel in Los Angeles
Price Range: $315 - $563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — W Hollywood 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Hollywood Hotel is always ready for its close-up at the entertainment capital of the world's epicenter, where glitz, glamour, power shopping, vibrant dining, and cutting-edge style meet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Hollywood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Hollywood Hotel Los Angeles

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing